We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change is afoot”
Review of The King Harry

The King Harry
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #130 of 396 Restaurants in St. Albans
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A royally good pub in St Albans.Welcome to The King Harry, a traditional town pub in St Albans - and the only place where your five-a-day is served up with such style. From our Belgian strawberry beer and blimmin' great Bloody Marys to chef's fresh, seasonal specials and glorious Sunday roasts, you can enjoy an abundance of pubby goodness within these historic walls. There's plenty of comfy seating too. So relax, make yourself at home and relish some seriously tasty food and drink.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the king Harry for the first time in years last week.

We stopped coming to this pub a couple of years ago as it was on a real downward spiral.

Friends were there so we decided to chance it. Really pleased we did. Great beer choice and fantastic food. Something has obviously changed here !!

Keep the change coming

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Werdna449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The King Harry, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Werdna449,

Wow! What an amazing review! Thank you so much for the kind words! We have worked so hard to get this place back to where it needs to be within the community and its very heartwarming to have all the hard work recognized.

We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Cheers,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived to meet a friend here abourt 11.50am, and walked in. We were told that the pub wasn't open yet and so we asked for the menu's so we could look and we were told these were not ready either. So we said ok, no worries we will sit outside until you are open. I know what it is like to be under pressure to get a pub open ( i used to own one) and ready but as a first impression it could be better. I personally would have said, " we are not open but I will bring the menu's out for you as soon as they are ready" That would have been find. Anyway my impression was this is probably a good local pub and probably well used and loved by the patrons. The outside areas are on one side open to the car park and on the other open to the road. I wouldn't personally like to sit on the road side and it is busy and nosiy but the car park side was not too bad but i felt it could do with a little refresh and maybe a little barrier from the cars with bushes or something. The inside had a traditional pub feel which i prefer. I am not one for the latest trend of bright, almost cafe feel pubs which seem to be the trend these days. The food was great though one small critism would be the mushy peas were really salty. For fish and chips with peas and two soft drinks it came to approx £35, maybe a tad on the high side?? We did go onto have desserts and coffee which were also very nice. So i would return to this pub in the knowledge that the food was good. A bit lacking maybe in in choice if you are a veggie.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019 via mobile

Yesterday we went to the King Harry as a last minute decision. We had fish and chips and a chicken and avocado salad. Both were delicious and good size portions. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Marion A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingharrypub, Manager at The King Harry, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Marion,

Thank you very much for your kind positive review! I will pass this on to the kitchen as its reviews like this that fuel them!

Cheers,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2019

Our friends had booked a table for seven o'clock on Sunday evening because the place was renowned for its Sunday roasts. We arrived on time but they had run out of "Roasts" and also "Sausage & Mash" but there was still "Fish & Chips" and burgers. We all decided on fish and chips and my wife, who is Gluten Free, would have to cut the batter off the fish so that she could have a meal. No one came in after us but when we came to place our order there was no fish and chips. There were still burgers. After a bit of further deliberation we decided to stay and have the burgers. Guess what, when we came to place our order all they had was vegan burgers.; Just how does you run out of food? We went elsewhere and I feel sorry for anyone who tried to get something to eat after half past seven.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hawkes2an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingharrypub, Manager at The King Harry, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2019

Hawkes2an, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. On this particular day we saw a much larger number of walk in groups than usual and our kitchen team were caught unprepared. We do apologize for this and hope you'll give us another chance as this is not normally the service we strive to deliver. If you are willing to give us another chance, please contact us at enquiry@thekingharrystalbans.co.uk so we can try and turn your experience around.

-The King Harry Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2019 via mobile

We have passed the King Harry many times but never had an urge to stop in. Today, meeting friends for lunch after a fruitless visit to a salvage center and with our new puppy in the car, King Harry was a shot in the dark. They have a large car park in back and many tables outside on both sides of the pub. We waited outside for our friends but despite the sunshine we ventured inside because of the traffic noise from the constant stream of traffic on that roundabout. Once inside we received a very friendly greeting from the young women behind the bar. There was a table reserved for us with space and a water bowl for Milo. The menu struck us as very unusual. Some items were various meats and fish, but then others were described as including a vegan cheese alternative ( like nachos). One unadventurous member of our group had a burger and chips that he said was good. The other 3 of us shared everything on the Starter menu between us, including nachos with spicy chickpea topping, chicken and lamb skewers with pickled onion, yogurt and pomegranate molasses, whitebait, crispy squid and a watermelon and feta salad. . It was all nicely presented, tasty and in good -sized portions. Service was excellent and the general atmosphere is very relaxed and congenial. We very much appreciated a sincere request for feedback on the food, commenting only that the crispy calamari would be better with the sweet chili mango sauce in the side. This is not a “done up” gastropub sanitized in the ubiquitous Farrow & Ball colours. It’s rather bare, and old looking inside but also not a suffocating “ye olde worlde” pub. Just real. Prices are reasonable. I wouldn’t mind stopping in again.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank LMarshUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The King Harry, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2019

Hi LMarsh,

Thank you so much for such a lovely review! As we are just a small pub on the edge of the town these types of reviews mean the world to us!

We hope we get to host you and your party again soon.

Cheers,

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The King Harry also viewed

St. Albans, Hertfordshire
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The King Harry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing