We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shahenshah

Shahenshah
Ranked #66 of 97 Restaurants in Hertford
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Pakistani
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Thre is much competion amongst a number of very good indian restaurants in Hertford. Everybody has their own favourite but this is ours.
We try the others from time to time and they're good but we always return to the Shahenshah. We think the quality of the food, the friendly service and the decor make this the No 1

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Millie211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    35
    16
    12
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Three of us went here last night for a starter platter, three curries, naan bread, a few beers and a few sides. We ended up spending £100 for a meal we've paid £50-60 for in other (and better) local restaurants like the Raj and Tikka Cottage. The food was nice (nowhere near as good as the Raj or Tikka Cottage) but the waiters were really grumpy and there was no atmosphere.

Won't be going back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Luke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Saturday nights experience at the Shahenshah”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Unfortunately this was not a totally fault free evening, The service left much to be desired, cold plates didn't help to improve the quality of the food which was very mediocore and the staff could have been more pleasant. The food didn't warrant the price charged and any extras seemed very expensive! Would not rush back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank joyce_p0170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Liked the food but visited with a large party and we felt we were ripped off on drinks, overall a good night despite this.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mor66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“One of the better Indian cuisines in the South!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

I've eaten here many times over the last 10 years when I've been in the Ware/Hertford area. The range of Indian foods, and quality, have rarely fallen below a very good standard. The restaurant, which is centrally located in the old high street, is tastefully decorated and pretty modern. Staff are efficient and service level good even when busy. The tikka starter and main courses are particularly good, the Peshwari nan's delicious, and other traditional fare such as bhuna and Dopiaza courses very tasty. Seafood - fish & prawns - recemmended.
This in my experience of Indian cuisine is one of the better type restaurants in the South of England!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nordicstar284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shahenshah also viewed

Hertford, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 
Hertford, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Shahenshah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing