We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (992)
Filter reviews
992 results
Traveler rating
236
292
225
129
110
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
236
292
225
129
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure facilities superior room minute drive plenty of parking car park afternoon tea marquee rosie gym oak watford st venue motorway birthday
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 992 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2019 via mobile

A one night business stay and first time at Mercure and probably my last!
Hotel is dated with old furniture, a mix of brass and plastic fittings and generally past its best and in need of updating. My room had a broken chair, bathroom door was water damaged, mouldy bathroom window and lack of power points. Compared to what you get for similar money in holiday inn express, travel lodge, premier inn etc the room quality falls well short. As a result decided to eat out so didn’t sample any of the hotels other facilities.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank andybN8684XY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobBowry, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear andybN8684XY,

My apologies your stay was not up to the normal standard we provide. I can confirm the hotel is in planning stages for refurbishment where all of these issues will be addressed. However some of these issues are very much within our control now and these will be looked in to immediately.

I hope you can reconsider and give us the opportunity to show you that we are better than this. Please feel free to contact me at craig.osmond@accor.com

Kind regards,

Craig Osmond
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Apart from being woken by a fire alarm in the middle of the night and the loud wedding reception going on, we had a lovely stay here. Friendly and welcoming reception staff, amazing pizza and great cocktails at the bar. The room was good too. We enjoyed the pool and gym facilities too - helpful staff who sorted out the steam room.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrsBellerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobBowry, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear MrsBellerby,

Firstly my apologies for the fire alarm disturbing you, however it is of course in place to protect our guests and team and fortunately there was no need to evacuate on this occasion.

I am pleased you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the cocktails and pizza (what a great combination!)

We hope to welcome you back in the near future for some more cocktails.

Kind regards,

Craig Osmond
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019 via mobile

Where do I even begin… My husband and I returned from the Noke hotel yesterday after an amazing four days celebrating our long awaited wedding. From the moment we decided to go with the Noke hotel, we knew we had made the right decision. The team there, especially Rosie and Kamila were absolutely faultless from start to finish. 20 long months of planning, endless emails back-and-forth resulted in the most amazingly perfect day. The venue itself is clean bright and spacious And the location is great as although it is only minutes from the M25, it also has countryside feel about it. The Ophelia suit that we stayed in was absolutely perfect, the staff we’re constantly up and down fulfilling each and every request we had from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. We were left to our devices unless of course we needed assistance with anything. As there was no other events in the marquee for the following two days after a Wedding, we were able to leave everything inside which meant we had no rush to leave. The breakfast was beautiful every day and the drinks selection in the bars was vast. I honestly cannot thank each and everyone of the Noke hotel team for making each and every day of our stay perfect. Gavin and I will remember this weekend fondly for the rest of our lives Up until yesterday, I couldn’t quite understand why I wasn’t more nervous on the morning of our wedding but I honestly believe this is because I had every faith that the hotel had everything in hand and the day would run exactly as planned, and I was right. I cannot thank them enough for everything they’ve done for us. We look forward to returning on our one year anniversary to spend an evening with you. Thank you thank you thank you xxx

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 985ameliaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobBowry, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 985ameliaw,

Wow! Thank you so much for your positive review, I know the team work hard to ensure you and your husband have the perfect wedding day to remember for all the right reasons and I am very proud of them. Thank you very much for the comments in particular to Rosie and Kamila - I will certainly share these with them and the team.

We hope you have had a lovely honeymoon and we will look forward to welcoming you back to rekindle all the happy memories.

Kind regards,

Craig Osmond
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019

Having received a £100 "fine" (plus £46 for handling charges by the Car Hire Company) for "illicit parking" in the Hotel premises a couple of weeks from our stay, I wish to complain for not having been notified by any of the personnel of this new CCTV method adopted in the car park which we had never experienced in our previous visits. Despite many opportunities and with different personnel (two waiters one receptionist and one cashier), when we could have been notified or simply reminded of this new car park policy, none took the time to alert us of the problem we could incur. Only upon receiving the notification by email, we were informed of the existence of signs describing the system (which we had clearly overlooked).
Besides filing in a formal complaint with the relevant subjects, I hereby wish to alert other custumers who may stumble over the same stone hidden in the car park!
I am sure the management will understand if we were not to return to their Hotel/Restaurant, nor recommend it to anyone, should this policy not to advise in person their clients of their parking regulations remain in force.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank RR-PG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobBowry, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear RR-PG,

Firstly I apologise for you receiving a parking fine. We do have a third party company manage our car park in order to stop the abuse of the car park as well as keeping it safe and secure. It is not our intention for any of our guests and visitors to be fined.

There is ample signage situated in the car park and throughout the hotel, however I appreciate the team had the opportunity to inform you of this and we will certainly take the learning from this and we will improve our communication.

We hope this hasn't deterred you from visiting the hotel in the future. If there is anything else I can help with please feel free to contact me at craig.osmond@accor.com

Kind regards,

Craig Osmond
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019

Had afternoon tea for my mums 90th birthday for 6 of us on 31st. Fabulous experience. Great selection of food and lovely staff. They provided us with extra sandwiches when we asked and added extra decoration on the table because of the birthday.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobBowry, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Claire W,

Thank you so much for your positive review regarding our afternoon tea offering. I hope your Mum enjoyed her 90th Birthday celebrations and we hope to welcome you and your family and friends again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Craig Osmond
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews