We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sopwell House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ardmore House(St. Albans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,487)
Filter reviews
2,487 results
Traveler rating
1,304
626
267
152
138
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,304
626
267
152
138
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa breakafternoon teacocktail loungefull body massagespa areabreakfast and lunchlovely spaexecutive roomhead butlerterrace barbrasserie restaurantsteam roomspa staffbirthday treatsandwichesrelaxing weekendmy mum
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,951 - 1,956 of 2,487 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had a mini spa break with 5 friends as one was celebrating a special birthday. Our rooms were big and clean, with tea/coffee making facilities.
The brassiere has an excellent choice of food - breakfast and lunch you can eat as much as you want.
The spa treatments were excellent and the staff didn't push you into buying any of the products. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We are looking to go back in November/December for a pre christmas relaxing break.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of Sopwell House following your recent spa break and in particular for awarding us 5 stars in all categories!

Our biggest reward is when customers plan to return and so I am delighted you and your friends will be coming back later in the year.

As an aside you may be interested in one of our Christmas party nights so if you plan to return in December, keep an eye out for more information of our more festive activities on our website.

Whenever you decide to return, it will be our absolute pleasure to look after you once again.

Best wishes


Alessandro Convertino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a 2 night spa break a few weeks ago as a treat after we got married (not actually at Sopwell House but a venue in our home town). We arrived the day after our wedding and both enjoyed a full body massage which was heavenly. Then spent the next couple of days using the pool, sauna etc and just generally having a lovely relaxing time. The food was gorgeous and staff exceptional. We will definitely be returning in future!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your fabulous review following your recent two night Spa break here at Sopwell House and may I firstly take the opportunity to congratulate you and your new husband on your recent wedding celebration.

I am thrilled you chose to spend the following days with us and am equally delighted you had such a lovely and relaxing time.

A ‘heavenly’ massage is high praise indeed for our spa team and so thank you for this lovely feedback.

For our staff to be described as ‘exceptional’ and the food as ‘gorgeous’ is pure music to my ears and so I will ensure this is shared with the whole team.

Thank you once again for sharing your personal experience and we look forward to warmly welcoming you both back again in the not too distant future.

Warm regards


Alessandro Convertino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just got back from 2 night spa break. Spa is lovely, great full body massage with Jodie, room was a plush superior twin, vast majority of staff were friendly and cheerful and couldn't do enough for us. Restaurants and bars are both stylish and cosy. You can dress up if you want (lots of people did) but its not a requirement. The atmosphere throughout the hotel is relaxed and informal. Meals in Brasserie were included and were of a high standard. Despite lots of wedding parties there was plenty of space and service was attentive. No issues with noise from events. Already planning my next trip. Feel thoroughly indulged and taken care of. Recommend!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodentgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful and rewarding review following your recent two night Spa break here at Sopwell House and I am delighted that you are already planning your next trip!

Jodie was particularly pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your massage and so thank you for providing this valuable personal feedback.

The team are always very appreciative of guest comments and to know they have been able to contribute to another lovely stay and we look forward to taking care of you again very soon.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us.

Best wishes


Alessandro Convertino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Had a fantastic spa break with 5 friends for a special birthday. Hotel room was fantastic all meals very good quality, plenty of choice, the staff in both the hotel and spa were very professional and friendly, we have all decided to do it again in December. Thank you Sopwell House

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneMarkyate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your very rewarding review following your recent special birthday celebrations with your friends here at Sopwell House.

It was our pleasure to look after you and I am go glad you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and that you found the team to be professional and friendly.

We are very much look forward to warmly welcoming you all back again in December, if not before.

Best wishes


Alessandro Convertino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We hosted our daughter's wedding at Sopwell House and held the wedding ceremony in the beautiful grounds of the hotel, everything was perfect.

We stayed in room 216 which had been completely refurbished to a very high standard and it was a quiet room which we wanted after the wedding. Good size shower and separate bath.

Lots of our guests stayed at the hotel overnight and we all met for breakfast. The breakfast was of a very high standard lots of fruit and many different choices of cereals which is what I enjoy.. Scrambled eggs were light and fluffy and mushrooms delicious.

If you want to stay at a country house hotel Sopwell House is fantastic.

Louise Mason

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your fabulous 5 star review and for choosing Sopwell House for your daughter’s recent wedding celebration.

Perfection is what we strive for each and every day and so I am absolutely delighted we delivered on this very special occasion.

I do hope we can warmly welcome you and your family back again in the very near future and thank you once again for recommending Sopwell House.

Best wishes


Alessandro Convertino
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews