We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lower Red Lion
Nearby Hotels
$76
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sopwell House(St. Albans)
$255
$183
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans(St. Albans)(Great Value!)
$80
$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardmore House(St. Albans)(Great Value!)
$110
$107
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel(St. Albans)(Great Value!)
$75
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
14
10
6
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
10
6
4
2
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 36 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The pub was wonderful - friendly staff, great locals who chatted and made you feel welcome, lovely beer, roaring fire. Breakfast was great and the lady serving was lovely. There the positives end!! When we arrived we were expected to pay for our stay without even seeing the room. When we went to it I thought it was fine, except that the window was open and it was freezing cold. Radiator not on, so I couldn't rest after my journey but had to go out for a cuppa to keep warm.
Looking round the room on our return I found a pair of dirty socks and pants in the bedside table! We had a lovely supper in the bar and a chat to various locals. Went to have a bath and the hot water wouldn't run, there was hair in the plug hole and the shampoo was half used. After about 5 mins we managed to get hot water. I went to bed and my husband tried to watch TV but had to mend the arial cable before he could. The lady serving breakfast asked when the chamber maid could service our room as we were the only people staying, so she had to make a special journey. We said we'd be out by 10 and asked that the pants and socks be removed. She was horrified. At 9.50 a knock on the door and the chambermaid wanted to come in. We sent her away for 10 mins and came out to find her sitting waiting for us to leave. The second night was disturbed at 1.15 am ish by the fire alarm going off. I came out of the room to be met by a lady who apologised and said she thought it was a false alarm, but would have a scout round to check. She never came back to report whether it was, so after a bit we went downstairs to find people sitting in the bar having a drink! We went to bed! Next morning the heating wasn't working so the room was freezing (almost literally!) I needed to have a shower, so decided to brave it. All covered in soap when the hot water stopped. After about 5 mins it restarted, but by then I was cold and miserable. Breakfast was again wonderful. We were due to check out by 10.30 and were due at a wedding at 11, so were relaxing in our room when, at 9.45, the door went and the chamber maid was asking to come in and clean. We asked her to come back, and she sat outside again! No-one asked if we had enjoyed our stay (probably scared of the answer) nor apologised (except the breakfast lady who did a lot of apologising!) nor offered us any money back. At £90 a night I thought the room was quite pricey for what it was. We stayed the next night in a 4 star hotel in the area for £105 and everything was SO much better there!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryNettleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

A very nice 2 night stay, friendly staff, excellent breakfast, room quiet and private(#4) all in all a perfect experience, location to city centre well within walking distance, will definately stay when next in the area.

Room Tip: rooms 2 and 4 have ensuite.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The landlord is very friendly, a new business. Room was spacious and quiet and very comfortable. Large bathroom. Breakfast was next to a wood burning stove in a panelled bar. Large breakfast and excellent coffee.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend. The pub is lovely, beautiful old building with log burners and an ideal place for a drink in St Albans. The location is great, in the lovely old part of town and a short walk to the town centre. Would not recommend it for B&B though. The owner has clearly tried to update the rooms and they are kept pretty clean (and the cleaners were really lovely) but it's been done very cheaply and the beds are uncomfortable and much too small, the rooms are far too hot and we couldn't seem to get the radiator to switch off, the bathrooms are awful - the drains smell and the toilet doesn't flush properly (and is really loud for ages afterwards when it does), the shower over the bath didn't work at all and the bath was too small for a proper bath anyway. Not ideal. There are some shared bathrooms which we had to endure on our first night after being told on arrival that someone else was in the ensuite room we had booked months before. The shared bathrooms are pretty unpleasant and the locks are falling off the insides of the doors. You can also hear everything that's going on in the entire building all of the time. It's a shame as when we eventually met the owner he seemed to be a nice guy, and most of the staff - in particular the breakfast lady - are lovely (with the exception of one particularly unhelpful and rude lady). But we won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you're going to stay make sure you have an en-suite but be prepared for the showers to be broken.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sparkleylips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for our first 5 nights on our first trip to England. If you are looking for a clean room...with no extras in a great location to downtown St. Albans....this would be your room. Everything was very clean & housekeeping kept up very well daily. It is a very old historic pub...and they recently tried to update the decor in the room....but kinda missed the mark. Just doesn't look like it fits the style right and unfortunately looks rather cheap. But everything is new. Beds were rather uncomfortable. The shower in the only ensuite room hardly works....I finally just resorted to baths. The toilet worked....but took us awhile to figure out the right process & was very noisy. They were very accommodating with daily breakfasts in fixing it how we would like and whatever time would work for us. Breakfast was good, presented well, and the breakfast staff friendly in the pub. Parking was a bit tricky....you have to get through an EXTREMELY narrow alley to the parking and then hope there is space....but it worked out with some practice. I will say...the proprieter changed some things so we wouldn't have to switch rooms which we thought we were going to have o do. All in all....it was a decent place and the staff was nice. Great location for St.Albans....just could use a little updating and new beds.

Room Tip: There is only one ensuite room....however te shower hardly works.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews