We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complaints proceedure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in St. Albans
York, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Complaints proceedure”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I'm not a fan of writing reviews but it may be the only way I actually get a response from the hotel.
After staying at The Noke early January we reported a number of concerns (2 sides of A4) to the Duty Manager. To his credit he offered us another free evening in the hotel as compensation for our experiences. We weren't able to extend our stay so the free night was put in writing.
After returning to York we felt that, since we were visiting a sick relative who we probably wouldn't see again, another visit to St Albans wasn't imminent. I emailed the hotel and the duty manger twice to ask if we could change the arrangement. I got no reply. I then decided to write to the general manager and have still not had a reply.
I have stayed in Thislte hotels before and know what the brand is like. I'm very disappointed not to have heard anything from the hotel. I guess my next move is the write to the regional manager.......

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonThatcher, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I am glad that this matter has now been resolved, as discussed its unfortunate that the member of our team who had been dealing with you has left the business hence the lack of response. Thanks for bringing this to my attention.

Regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    227
    185
    107
    87
See reviews for
137
262
33
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Overall its average! I have stayed in a lot of hotels both internationally and in the UK and "average" real sums it up. We had a "deluxe room" and its very similar to a Travel Lodge or Premier Inn - nothing was "deluxe". Room and hotel were very clean but, with the exception of the breakfast & reception staff, let down by miserable service - no one even attempted a smile and the guy in the bar was completely disinterested (see other reviews on this). Our friends complained of very thin walls in their part of the hotel and as a big wedding venue very noisy for them with lively early hours revellers - we escaped this. Okay as a transactional "room for the night" but if you want any style suggest you look somewhere else.

Room Tip: Book a room at the back of the hotel away - this appears to be refurbished more recently and is also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 31MW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonThatcher, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for sharing your experience, its very disappointing to read that you did not experience a greater level of customer service from our team, this is clearly not good enough. Its also disappointing to read that the “deluxe” room was not to your liking.
Thanks again for your feedback.

Regards

Simon and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Arrived here late afternoon on a VERY COLD Friday afernoon on Feb 22. Had booked another hotel but our room was freezing there and we left with no where to go.I was very worried since we knew nothing about the area. We were in the area for my husband's work. We passed this hotel and decided to go in to see if they had a vacancy. Michaela at reception was wonderfull and in no time we were settled in a beautifull warm room. All the sfaff were friendly and eager to help with all requests.a big thank you to Michaela and James for helping me with facetime on my ipad.
On Friday and Sat evening we enjoyed a delicious meal at the hotel made even more special by Jostie( I hope I've spelt it correctly) who always had a smile and nothing was too much for her. Plenty of choice at breakfast and a very relaxing atmosphere with friendly staff. Thank you all very much. If we ever need to come to the area again I know where I will be staying. We might even come just for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cymraes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonThatcher, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for all the positive comments about not only the hotel facilities but also the team, its always great when our team make such a positive impression and to have three members of the team highlighted really is great.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards

Simon and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I held my engagement party in the marquee and it was absolutely superb! From initial contact right through to the party night, the events and wedding coordinator Krystal was AMAZING. She wasn't pushy at all, and bent over backwards to ensure that the night went with a bang. She is so friendly and approachable, ideal person when planning such a once in a lifetime event. All staff were exceptional, from house keepers, to bar staff, receptionists and management. We had the marquee as our venue and the resident DJ. I was concerned that the marquee might be cold for February..but it was toasty and lovely and the music was fabulous. The bar prices were reasonable and they were so accomodating in letting us come and decorate the venue. The buffet was exceptional with everyone commenting how good it was (and my lot can be hard to please at times). We were upgraded to the King Suite and it was so beautiful and spotless. Breakfast was top notch. It was such a romantic, stress free and amazing day and night. Possibly the best party ever, and they made my once in a lifetime event PERFECT!! Thank you!!!

Room Tip: The King Suite is well worth paying for with a lounge, dining area, fabulous bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger_Boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonThatcher, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Ginger- Boo,

Great to read such a positive detailed endorsement of our team and marquee, and Krystal is thrilled, hope to see you again in the not to distant future.

Regards

Simon and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Arrived in the day for one nights stay. Pulled into the car park, ample free spaces. Into reception to grand hall way and nicely decorated entrance. We were early for check in but room ready. Room spacious and airy. Lovely bathroom with everything to cater for our short stay and needs. Straight to the gym for a good couple workout! Then Into the pool. Amazing time! Bright clean where lots of fun was had. Sauna, steam room then back to our room. Had a great night in so ordered up room service. Superb delivery time and pizza amazing. Cheese and biscuits, lush.

I so would recommend for cheap get away!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonbugsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonThatcher, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for firstly choosing to book with us at The Noke, and secondly for taking some time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community, All the team were delighted by your comments.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards

Simon and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very smart hotel twin room was upgraded very nice room. AC flat screen tv smart bathroom. booked through laterooms £40 a night cant beat that for 4*. Only down side was the bar area had no seating, all the tables and chairs had been removed to a wedding reception, and £7.50 for a glass of house rose was a OTT.
To eat we went up the road to The Three Hammers, lovely pub.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonThatcher, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Very pleasing to read that you so strongly rate our deluxe rooms, and that you chose to share this with the Trip Advisor community, In relation to lounge being set up for a private function hence the lack of seating, you should have been taken to our other bar area and I have spoken to the team about this.

Many thanks for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards

Simon and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The staff here are very friendly and warm, especially the reception team. I really thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would make another return. I would sincerely recommend anyone who wish to have a very good experience to come and stay at this amazing hotel. Everything is a 10 out of 10!

Thank you to all the staff and we really appreciate the stay as me and my boyfriend had an fantastic valentines experience!

Room Tip: The suites are amazing!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Azi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonThatcher, General Manager at Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Firstly thanks for choosing to stay with us at The Noke by thistle, and we really do appreciate your glowing recommendation, I will certainly pass your comments onto the entire team.

We look forward to seeing you again in the not to distant future.

Regards


Simon and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Albans
2.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
1.9 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ardmore House
Ardmore House
#7 of 10 in St. Albans
529 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
2.4 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in St. Albans
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel

Property: Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Address: Watford Road, St. Albans AL2 3DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St. Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in St. Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Noke by Thistle St Albans is a traditional Victorian hotel, located in Hertfordshire; it is accessible via the Thameslink train from London. Just off the M25, the M1 and close to the A1, it’s a popular venue for business meetings & weekend breaks. There are 110 bedrooms, including 44 deluxe bedrooms and suites and six meeting rooms, the largest seating 250 people theatre-style. With our landscaped grounds, easy accessibility and ample free parking on-site, Thistle St Albans is also a popular wedding venue and convenient for business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle St Albans Hotel St. Albans
Noke Hotel St Albans
Thistle St Albans Saint

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing