We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sopwell House(St. Albans)
$196
$134
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans(St. Albans)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardmore House(St. Albans)
$106
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The White Hart Hotel(St. Albans)(Great Value!)
$122
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel(St. Albans)(Great Value!)
$70
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$57
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (638)
Filter reviews
638 results
Traveler rating
355
167
61
39
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
167
61
39
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomafternoon teabeautiful hotelbeautiful groundswedding venueeggs benedictwedding receptionno liftwonderful weddinga la carte menumain coursesunday lunchverulamium parkfollowing morninglovely settingcooked to perfectiontown centre
Filter
Updating list...
437 - 442 of 638 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Staying at St Michael's Manor was an outstandingly good experience from start to finish. All the staff were friendly and relaxed and efficient and made us feel entirely welcome. The hotel is a very lovely house, very beautifully decorated ,the public rooms in an interestingly traditional style, and the bedrooms are more modern. It is all a visual delight. We stayed in three bedrooms, they were all tremendously comfortable,, and we enjoyed the many extra thoughtful details, like room controls for heat, very good quality cotton sheets, mattress toppers and an excellent selection of teas and coffee. Everything is of a high quality. The Orangerie, where we ate our delicious breakfast is a wonderful glassed room overlooking the stunning lawns and gardens and lake. I recommend this delightful hotel very highly, and haven't rated the swimming pool or fitness room because I didn't visit them.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rose b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stunning house and gardens with lake. Gorgeous room with an amazing shower. We had a baby with us and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and thoughtful putting up cots and anticipating high chairs etc despite the hotel being busy with a wedding. Delicious breakfast. Real luxury.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nellaurore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I only stayed for one night and St Michael's Manor was just what I needed. The room was very comfortable, the food was delicious and I loved spending some time in the lovely garden. I very much hope to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

It is always difficult to judge of the services of a hotel that is using a very old house as its infrastructure. You can't really expect the internet or all installations to be top notch, as every 20th century feature has been sort of bolted on a building that was not designed for it.

In the case of the St Michael's Manor in St Albans though, they have done a great job of it (And the internet works very well!). This is really an ideal destination for those lovers of "old and beautiful". The manor is well preserved, elegant and comfortable, and surrounded by inspiring and harmonious gardens.

The staff is discrete and extremely professional, an example of British hostelry at its best.
We stayed with 2 young children and have received excellent and attentive service from everyone. The room was clean and functional, including the cleverly modernized bathroom. The room we had was facing West so took the full sun all afternoon and was quite hot by end of the evening. Not to worry about, the air con is very silent and effective.

The hotel does not have a gym, but is 100m from the beautiful Verulamium park, in which there is all the space needed for a great work out.

We did not test the restaurant for dinner, but had breakfast twice, and it was just great. Bio products, variations of British breakfast served very quickly and hot, and it all tasted delicious.

Oh yes... and the mini shampoo and conditioner in the room are Paraben free! That's really rare!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the lobby and main entrance in Summer.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thibaut L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We visited St Michaels for a cream tea this week. The staff were very helpful and polite - we changed our order on arrival which was no problem. The surroundings are beautiful. Many thanks to all who made us so welcome, and for a delightful afternoon tea.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janine n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews