We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveler rating
357
169
62
39
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
169
62
39
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomafternoon teabeautiful hotelbeautiful groundswedding venueeggs benedictwedding receptionno liftwonderful weddingmain coursesunday lunchverulamium parkfollowing morninglovely settingcooked to perfectiontown centreorangery
Filter
Updating list...
448 - 453 of 643 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013

we have just spent overnight stay at st. michaels for a wedding reception. Everything was 'spot on'! and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The setting is beautiful, take time to walk round the lake, it is worth it!

The wedding reception was very good as well.

Room Tip: try and get a room with a view over the gardens , they are so beautiful.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisonhertford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We hired a conference room for some internal meetings followed by an over night stay and were very well looked after throughout.
Delicious pastries on arrival and a super hot buffet brought in at lunch time, the 7 of us were unable to get through it all, though we gave it our best!
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and all done with a smile.
We all commented how super the rooms were. I was in the attic above the conservatory, a lovely room with wonderful views of the lake. The bathroom had lots of towels, dressing gowns and toiletries and some thoughtful touches of bottled water and good single filter coffees.
The bed was probably the most comfortable I've ever slept in!
Breakfast was a relaxed affair with delicious yoghurts, pastries and an extensive range of hot food and they looked after our ever whim.
The weather didn't allow it, but there is a super patio area looking down over very looked after gardens down to the river.
Good central location, plenty of parking and nicely tucked away off the main road so a nice quiet spot.
I would highly recommend this hotel, it would be nice to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckslady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

It's quite difficult to put into words how well the whole event was handled at this fantastic venue. I must add that this is not the result of the rosy afterglow of a young couples big day, but of a couple of an age where we know better and the onslaught of positive responses from friends and family. In order to make this less rambling we've broken the explanation down;

Venue - As good as it looks in the pictures, no manipulation, it is that attractive. It's the detail though that's impressive, from the fixtures and fittings to the fact it's scrupulously clean and well maintained. The rooms were again of high quality with lovely touches, over 15 rooms were booked with not one complaint, which from the Bride and Grooms view was very satisfying.

Food - Just quality, the guests were surprised that 100+ meals could be delivered so quickly and of such high standard. The options prior to the wedding were fantastic and the (apparently refitted kitchen) did a wonderful job. The evening buffet was totally on the mark and again wonderful options some of which we would never had considered, but on reflection were inspired.

Staff - Here is where it all comes together, the staff were amazing. From our wedding co-ordinator Lauren, the front of house staff, they all work efficiently and with energy and most importantly with a smile on their faces. Even when we spectacularly messed up our seating plan it wasn't long before they had us back on track and as mentioned earlier still delivered our food to such a quality.

In summary St Michaels Manor may not be the cheapest place to hold your wedding, but if you want a quality service and a team of people who will reduce the stress of the big day and ensure your guests are treated wonderfully I'll doubt you'll find better options.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed here for one nght with my wife as part of a wedding party. From the moment that we drove into the grounds I knew that we could look forward to a lovely weekend.
We were warmly welcomed by the reception team who had pulled out all of the stops to ensure that our room was ready before the wedding ceremony began.
Our room was very comfortbale and well appointed and had a boutique feel to it. All of the linen was of high quality and the carpet felt like it was 3 inches thick.
The wedding was well run by the hotel and it all made for a very special day for the couple.
Breakfast was very relaxed in the Orangery and was freshly cooked and plentiful.
The gardens are extremely well maintained with a beautiful lawn which slopes down to the lake. Well worth an early morning walk to clear any effects of the night before!
The hotel itself is only a short distance to the centre of St Albans and I would highly recommend a stay even if you are not part of a wedding party.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macthevoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I decided to stay here to celebrate my her special birthday. We opted for a Superior Garden Room 'POPLAR' and we were delighted with the view of the lake and the overall décor and cleanliness. Staff were very keen to please but not in a way which didn't allow us to have our privacy. We ordered Room Service a couple of times and this was very prompt indeed.The Restaurant has been refurbished and looked excellent and we will be returning to sample the cuisine as we decided to eat out with friends that evening. The next day we walked around the Hotel grounds which are exquisitely maintained and ended up having a relaxed drink on the terrace overlooking the grounds. Our stay was a most enjoyable one and could not find fault with the Staff or the venue itself so top marks all round!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonesee101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews