We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“I love this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Michael's Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St Michael's Manor Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St. Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

On previous visits, I have had drinks on the terrace, attended a wedding, taken afternoon tea at this lovely hotel but last night my I had my first meal at the Lake Restaurant. The food was fabulous and the staff were very attentive without being too much. I love the ambiance of St Michael's Manor. It is a very well run place. It has a feel of a mixture of history, character and yet feels comfortable and not at all stuffy. It's grounds are superb and is well worth a wander around the lake to enhance your visit further.
I would recommend it here on so many levels.
I look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TAC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    123
    48
    29
    12
See reviews for
118
196
12
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for one night on a Saturday and really enjoyed our stay here although there were a few things that need to be reviewed\changed.

The hotel is located down a fairly narrow but pretty street just off of the main shopping area in St. Albans. It has it's own mini lake and has views out to the main park in the town. The grounds are pretty large considering it's location and very well maintained. There is ample parking and if the gravelled area is full then you can park further back on the grass behind the lake.

Prior to arriving the hotel contacted us and informed us that there was a wedding on during our stay and there may be some noise in the evening. This was a very nice touch and shows some consideration for their guests. We were located off from the main building and were not disturbed by the music or revellers.

Check in was swift although the girl on reception failed to give all of the usual information e.g. breakfast times, wireless code etc. We were also given very vague directions on how to get to our rooms by the same girl so I would assume that she was still a trainee. When we got to the room we found a complete set of hotel keys in the door. There were no hotel staff around and it appeared they had been accidentally left there. This is a serious breach of security and one that the hotel should investigate. Someone of a more dubious nature could easily have cleared out all of the rooms of valuables, especially as there was a wedding on when people would have presents, cameras and other high value goods in their rooms.

We had a garden room which had it's own patio area and allowed us to sit outside enjoying the champagne my wife had pre-booked. The bathroom was spacious and had a bath and shower, unfortunately there were also a couple of black hairs on the sink. The bed was really comfortable and the curtains blocked sufficient light.

The restaurant was shut to other hotel guests due to the wedding. However we did have breakfast there the following morning. They have a buffet selection for juices, pastries and yoghurt's with the main items being cooked to order. There is a good selection on the menu and the even have veggie sausages, although the waitress was unable to tell me what brand. Unfortunately the breakfast was terrible for the following reasons:

The toast was pre cooked and had been sitting round for a while, it was stone cold.
The poached eggs tasted of vinegar.
The beans, which were served in a separate ramekin had not been heated at all.
The waiting staff were all gathered in a group chatting and laughing and there didn't appear to be anyone in authority present.

Having endured the breakfast all I can say is that I am glad the restaurant was closed to us the previous evening. Maybe the hotel should consider recruiting a new breakfast chef?
The other issue with breakfast is the timing, normally you find breakfast is served later on a Saturday and Sunday. Unfortunately St. Michaels only serves until 9:30!

The hotel seems a bit Jekylll and Hyde, some things are perfect whilst others are less so. I can only put this down to the staff as the majority of those that we saw were all rather young with a lack of more mature influences.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGB1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed overnight as a family with children in the Magnolia room on a DB&B basis.

We chose this hotel as we needed to stay the night near to the Harry Potter Studio Tours before our visit the next day. The hotel was very easy to find from the M25 and easy to get to the Harry Potter location the next day, taking about 15 minutes. There was plenty of parking at the hotel.

The Magnolia room is a 'master suite' with a large sitting room that has a sofa bed, armchairs & TV and had plenty of room for the hotel to add an additional bed too. The bedroom was a good size with a wonderful, luxurious bathroom off it. There are folding doors between the bedroom & sitting room. The whole suite is beautifully decorated in an oriental style with lacquered cabinets & floral paintings. There was an air-conditioning unit in the sitting room that worked well & lovely big windows with views down over the gardens and the lake. The beds were comfortable and the shower excellent.

We ate a very good dinner in the restaurant overlooking the lake and gardens. Staff were generally attentive and friendly but did forget a couple of things so this is an area that could do with improvement in a hotel of this standard. The children's menu was good with plenty of choice.

Breakfast the next morning was fantastic, there was plenty of choice of pastries, yoghurts, cereals etc and the cooked breakfast was outstanding.

Unfortunately we had to get home the next day or I would very happily have stayed another night in this relaxing and comfortable hotel. We would very much like to come back again and have time to explore the attractive city of St Albans.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackson94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a nice hotel, with comfortable accommodation, but not luxurious as it may look at first glance. Stayed during weekend and it was a bit noisy because there was a wedding celebration - another party took place the very next day. I was later informed that the place is often used for weddings and parties, particularly during summer. Unfortunately, they don't allow you to sit or walk in the lovely garden at night. Despite the beautiful location, breakfast was poor and served in cracked crockery, which is not acceptable to the hotel's four stars standard. There was no choice of fresh fruits or juices and the croissant was the only good thing available for breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid staying during weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadameDoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We enjoyed a family Birthday Party for 14 of us and i must say the service and cuisine in The Lake Restuarant was exceptional. The restaurant not only catered for the Adults in the party but the Grandchildren as well with a special menu. I specially enjoyed the Smoked Salmon followed by Trout which was superb and beautifully prepared on the plate. Desert of Lemon Cheesecake one of the best i have tasted. The staff were excellent and a most pleasant place to enjoy a special treat

Room Tip: Facing the Lake and the Garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trenham Ian Weatherhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We went to this hotel for my brothers wedding and it couldn't have been more amazing. The setting is lovely, with a pretty lake and grounds. The rooms are very well equipped and sumptuous. The food was great.

Room Tip: all of the rooms seem lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleyashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you want a charming hotel, in a picturesque location, within walking distance of the centre of St Albans, St Michael’s would be my recommendation. We stayed for two nights in a well-proportioned garden room with excellent facilities. Unfortunately (for us not the hotel) there were wedding receptions on both nights and the main access to our room was through the dining room. So short of making our way passed wedding guests enjoying their wedding breakfast, the only way to our room was via the garden and through a side entrance. No the most convenient but there was not a lot you can do about that. Service was excellent and all were pleasant and efficient. As a side note, why do most hotels offering walk in showers, bath and two basins only supply one bar of miniature soap?
We didn’t stay for evening meals primarily because of the wedding traffic, but the hotel is so near many excellent restaurants this was not an issue. Breakfasts were good, but, may be because of the number of guests specific orders were forgotten and standard cooked breakfasts were delivered. Nevertheless they were delicious. This hotel clearly relies on wedding receptions for revenue, and who can blame them, I am sure they do an excellent job. However if you happen not to be a wedding guest you may feel a little side-lined. But don’t let this put you off too much, my wife loved looking at all the wedding guests outfits!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Albans
1.5 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St. Albans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 stars 2,480 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#5 of 9 in St. Albans
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Manor Hotel

Property: St Michael's Manor Hotel
Address: Fishpool Street | Hertfordshire, St. Albans AL3 4RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St. Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in St. Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent town-house hotel, set in five acres of beautiful English country gardens with lake, is remarkably close to the city centre. The Newling Ward family converted the 500 year-old building in 1965 and continue to own and run the hotel. The 30 bedrooms are individually styled, with many overlooking the lake and gardens, and the award-winning orangery style restaurant shares the same views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, bar snacks, cream teas and dinner served in a choice of dining areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your St Michael's Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Michaels Manor
St Michaels Manor Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing