We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ardmore House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ardmore House
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in St. Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Rabat, Malta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

A great location within walking distance from the train station and the city centre. The room was clean and pleasant but rather small! The bathroom was particularly cramped but was also as clean and functional as the bedroom. I found the breakfast very good - a reasonable selection of buffet items but also a very good cooked English breakfast were on offer. We used this hotel as a base while we explored St Albans and popped into London on a recent trip to the UK (only 20 minutes away from Kings Cross). It is very convenient for both of these. For the me, the only real bother with the hotel was the slight sound of trains passing by, however, my husband said that he barely heard them! This was not loud enough to keep me awake so it was only a very minor inconvenience. I would stay there again if I were visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    181
    72
    37
    20
See reviews for
137
141
24
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We loved St Albans, but this hotel had a faint whiff of Basil Fawlty. We arrived to find that we couldn't park because the car park entrance was blocked by a tanker unblocking the drains; breakfast was a complete shambles, and our room was very small.

That's the bad side, but actually there is much to admire about Ardmore house- the building itself could be lovely and the location is also brilliant. If they could sort out the service it would be a very good hotel...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend get together with girl friends (over 50s!). The hotel is within 15 mins easy walk of town centre, it is a pleasant, clean and comfortable place to stay, in a quiet area and good value with breakfast included in room price. We had a very good meal in the restaurant on our first evening at a special rate for residents. No complaints at all and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are in a separate house next door, so check if you're booking 2 or more rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

the family room was a good size for us, the bathroom and shower could be better. we only stayed one night and left early so it was good for that purpose. the one thing that really bothered me was the sound of the trains nearby.
the breakfast was just ok, nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripping4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Back in St Albans for a family event, we stayed one night in the Ardmore hotel. The hotel is well placed for that side of St Albans and there aren't a lot of options in that area. The staff are friendly, and the communal rooms are ok, but the whole hotel feels very old fashioned - patterned carpets, breakfast mostly geared to a traditional full english etc. Our room was in the attic and was quite small. For £80 per night not including breakfast it was not tremendous value. The main restaurant which serves italian food looked good and was praised by other guests, but we were eating out with family so didn't try it. Most of the people staying in the hotel were business travellers, many of them contractors.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheridan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a family reunion at another hotel, nearby. This hotel's prices were a bit cheaper so we chose it. I give it top marks for appearance: a character period hotel in mellow yellow brick with charming begonia orange and yellow hanging baskets and stained glass windows. My camera was happy! It is set in a suburban part of St Albans but not far from the town centre and railway station. There is a bar/restaurant/dance floor and on Friday night we ate there en famille and were not disappointed, the service was ecellent and they were attentive to my needs as a person who suffers from gluten intolerance (coeliac disease) supplying me with details of what I could eat and gluten-free bread. The breakfast was substantial and waiter service for the cooked choices again impeccable. The bedroom was pleasant, well appointed and had a good view over the local area at the back: trees, garden etc. The bed was very comfortable and the adjoining ensuite shower room fine. There were a few stairs up to the bedroom with a handrail and a door at the top which was a bit of a challenge for my husband who struggles on stairs, but we managed (we were informed there were no ground floor rooms prior to booking). Also there was a short flight of stairs down to the breakfast room and a few steps into the restaurant but both have hand rails and he managed. There is no lift to floors. There are some interesting "antique" type furniture/chairs in the hotel and the bar lounge area has newspapers and comfortable chairs and a large wide-screen television. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful. The only fault I can find is that our room, at the back of the hotel, on the end of the corridor, had a generator of some sort next door, outside the fire escape - and this was humming on and off intermittently during the night, which kept us awake until late the first night. The second night, (Saturday) we were entertained with noise from the music coming from the dance floor.. Also the railway is quite close, in a cutting a few yards away, but you can reduce the noise from thist by closing the windows. My mother had a single room at the front of the house where she reported there was some noise from the traffic. But all in all, a good break and I would recommend.for a visit to St Albans. Also, a big plus, there is a roomy car park behind the hotel, off the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the generator (ours was room 20, avoid this)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

A quadrouple birthday celebration was held at this hotel. The general service was super. The staff are friendly and helpful. The setting is excellent as was the food. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. We would certainly return for future functions and not hesitate to take friends for meals.
Highly reccommended.

Room Tip: There is a good range of rooms to choose from to meet your particular needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Albans hotels
0.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
1.5 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St. Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#4 of 9 in St. Albans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore House

Property: Ardmore House
Address: 54 Lemsford Road, St. Albans AL1 3PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St. Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in St. Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardmore House 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ardmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmore House Hotel St. Albans
Ardmore Hotel Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing