We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Ardmore House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ardmore House
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in St. Albans
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Ardmore House and especially enjoyed an excellent meal in their Italian restaurant at night. I enjoyed the fact that the hotel was in an older building (although our room was modern and refurbished) as it had character and was very comfortable. I would highly recommend this spot and please make a point of eating dinner in the restaurant, you'll be glad you did. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially the manager, who checked us in.
An added bonus was the full English cooked breakfast in a nice room overlooking the garden. We had a room that overlooked the road which was double glazed so we slept like babies.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyager9Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreHouseHotel, Manager at Ardmore House, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for your comments, customer feedback is very much valued. It was nice to hear that the room, restaurant and breakfast meet your expectations.
I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 555 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

We held our wedding reception at the Ardmore on 6th April and words can not express what an amazing day it was. When we visited for the 1st time, we received a friendly welcome and were shown around. Straight away we were amazed by the beautifully decorated room and the well kept gorgeous gardens out the back. We had many meetings with Maurice and joe and both men could not do enough to meet our needs.
On the day itself, everything went according to plan due to their well organised and thorough staff team. The food was amazing and they dealt very well with a few of our fussy guests who wanted to change the menu without previously being told. The waiters were friendly and no one was rushed which led to many of our guests commenting on the relaxed and calm atmosphere.
Included in our package was a toast master. We were unsure how this would work upon booking it but when Walter, our designated toastmaster, contacted us, we were glad he was part of our day. He ensured that timings were well managed and organised and his stories throughout the speeches were well received.
We didn't pay for a bar extension but the bar stayed open as long as our guests wanted it which was an added bonus and our every need and request was met with a smile.
The rooms were comfortable with good showers and the breakfast the next morning was also delicious.
I simply can not recommend the ardmore enough. It really was the most perfect day!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreHouseHotel, Manager at Ardmore House, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for your comments, they are greatly appreciated.
It was a pleasure to host your event.
I hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Have just spent an overnight stop with family at this hotel to celebrate a birthday. Booking direct was efficient and informative. The rooms were pleasantly decorated and importantly clean and fresh. A meal had been arranged in the restaurant and exceeded expectation. Can particularly recommend the sea bass. Portions were generous with ample choices. Well done chef! Service was excellent and friendly. A memorable evening and stay. A must for a celebration. Thanks to all staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreHouseHotel, Manager at Ardmore House, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments, they are greatly appreciated.
I will pass your comments onto the chef, he will be pleased too!
I hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I was very recently booked into this hotel for 3 nights and it truly was a very good experience, food fantastic, service extremely friendly and finally absolutely fantastic value, thank you very much.

Room Tip: A really nice single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank specialstar522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreHouseHotel, Manager at Ardmore House, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments, they are greatly appreciated.
I hope to welcome you again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights with a group of friends and we were well looked after. The staff were wonderful - very helpful and nothing too much trouble. Our room was clean and very comfortable - the bathroom maybe due to be updated but it was clean and everything worked OK. We had a day in London so the short walk to the station was appreciated. The food in the restaurant was very good indeed with plenty of choice at breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the-walkers2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreHouseHotel, Manager at Ardmore House, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments, they are greatly appreciated.
I hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our daughter recently held her wedding reception at Ardmore House and the staff were fantastic from the word go.
We had almost 100 people attending the reception and the staff were all extremely efficient throughout but also helped to create a very friendly and relaxed atmosphere. The food was delicious and beautifully presented, with all dietary requirements more than adequately met. Added to which the gardens are beautiful for photographs. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Ardmore House as a wedding venue.
Many of the guests stayed overnight after the wedding. We all agreed the rooms were good, with very comfortable beds, plenty of hot water and lots of tea and coffee making provisions. Yes some are small but I imagine that’s because all are en suite but they more than do the job. We were all very happy with what we had.
At breakfast the following morning, the good service continued. Despite many of the staff working very late the previous night, we were greeted with friendly smiles and good service. The food was great with the fried breakfast cooked to order, so it arrived piping hot and a good selection cereals, croissants, fruit and yogurts from the buffet to begin with.
A great place to stay, with friendly, helpful staff who make you feel relaxed and at home in their hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreHouseHotel, Manager at Ardmore House, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments, they are greatly appreciated.
It was a pleasure to host your event.
I hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night to go and see a gig at the Alban Arena.

The room wasn't huge but certainly adequate in size. It was certainly clean and comfortable and was just what we needed. Breakfast was very good and the staff throughout our stay were courteous and helpful. We would definitely stay again next time we're visitng St Albans.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HalVIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdmoreHouseHotel, Manager at Ardmore House, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments, they are greatly appreciated.
I hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Albans
0.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
1.5 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
2,391 reviews
1.1 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in St. Albans
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
#9 of 10 in St. Albans
840 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
8.3 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore House

Address: 54 Lemsford Road, St. Albans AL1 3PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St. Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in St. Albans
Price Range: $102 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardmore House 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ardmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmore House Hotel St. Albans
Ardmore Hotel Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing