We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveler rating
357
169
62
39
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
169
62
39
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomafternoon teabeautiful hotelbeautiful groundswedding venueeggs benedictwedding receptionno liftwonderful weddinga la carte menumain coursesunday lunchverulamium parkfollowing morninglovely settingcooked to perfectiontown centre
Filter
Updating list...
550 - 555 of 643 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2011

On the whole a very nice hotel. £150 for a Saturday night here was, whilst not cheap, is quite good value, especially when you factor in that it included a very good full cooked breakfast (for 2.)

Nice furniture, comfortable bed, OK TV, pleasant staff. We didn't eat in their reastaurant (other than breakfast) but it looked nice and they had some reasonably priced 2 or 3 course menus, or more expensive full a la carte choices.

They give the rooms names (eg we stayed in Tulip), which in my opinion is unnecessarily pretentious given that they also have room numbers that are used for eg phone extensions and billing.

To be picky, the shower arrangements in the bathroom weren't great, they had a shower curtain that would encircle the bath at the tap end, but there wasn't enough space to stand in if you did that, as a consequence it was impossible to have a shower without flooding the bathroom. The soap from the previous occupants had not been removed.

One other very minor quiible, our room had a small window overlooking an adjacent roof area, we did not appreciate until we saw what I think was a member of staff walking by on the roof that people could have seen into our room from the roof!

The bar was nice, but with prices suitably exhorbitant (eg £11 for a Bloody Mary that I'm pretty sure only had a single shot of Vodka in it.)

The hotel has very nice grounds but is generally devoid of any extra facilities like a pool or gym, not a problem for a 1 night stay, but maybe an issue for some if considering a longer stay.

Free wi-fi was a refreshing nice touch.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Keith-in-Brighton-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Very very good. Gardens are beautiful, service great and food lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Npiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

I stayed here with my husband for a one night break. We really liked the hotel and have already reccomended it to friends. The setting is beautiful and the hotel staff were very friendly.
We took one of the garden rooms which, at £175 a night wasn't cheap. However, we felt that on the whole, it was worth it. One point would be that we would have prefered to have a stocked mini bar.
We ate in the hotel resturant. Our experience here wasn't quite as polished. When we asked for the wine list in the bar the Barman gave it to us and then walked off. We waited for him to come back for some time but in the end we had to go and find him. Over dinner the service was very friendly indeed. However, the quality of the service was a little erratic. We didn't get our steak knives until part way through the main course. I had to chase my vegetable side order. We had to chase up our desert wine and by the time they arrived we had finished desert. The resturant itself was freezing cold. To be fair we hadn't asked for the air conditioning to be turned down which we should have done. The food was fine-but over priced.
We received a letter a day or so after getting home thanking us for staying which I thought was a really nice touch.
In short, we will certainly stay here again (we stay in hotels quite often for fun and business and very seldom find one we like enough to return to). However, I think I would eat in town and not in the hotel resturant next time.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HLowe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed here for the third time on 8th May - as always, a delightful experience. We were married here 11 years ago (perfect setting for a special day - you get exceptional and individual service) and it is always a nice place to be - nothing the least bit corporate here. The staff are very attentive, the rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated, as is the whole hotel. There is an interesting collection of old furniture scattered all around. The food is good, and the restaurant is well run. Take a walk around the gardens and the lake, all very pretty and restful. You get a lovely table in the new conservatory for breakfast, - not always so easy to get this lovely position when booking for lunch or dinner, but try! (One very very small point - the servers could look a little smarter.)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilibet53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Recently visited for a family celebration that we were attending locally.
The Staff were great, in particular the lady behind the bar who helped us with our keys and held back the taxi driver while we finished our drinks.
The rooms were charming but a little warm, however opening a window and utilising a bit of commonsense rectified this issue.
Car parking was a doddle and the grounds are impressive even though it was a drizzly morning when we walked through them.
The breakfast was good quality and pleasantly served despite mucking up the intial orders, but we're all human so no lost points.
If I was really picky I could point out that a bit more dusting in the lower reaches of the room wouldn't have gone amiss. Management take note!
and finally the receptionist is an asset.
I would recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McGarett-Five-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews