We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Salisbury Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hertford
Certificate of Excellence
Essex England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“comfortable”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hotel is not easy to find. Hertford has lots of one way system and this hotel sits on a bus only entrance, so unless you come from the opposite of the town you could be going round for ages! . The car park is up pass the hotel on the right side. Rooms were ok but very basic for the price, brown blankets on the bed just made me itch, and a sheet under that, not very modern!. The rooms could do with an update. The hotel does have a nice bar area and food is available. The breakfast was average and it's not a buffet service. The staff were very helpful and polite throughout.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    114
    35
    8
    6
See reviews for
69
80
31
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
preston
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We went to the hotel for an overnight stay after attending a christening ,the hotel was clean and well presented ,we received a pleasant welcome from reception and were able to go to the rooms ,we had asked for an early checkin which we were able to have at no extra costs and the rooms were ready for us when booking in ,the rooms are very clean with a large shower and clean bathroom and the bed was lovely to sleep in ,breakfast was excellent with pleasant service and lots to choose from ,parking was easy next to the hotel in a car park with a barrier ,would definitely go again .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c_m_williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Went to the Salisbury Friday the 8th of November for a "murder mystery evening." The evening included a three course meal with tea/coffee.
We chose from a set menu which was varied with something for everyone. The staff were attentive without being intrusive.
We have been to other murder mystery weekends which were better but in the constraints of The Salisbury's restuarant we felt the "actors" did very well. We all enjoyed the evening, and would go again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mars46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Excellent in every way staff really great the restaurant was also lovely especially breakfast. Location and parking was also very good. Room was very clean and comfortable and the beds very comfortable. Would always stay there when visiting London and family in Hertfordshire.

Room Tip: No 25 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 200alf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Simple olde world hotel with a good restaurant serving very good value food in a nice atmosphere
Went here on a Saturday night and had no trouble getting seated.Served almost immediately by very friendly staff.Food was not fancy but very good value.
Recommended if you want a good plave to eat at very reasonable prices

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is the first time we have been to Hertford and the Salisbury Arms was simply fantastic! We had a lovely family room, the staff were very helpful and the room had everything we needed. We attended a family party on the Saturday night and the room was done lovely for us. We also had a three course meal and it was wonderful. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1HonestReviewer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We arranged for a special birthday party to be held at the hotel and were joined by family and friends. Hats off to the Salisbury staff as the room was laid out beautifully and the meal excellent. Those of our guests staying at the hotel all commented how pleased they were with their rooms. Breakfast is always splendid. We have stayed many times and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrett65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hertford
0.0 mi away
Hertford House
Hertford House
#3 of 4 in Hertford
277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cinnabar Hertford Hotel
Cinnabar Hertford Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hertford
123 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ware Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.4 mi away
Fanhams Hall Hotel
7.5 mi away
De Vere Theobalds Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Arms Hotel

Property: Salisbury Arms Hotel
Address: Fore Street, Hertford SG14 1BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hertford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hertford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Salisbury Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing