We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“90's trendy pub in period location”
Review of The Lower Red Lion

The Lower Red Lion
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Albans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lower Red Lion
Ranked #8 of 15 St. Albans B&B and Inns
Groton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
428 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“90's trendy pub in period location”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Staff were nice, beer was excellent - probably a nice place to stay and eat - but personally found the trendy 90's decor really off putting in such a historic building and location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
14
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We enjoyed this accommodation because it was ideally located for exploring the town, we didn't have to go out anywhere for a drink and the cooked breakfast next morning was very good. Not all the rooms were ensuite but we were able to choose which one we wanted and we were comfortable. Excellent well kept Addlestones Cloudy Cider.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Location is good, parking poor,rooms very basic, manager ignorant, bar / beer selection poor. My advice , over inflated prices in St Albans for an average town this is the worst of a less than average selection .

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed here recently to have a night out in St Albans and the accomodation was exactly what we needed. The rooms are comfortable and clean although the single (Room 7) is fairly small. The pub is in an ideal location for exploring St Albans and has the added bonus of having its own car park at the rear. Don't turn up in a Chelsea tractor though as the old coach entrance is quite narrow.

The staff were friendly and helpful giving us advice on where to go. The only disappointment was when we returned to eat later in the evening (an A-board outside advertised food 'til 9pm) we were told they don't serve food on a Saturday night. Put the A-board away then!

Breakfast in the morning was Ok and served by friendly staff. Would definitely consider staying again as I don't think you will get better value for money in St Albans.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CampbellSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

The pub is lovely, full of locals, and the owners could not be more friendly (the lady who serves the breakfast is a treat), and the room was perfectly clean, HOWEVER the mattress in the room we stayed in was just appalling, and as the bed is really what I'm paying for I just can't rate this place very highly.
The shared shower was broken when we were there too.
The location in St Albans is lovely, though.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charliegirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, East sussex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I have been using the hotel since October 2010, the accomadation is good and a very competitive price, the bar is excellent and the food quality second to none. The locals are a friendly crowd and the bar staff always give you a warm welcome

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank businesstraveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Thought this would be a nice B&B for a weekend away with friends, but was really disappointed. We aren't fussy, and to be fair the linen/towels were clean, but overall this place sucked:

- very, very loud disco in bar below went on until about 4am
- recurrent smoke/fire alarm throughout night
- an old newspaper and lipstick in the bedside drawer
- vegetarian breakfast very sparse
- shower barely trickled water out

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troopoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Albans hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
0.2 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in St. Albans
560 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 10 in St. Albans
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
2,147 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
2.3 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
#9 of 10 in St. Albans
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lower Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lower Red Lion

Property: The Lower Red Lion
Address: 36 Fishpool Street, St. Albans AL3 4RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St. Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in St. Albans
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing