We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good”

Cote Brasserie - St Albans
Ranked #24 of 327 Restaurants in St. Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our inspiration for the food and design of Cote is a modern interpretation of the many famous bistros of Paris. Inspired by new trends, we are dedicated to serving authentic classic brasserie dishes with a modern twist, using high quality produce at great prices. On the menu, guests will always find brasserie favourites on our a la carte menu such as steak frites, moules marinieres, corn-fed chicken from rural Brittany and tuna Nicoise, for dessert, Cote's creme caramel and creme brulee are much-loved house specialities. Seasonality and Cote's commitment to sourcing high-quality ingredients results in a monthly changing specials menu, ensuring there is always something new to delight regular guests and gastronomes alike, as well as the excellent value set menu. Open early every day for breakfast, through to lunch and dinner; Cote's atmosphere is informal and friendly
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Been here a few times and apart from one occasion when we had trouble communicating with the waiter, is always good. Restaurant is large but you never have to wait to long to be served. Menu is good and quality of cooking fine. Not often you see Steak Tartare on the menu, highly recommended! Wine list, French beers and cider also very good.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miklui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    251
    79
    30
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Full of noisy laughing women that never shut up.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We have visited Cote on many occasions but this was horrendous. My husband and I wanted a nice meal and to enjoy each others company. Instead we got poor food and noisy laughing women. we were a table for two put in the corner between two table of 6, a table of 4 and a table of 3. To say the women on the tables were noisy would be an understatement. Laughing so loudly that everyone in the restaurant must have heared then. Never again!! Completely spoiled our evening. The food also was not good, I had what was supposed to be half a Breton chicken (must have been a small chicken) and it was so dry it was hardly eatable. No Cote Restaurant this is not good enough. Parties of 6 are ok, but when you go as a couple, you want to be able to hear each other! Surely you could keep couples together in one section.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boxstergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good but needs a bit more polish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

We went here for Sunday lunchtime and it was extremely busy. Atmosphere was very good but it can be a little noisy. Ordered our meals and although I changed my mind about my main course, I was told this would be ok. However, the waiter obviously didn't quite here me and so I ended up with half the course being right but chips instead of dauphinois potatoes and no green beans! My husband's ribeye though was cooked to perfection and so was the calamari we shared for starters. The other complaint I would have is that tables that arrived and ordered after us were served before - would not really expect this. The food was good but the whole restaurant needs to polish up their act. Overall an ok restaurant.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichelleALuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

Really nice restaurant - fantastic decor and ambience. Service is excellent and appreciated the extras like water on the table.

We had the set menu which was a mistake perhaps. Food was a real disappointment. Salad starter was nothing special. Steak and frites was a small portion and a poor cut of meat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jarr_mich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Splendid service, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

I took my wife to the Cote to celebrate her birthday, and arranged in advance that a cake be brought to the table. Prompted by this, when we arrived the waitress brought us complimentary glasses of champagne (which was a very thoughtful additional service). The selection of food is always outstanding, and the early bird specials (before 7.30pm I think) are excellent. As well as good service, the size of the restaurant is just right, being neither too big nor too small, and the location is right at the heart of the city. We would go to the Cote all the time if it accepted the Tastecard. As it is, we tend to wait for special occasions.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cote Brasserie - St Albans also viewed

St. Albans, Hertfordshire
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Cote Brasserie - St Albans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing