We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
St. Albans
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around St. Albans
from $6.73
More Info
from $328.79
More Info
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveler rating
32
24
30
16
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
32
24
30
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town hall cakes georgian court changing exhibits cafe seating free museum ryder cup meeting point large space gift shop and cafe old days middle ages lovely museum roman settlement city centre assembly printing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 115 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

Visited the Museum and art gallery and spent a pleasant hour or so looking around.
Decided to have a bite to eat in the quirky court room cafe. Strange set up as you order the food from the area in the entrance and then take through to eat in the Court Room. The cafe menu is very limited and I think they are really missing a great opportunity. There seems to be plenty of space in the prep area and whilst I would not think a vast selection of main meals would be particularly good a larger selection of freshly made to order sandwiches, panini’s, rolls, soups etc. What was on offer was rather limited but very nice.
The cakes however looked dry and sad so decided to give those a miss.
Beautiful restored court room and an interesting setting for a cafe.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank KatyK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2019 via mobile

We just popped in today for a quick bite at the cafe. It’s a weird set up, in as much as you have to walk past the cafe serving area, into the old courtroom, to check if there is anywhere to sit, before you go back to the serving counter to order your food. We took a look at the food options and were quite disappointed ... a few cakes, plenty of drinks, but not a sandwich or other lunch items in sight. No obvious food menu either. We decided to pass on this opportunity and went somewhere with a proper menu and easy to spot seating.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Andy-S60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St_Albans_Museums, Manager at St Albans Museum + Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2020

Thanks for your feedback Andy-S60 - we were shutting at 2pm on Christmas Eve so that may have affected the lunch options available - we normally offer hot and cold lunch options, including soup and sandwiches.
Hope we can welcome you back another time to explore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2019

A good and interesting museum at the very heart of the St Albans. Went to see the history of St Albans and wasa not disappointed.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Pipris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2019

Had a lovely lunch in a truly unique setting just lovely. Had the Soup and a pot of tea food was good but to sit on the benches in the court was a really different expeirience. Next visit hope to have time to go around museum.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2019

My husband and I visited this lovely place while at St Albans when the Christmas lights were going to be put on.
We had a lovely drink and cake.
There was a nice guy going around wiping the tables etc and we spoke to him.
Very friendly and nice person

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Explorer766349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews