We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Poor Company Lunch Event”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Michael's Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in St. Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a company lunch for 80 people to celebrate completion of a major project. From the moment we arrived until we departed the service and organisation were very poor. The welcome drinks were set up in a small bar so we had to file in a take a glass ratjher than have staff with trays in reception. The room wasn't ready so there was an extended wait to sit down. Each dish was served to the whole room separately - as a consequence there was a wait of approximately 10 minutes at most tables between the first dish arriving and the last.
A written complaint to the manager, hand delivered, has not received a reply.
No doubt with their location and reputation they have a queue of wedding parties at the door.
I have had far better service from other venues for events of this type and won't be returning

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Iceni_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeoffGoddard, Marketing Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

We are disappointed and surprised to hear of this dissatisfaction as we made every effort to explain to the guest, in advance and on several occasions, the risks of trying to serve 80 people at the same time with different dishes. Despite our insistence that this was the incorrect dining choice our advice was not taken and we were persuaded, against our better judgement, which has obviously proven to have been a mistake.

The General Manager responded to the written complaint as soon as he had a chance to consult with his assistant, who was personally assigned to the group, but went on leave for three weeks before it was received.

We have gained nearly fifty years of expertise in dealing with functions of this size and, as the guest correctly pointed out, a large number of weddings per annum. It’s a shame that their experience has been tarnished as we would love to restore their confidence and show them what we can really do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
There are newer reviews for St Michael's Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 577 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

Have just returned from this simply lovely hotel where my wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary with my sister in law and my brother who was celebrating his birthday. The staff were v friendly, attentive and helpful. The chef deserves a special mention. We had fixed price menu which had good choice and was v good value (£17-£21 per head) and was lovely. We'll all be back!

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the garden although all rooms to a high standard.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeoffGoddard, Marketing Manager at St Michael's Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

It's fantastic to see you return to us on such a high note. The Lake Menu, you mention, changes every two weeks to encourage guests to return more often and offers five choices per course at great value and in such a nice setting. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great service from very attentive staff helped by it being a Monday and not too busy. We all sat in the lounge whilst selecting three course from their set menu for £21. Sat through lunch with the sun coming through the conservatory and nearly forgot we were there to work! wine was excellent choice by our guest - Crozes Hermit. Thank you

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaldon07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our son recently got married at St Michaels Manor and I can honestly say it was one of the best hotel wedding experiences I have had. The wedding ran smoothly in beautiful surroundings with the help of excellent staff. A big thank you to Sean who greeted us on arrival and without prompting assisted the wedding guests with their flowers and was most helpful - a truly valuable member of staff. Richard the General Manager worked hard to ensure our day was a most memorable one. The chefs and team provided a wonderful meal and altogether our stay was top notch. Even though we live locally we stayed overnight. Our room was spacious, comfortable, spotlessly clean and the bed was really comfortable. Breakfast the following morning was excellent with plenty of choice and very tasty. Can't wait to go back - thank you to all the team .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan186306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We try and eat at SMM as often as possible because we got married there and it never disappoints.

The service is always excellent and more importantly so is the food. Having pre and post dinner drinks in the lounge is lovely and the lake menu in particular is great value.

Thank you St. Michael's Manor for always making our special occasions so special.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed for four nights to visit family, Harry potter world and to have a good rest. Could not fault the room, location or the staff all were wonderful as was the food. Only one minor point were the portion sizes which were a little on the small size even for gourmet dining you really needed to eat all three courses, the quality though was very high and we both tried foods that we had not eaten before which was great. Disabled facilities were good with the only slight issue being the need to ask for a ramp at the front entrance we soon realised that we could circumvent this by using the orangery entrance. All in all an enjoyably, restful and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sleeplesspsyche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at the St Michael's Manor Hotel on 11 and 12 October while we attended a wedding elsewhere. The location is very central, with St Albans city centre less than 5 minutes walk away. The hotel and grounds are beautiful, with a lovely lake and trees all around. The public areas are smart and comfortable. We had a room overlooking the lake on the side. It was large and luxurious with a huge bathroom (bath and large walk-in shower). Lots of lovely little extras and plenty of wardrobe space. We ate in the restaurant on the Friday evening. It was sadly relatively empty which was a shame as the food is delicious (but perhaps a little over-priced for the size of the portions). The wine list is good and prices reasonable compared to London. Breakfast was also delicious, with an excellent choice, including crumpets. My haddock on the Sunday morning was miniscule (and as I didn't have egg this was a shame). The food is of good quality and we found the front of house staff to be very friendly. Tables were cleared quickly. There is also plenty of car-parking space with a small loading area right outside the front door. The directions to the hotel on the website are excellent and other hotels should take note.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: A lakeside view is a good move.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkeyhumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Albans
1.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#4 of 10 in St. Albans
2,261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
1.1 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 10 in St. Albans
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
#9 of 10 in St. Albans
796 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,783 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Manor Hotel

Address: Fishpool Street | Hertfordshire, St. Albans AL3 4RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St. Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in St. Albans
Price Range: $154 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent town-house hotel, set in five acres of beautiful English country gardens with lake, is remarkably close to the city centre. The Newling Ward family converted the 500 year-old building in 1965 and continue to own and run the hotel. The 30 bedrooms are individually styled, with many overlooking the lake and gardens, and the award-winning orangery style restaurant shares the same views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, bar snacks, cream teas and dinner served in a choice of dining areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your St Michael's Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Michaels Manor
St Michaels Manor Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing