We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”
Review of Ardmore House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ardmore House
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in St. Albans
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Booked for a reunion of very old friends. The hotel room was comfortable and clean. The en suite facilities had good, soft towels and toiletries were provided. There was tea and coffee in the room and the breakfast was excellent and sufficient to forget lunch! There is a restaurant onsite but not tried by our party. There was a delicious smell however so hopefully the food matched the aroma! It was possible to walk into the city centre (about 20 minutes) but we had a taxi back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PBJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 549 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed for four nights with my mother and had a relaxing few days. Our bedroom was very well presented and the bed was extremely comfortable. The restaurant and breakfast rooms were prettily decorated, well staffed and had a lovely relaxing atmosphere; the entertainment and dancing on Saturday night was a bonus and a pleasant surprise. I enjoyed the breakfast, which was well cooked and there was a good choice of food in the evening in the restaurant, which was extremely good quality. All of the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and professional; they could not do enough for you. They made our holiday very relaxing and extremely enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Breakfast was good if a little slow at busy times. Room was very small with small bed for two people. Bathroom also very tiny and shower head and cubicle needed renewing. Toilet was not very clean but there was a good range of soap/shampoos etc. Came down for breakfast on Monday morning to be told that weekend hours still applied as bank holiday - weren't told this on check-in. Otherwise staff helpful and quite friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed here for one night to go to a wedding reception at a nearby venue. Good parking facilities. The reception staff were polite and helpful, and the room was warm and comfortable. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was adequate with plenty of towels and soaps/shower gels etc. The full English breakfast was plentiful and very good, so I imagine the food there overall would be good, although I didn't eat there in the evening. Found the rest of the staff that I met to be courteous and helpful. I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kcracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed one night and initial impressions of front of hotel were not altogether favourable - on a busy road. However, room was very nicely decorated and although small, was comfortable. Good sized bathroom with full suite. Due to bad weather, decided to eat in the hotel which turned out to be a good idea - lovely meal in a very nice conservatory restaurant. Breakfast next morning was good, other than orange juice. All staff were friendly and helpful. Close to town centre and car parking on site. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Our first visit to this hotel very close to the centre of St Albans. Car parking at the rear is a real bonus for anyone visiting the city which suffers with far too many traffic lights, terrible traffic congestion and full car parks as it is an easy walk into the high street. A pleasant small bar area ( a bit slow service but ok when someone was around) and a very sunny bright restaurant/dining area. OK for a short stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We hired this hotel for our Masonic Ladies festival and proved to be the right choice from the start. Staff were superb, nothing too much for them, they helped a great deal with the cabaret and therefore a successful night. Resident pianist/singer was perfect and then turned into DJ for later in the evening. We sat 60 people but could easily hold 180, the room was decorated very elegantly and would look great for any wedding as it had a beautiful garden and veranda areas. The food was excellent and choice was a perfect selection. Rooms were cosy but could do with a nip and tuck here and there, don't we all, but this added to the ambience and character of this well established hotel, well done to Joe and his team.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Albans
0.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
1.5 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
2,291 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
#9 of 10 in St. Albans
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
1.1 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in St. Albans
582 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore House

Address: 54 Lemsford Road, St. Albans AL1 3PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St. Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in St. Albans
Price Range: $111 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardmore House 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Ardmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmore House Hotel St. Albans
Ardmore Hotel Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing