We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sopwell House
Nearby Hotels
$76
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans(St. Albans)(Great Value!)
$80
$76
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardmore House(St. Albans)(Great Value!)
$110
$107
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel(St. Albans)(Great Value!)
$75
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Hemel Hempstead M1, Jct.8(Hemel Hempstead)(Great Value!)
$78
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,487)
Filter reviews
2,487 results
Traveler rating
1,304
626
267
152
138
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,304
626
267
152
138
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa breakafternoon teacocktail loungefull body massagespa areabreakfast and lunchlovely spaexecutive roomhead butlerterrace barbrasserie restaurantsteam roomspa staffbirthday treatsandwichesrelaxing weekendmy mum
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,316 - 2,321 of 2,487 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Our third visit and second overnight stay. Met friends here on this occasion. The bar is tiny and the lounge areas are a bit sterile, but the room we had was a good standard and we didn't experience any of the bad service mentioned in other reviews. We ate here as a group; not the best meal I have had but not overly expensive and the staff made us feel welcome enough. Perfectly good for an overnight stay; ok for a meet up (I didn't use the spa so can't speak to that, but those who went seemed to enjoy it); bit pricey for the overall experience but not exceptionally so

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockyJohnnyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipCox, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on trip advisor following your recent stay and I am pleased to read that the service level met your expectations and that you had an enjoyable stay.

With regard to pricing at Sopwell, we regularly benchmark ourselves against comparable competitors to ensure we offer good value for money, but will of course take your comments on board at our next review.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sopwell in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights with our parents from Friday 14th January
We also had our wedding reception here on the second night, Saturday 15th January, when we had another eight guests stay over in the hotel that evening

We used the gym that evening and then had drinks in the hotel bar before taking our parents out for dinner on Friday night to the hotel restaurant
We all had a fantastic meal that was equally beautifully presented and most importantly tasted amazing!

The next day we all had breakfast together, there was a brilliant selection of hot and cold food and an attentive service from the staff even though it was quite busy

My husband had a pre-wedding massage and my mother had a mini manicure on the afternoon of the wedding whilst I got ready in our room with my attendants

We were thoroughly looked after over the weekend and so were our guests. Both the ones that stayed in the hotel and the ones that were just there for the reception

What we love the most about this hotel is its service standards, all of the guests that stayed over are seasoned travellers both for business and pleasure and therefore can be often difficult to please, but not in this case

This hotel went out of it way to make us feel rested and we thoroughly enjoyed our time here

We found all of the staff to be professional and welcoming, from the reservations manager, the wedding co-ordinator, the banqueting manager for the function to the reception staff and spa staff

What I particularly like it that no-one ever used the word 'no'
All of our comments and requests were listened to and then acted on

You made made our wedding and our time prior to that with our family really special and we look forward to returning to you on our own at some point in the future

If you are thinking about staying here we would definately recommend it, we would also recommend having an event here too!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellowyaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipCox, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on trip advisor.

I am really happy that you, your family and your guests had such an enjoyable time in all areas of the hotel both before your wedding and on your wedding day itself. We spend alot of time training our staff to ensure we provide excellent service to our guests and I was therefore pleased to read that the 'can do' attitude we strive for is clearly in evidence.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

We visited Sopwell House for Christmas Day lunch in the ballroom. Following a recent illness my family treated me to Christmas lunch and we all had a wonderful afternoon. We met in the bar for a drink reception before being called into the dining room which was beautifully decorated for the occasion. The waiters and waitresses could not have been more friendly and welcoming, and the four-course meal was delicious and excellent value for money. Guests were treated to party hats, Christmas crackers, a visit from Santa for the children and a delightful singer with a band who kept the whole room entertained all afternoon.

Thank you to the staff for working so hard and for making my Christmas Day a treasured memory.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
Thank marjold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipCox, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2011

Thank you for posting your review about Christmas Day Lunch at Sopwell House.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed the occasion and will ensure that the staff who worked on the day are made aware of your positive feedback.

i look forward to welcoming you back to Sopwell soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Stayed here on a romantic get away for my 30th birthday. Made use of the spa which was acceptable. Had a superior room which was plesant enough, although if you need a hair dryer, bring your own. The one in our room was so slow and cold I ended up eating dinner with damp hair!! We ate in the brasserie as the menu looked nicer. The steak was perfect and the cheesecake amazing. I'm a very difficult person to please with food and they managed to tick all the boxes. We had a few drinks in the bar which was quiet, but nice. Overall no problems and I'd certainly return... with a hairdryer!!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jember075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipCox, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at Sopwell House for your birthday celebrations.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed the spa and your room and that you enjoyed your meal in the Brasserie as they managed to fulfill your dietry requirements.

I am sorry though that the hairdryer was not working correctly in your room. I will ensure that my housekeeping and maintenance teams review the hairdryers to ensure all are working correctly for any future guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I hope to be able to welcome you back to Sopwell in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Awful staff, extremely rude! I am still speechless after the service my partner and I received and witnessed other customers receive!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipCox, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2011

Based on the amount of positive feedback we receive directly to Sopwell and via websites such as Trip Advisor I am shocked and bemused by these unconstructive comments.

If this guest was unhappy I can't understand why it was not brought to the attention of the hotel management at the time. We work hard training all team members to deliver the best possible service and to ensure all guests are treated with respect and in a professional manner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews