We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Italian in Hertford”
Review of Ilvino

Ilvino
Ranked #25 of 97 Restaurants in Hertford
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our family restaurant is based on the belief that our customers' needs are of the utmost importance. Our entire team is committed to meeting those needs. As a result, a high percentage of our business is from repeat customers and referrals. We would welcome the opportunity to earn your trust and deliver you the best service.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best Italian in Hertford”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Forget the rest (Ask,Pressos,etc...) Ilvino is the best
Even if its not on the menu just ask and they will do it if poss
Well done guys see you next week(just to make sure you are still on form) Simon

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    65
    33
    30
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“A very nice evening”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Came in to celebrate end of A-level exams with the family, service was great, dont understand other people complaining about it?! Food was lovely, had starters main and pudding, so tried it all with nothing to complain about!! Reasonabley priced, had starters, main and pudding, bottle of wine, and couple of beers, just over £25 a head (excluding tip).. Atmosphere was very pleasant, not excessively loud, but not quiet, nice Italian esque tunes and general chit chat!!

If you're snobby about your night's out, you may be picky about the food/wine, but if you're easy going and enjoy nice food with pleasant service, then DO NOT hesitate to visit!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajjones2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A high quality meal at a reasonable price”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We popped in for a bite to eat at lunchtime and were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and the friendly service. We would recommend it.

The owner / manager is very genuine, he has only recently opened. It is to be featured in a Channel Four broadcast.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Thank goodness for the independents.”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Have been to this restaurant three times since it opened about 3 months ago and just love it. The owner is very welcoming and runs a well organised business. All the staff are lovely and try hard to please. The setting is modern but retains the history of the building. Food is good middle of the road Italian, try the spaghetti with seafood and chilli. Rarely eat desserts myself but there is a good choice and my husband, who is a fan of fresh fruit salad, had one especially made for him which was amazing and would never happen in a chain restaurant. Their wines are good and well priced, last time we had the best Chianti I have tasted in ages. Really deserves supporting, so lovely to visit an independent Italian restaurant rather than the usual High Street names.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy22008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Having an Italian wife we rarely dine in Italian Restaurants. However on the basis of some excellent references we decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed, the starters were OK but not special the pasta was excellently cooked with a delightful sauce and the the thin based pizza was excellent. Service was very friendly and the decor better suited an Italian restaurant than the previous Chinese. We shall return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Facchino46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ilvino also viewed

Hertford, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 
Hertford, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Ilvino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing