We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Hertfordshire Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Michael's Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in St. Albans
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A great Hertfordshire Hotel”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We enjoyed a family Birthday Party for 14 of us and i must say the service and cuisine in The Lake Restuarant was exceptional. The restaurant not only catered for the Adults in the party but the Grandchildren as well with a special menu. I specially enjoyed the Smoked Salmon followed by Trout which was superb and beautifully prepared on the plate. Desert of Lemon Cheesecake one of the best i have tasted. The staff were excellent and a most pleasant place to enjoy a special treat

Room Tip: Facing the Lake and the Garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trenham Ian Weatherhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    142
    55
    35
    15
See reviews for
143
229
13
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ashington
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We went to this hotel for my brothers wedding and it couldn't have been more amazing. The setting is lovely, with a pretty lake and grounds. The rooms are very well equipped and sumptuous. The food was great.

Room Tip: all of the rooms seem lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleyashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex England
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you want a charming hotel, in a picturesque location, within walking distance of the centre of St Albans, St Michael’s would be my recommendation. We stayed for two nights in a well-proportioned garden room with excellent facilities. Unfortunately (for us not the hotel) there were wedding receptions on both nights and the main access to our room was through the dining room. So short of making our way passed wedding guests enjoying their wedding breakfast, the only way to our room was via the garden and through a side entrance. No the most convenient but there was not a lot you can do about that. Service was excellent and all were pleasant and efficient. As a side note, why do most hotels offering walk in showers, bath and two basins only supply one bar of miniature soap?
We didn’t stay for evening meals primarily because of the wedding traffic, but the hotel is so near many excellent restaurants this was not an issue. Breakfasts were good, but, may be because of the number of guests specific orders were forgotten and standard cooked breakfasts were delivered. Nevertheless they were delicious. This hotel clearly relies on wedding receptions for revenue, and who can blame them, I am sure they do an excellent job. However if you happen not to be a wedding guest you may feel a little side-lined. But don’t let this put you off too much, my wife loved looking at all the wedding guests outfits!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed for one night for a special birthday, and we could not fault anything worth speaking about. The venue is outstanding in respect of location, restaurant, bar, grounds etc., the service was very attentive, friendly and helpful without being too fussy or overwhelming, nothing was too much trouble. We had bar snacks, dinner and breakfast and everything was exceptional and dinner in particular was very reasonably priced, as is the wine list.
The room was beautifully appointed, the linen and furnishings were all first class, and it was spotless. The bathroom, which was cunningly hidden away behind mirrored doors, was superb with an excellent walk in shower, and a good sized bath.
The grounds and lake are very well maintained and the seating on the 2 small piers is a real nice touch, and there is plenty to do in St Albans.
Three constructive criticisms, it would have been nice to have a small fridge in the room, especially at this time of year, but there is the argument about them being noisy and clicking on and off all night. The bed post obscured the TV for anyone laying on the left hand side of the bed, and I did miss not being able to open a window, especially at night, air con is great but it wasn't that warm that you needed it on, and the only other option would have been to open the double doors that opened onto the gardens, which would have compromised security somewhat, so next time I will go for a first floor room.
None of these issues would put me off going back, it is not cheap by any stretch of the imagination but it was good value.

Room Tip: The Garden Rooms are a bit special, and the ground floor rooms open onto your own little garden whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Had a one stay with my GF here as we were looking for a little get away from the hustle and bustle. The location and building are fabulous as is the lake with carp and little seats dotted here and there for perfect relaxation.

We stayed in room Hazel, which is the first room on the lower ground floor in the new wing. From the pics i was hoping to stay in one of the rooms in the attic which looked nice but this room was still nice and it was great to have patio doors to open and watch the bees on the lavender.

The room was a little cold and dark at first but we put the heating on and it took the edge of things. The room was lovely thou, and the only gripe was the cleaning. The bed hadn't been hoovered under for a long time and there was an old champagne bottle foil wrapper thing underneath, and the wall was stained with what looked like tea and needed a good wipe. Also
the minibar was out of use and empty, which is always a shame when your looking for a quick glass of wine without bothering the concierge.

The bathroom was fantastic, with dimmers on the lights, large enough for two so we were able to have a bath and relax together, and then in the morning have a super great shower as well. And the bed itself was very large and comfortable and we both had a really great sleep however it would have been nice if breakfast was served till a little later than 10.30.

A note on breakfast which was included in the price The cooked breakfast was fine but the two crumpets came a little over done and i would have been not happy if they were chargeable as a hot breakfast as the menu said. For a better breakfast the waffle house round the corner is probably a better option.

All in all, it was a really great little night and sitting out by the lake at night was lovely. I will come and stay again at the hotel in the future as it was good value and only 20 mins from london its perfect for that quick night away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveSF_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had our wedding ceremony and reception at St Michael's Manor in June 2013. The venue was wonderful from begining to end. We found the staff to be incredibly helpful and were very efficient and professional on the day. We received many compliments on the food and service from our guests. The rooms we booked for our guests were lovely and the bridal suite is gorgeous.

The outstanding feature of St Michael's Manor is the orangery. The room is surrounded by windows on three-sides looking over the lovely grounds and lake. The orangery manages to be light and spacious but also intimate at the same time. The turnaround of the room by the staff from the ceremony to the wedding breakfast to the reception was just fantastic.

We couldn't rate this venue highly enough and have no hestiations in recommending it.

Aisha & Asela

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aisha111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a friendly, luxurious, beautiful and welcoming place. I only stayed one night but I could live there. The atmosphere was just so intimate and welcoming, the food was stunning and I literally want to stay here forever! Not cheap, but so worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Albans
1.6 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
2,180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
1.1 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 10 in St. Albans
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,741 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
#9 of 10 in St. Albans
774 reviews
8.3 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Manor Hotel

Property: St Michael's Manor Hotel
Address: Fishpool Street | Hertfordshire, St. Albans AL3 4RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St. Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in St. Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent town-house hotel, set in five acres of beautiful English country gardens with lake, is remarkably close to the city centre. The Newling Ward family converted the 500 year-old building in 1965 and continue to own and run the hotel. The 30 bedrooms are individually styled, with many overlooking the lake and gardens, and the award-winning orangery style restaurant shares the same views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch, bar snacks, cream teas and dinner served in a choice of dining areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your St Michael's Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Michaels Manor
St Michaels Manor Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing