We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value if you have Tesco tokens”

Cafe Rouge Hertford
Ranked #23 of 97 Restaurants in Hertford
Price range: $68 - $68
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Occupying a prime location in the pedestrianised square, Café Rouge looks directly across to the cenotaph and is the ideal place to sit down, relax with a meal and a glass of wine and watch the world go by. A petit bit of trivia: during an outbreak of plague in 1563, the Parliament of England temporarily relocated from London to Hertford. To commemorate this, the square was re-named Parliament Square in the 20th century.
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent Value if you have Tesco tokens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Visited Café Rouge in Hertford on a Saturday night for a meal with my wife.

Café Rouge to me is a bit of a conundrum; if you have Tesco vouchers then you can have an excellent meal for a really 'good price'; if you don't then I would advise at their menu prices to go elsewhere.

The Hertford version has recently been refurbished and they have done an excellent job. The French café feel remains but it no longer feels early nineties and is very much up to date.

We had starters of tiger prawns with chilli and the baked camembert; both well presented and tasted good. Bread with the tiger prawns was a little 'run of the mill'.

We both had steak for main; I had sirloin and my wife had rib eye. I asked for mine rare and my wife asked for hers medium rare. Her steak came up rarer than mine but both were tasty and came with a nice garlic butter and French fries. For the menu cost of £16 and £17 respectively I would not say they are great value but as above with Tesco vouchers they are more than adequate.

Finished the meal with Crème Brulee and the chocolate fondant. Brulee was very nice; fondant a little uninspiring. Both expensive at 'menu prices'.

Service was very good and very prompt - if anything a little too efficient as they asked us if we were ready to order 1-2 minutes after giving us the menus. I wonder if they have received the negative feedback on here and bucked up their ideas. Nevertheless the service was polite and efficient.

Drinks are expensive; £3.70 for a 275ml bottle of Kronenbourg and similar expensive prices for wine and other beers. Based on these prices and the prices for the food I am beginning to wonder if people go to Café Rouge without Tesco vouchers??

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WillowBee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    83
    49
    21
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Effortless quality. .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Caught up with a friend in cafe rouge. Food quick, tasty and fresh. Waitress was friendly and attentive. Nice atmosphere and decor.

I think you can tell the quality of an experience by how much a restaurant effortlessly carries on its service in the background whilst you're ingrossed in catching up with friends. The food appears when it supposed to, the waitress appears when they're meant to- a smooth service which doesn't interupt your quality time with a friend. Café Rouge did just that-will come again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not if you're in a hurry”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have just returned having sat down at 12 for lunch at this newly refurbished nice looking branch of Cafe Rouge. The problem is that it is now nearly 2pm! I was late back. Slow service would be an understatement! The foods OK but the name quick bites should be dropped from the menu. The issue was a waiter who ignored an instruction to produce separate bills for somebody with Tesco Vouchers, so widely used these days. The rest of us had a 20% off voucher. It got complicated and together with the incredibly slow service just made me think again about going back. It's a shame and once again the manageress said sorry! It that really all they are empowered to do?
Frustrating is an understatement.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“always consistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

went to cafe rouge and was impressed by the new 'makeover'. It is always value for money (with voucher) particularly if ordering two steaks. On a sunny day, it is one of the pleasure of life - drinking a cold glass of chablis outside the restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alisonhertford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Oh dear...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Visited the newly refurbed Hertford Cafe Rouge on Bank Holiday Monday. Arrived and sat outside at a table which has just been vacated. Waited 10 mins and no one cleared or offered us drinks or menus. Waitress then cleared empty table next to us (!) so we moved to this table.
Waited another 5 minutes, asked 3 different waiters for menus and finally got them (not offered option to order drinks).
Waited another 10 minutes and waitress finally came to take order. We were then told it would be 45 minute wait (minimum) for ANY food. We got up and left and went to newly refurbished Woolpack.
My advice, don't go if they look busy (or just go for coffee or drinks not food). We are locals and won't be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iPhone2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge Hertford also viewed

Hertford, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 
Hertford, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Cafe Rouge Hertford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing