We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skimpy Sunday”
Review of The Cock Inn

The Cock Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cock Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 330 Restaurants in St. Albans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $36
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dating back to the 16th Century, The Cock Inn remains one of the most popular pubs in St Albans. We are known for our great food, real ales and extensive wine list. In winter we have a roaring log fire whilst in summer we have a fantastic heated garden offering a little oasis of calm in the centre of St Albans.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Skimpy Sunday”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

I went there in October for a Sunday lunch roast for two. We didn't need to book as it was still just about warm enough to sit outside which catered for surplus guests.

The pub garden was pretty and enclosed. You wouldn't know you were right by the busy high street.

The food was very skimpy. We didn't get much on our plate at all. We both ordered roast beef. The Yorkshire was a good size. However, this took up most of the plate, masking the fact that there were very few vegetables and not a lot of meat either.

We weren't particularly satisfied with our meal but had paid at the bar before hand, our lunch took us about 5-10 mins to eat and we left.

Good location, pretty pub garden, cosy interior but poor portions for food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    128
    43
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice pub with good seating”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Visited with a large group of friends and managed to accommodate and get around a table quite easily. Gets quite loud in the evening though but as to be expected for pubs.

Seating can be quite a premium as well if you come later, but drinks etc were all priced fairly and there was always a nice buzz atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank iamRayRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Quite possibly the best gastropub in St Albans”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We've been to the Cock before, so this was another 'unspecial' occasion, brought on by me saying 'How about lunch?' As it the weather was nice and the town centre was crowded, we thought we might have to switch to plan B, but, no, there was a seat in the dining room.
We sat down and had a look at the menu and the specials board. Offerings ranged from a pheasant and foie gras terrine starter to bubble and squeak as either a starter or main. The food is innovative, well presented and very tasty. It manages to do this at a very reasonable price as well. The pub has a good range of beers on draught and a much larger selection bottled. There is also a decent wine list as; much better than the average pub.
Service is very good - attentive without being cloying. The young lady who waited on us made a mistake with my main which wasn't a huge problem - she just brought the wrong dish. As it happened, I had thought about ordering the one she brought, so no problem on my part. Despite my assurances that I was happy with my meal, she insisted on charging us for one instead of two starters. Very nice touch.
All in all, a very pleasant dining experience in the middle of St Albans.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnG2144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you haven't been, definitely make the effort....awesome!!!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just back from Sunday lunch - the atmosphere, ambiance, quality of food and value were of the highest order......and not only were all courses for all 5 of us really tasty, the portions were good too.....you won't leave hungry!

The service was top draw too!

This will become a regular haunt for sure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wappster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Drinks only”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Great pup at the top of st albans high street. Always full of atmosphere with a great outdoor space. This pub is very warming around the festive season. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Soopakev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cock Inn also viewed

 
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
Flamstead, St. Albans
 

Been to The Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing