We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first class”
Review of Mulberry House

Mulberry House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mulberry House
Ranked #3 of 10 Hertford B&B and Inns
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“first class”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We have just had a one night stay in this bnb we travel a lot and it is probably the best we have stayed in. We were greeted by Rachel who showed us to our room WOW remote control led lights, bose sound, system ghd straightners, slippers and even earplugs they have thought of everything. After a good nights sleep on the memory foam mattress we went down to breakfast (we chose the time we wanted to eat and what we wanted to eat ) cooked by Rachel as we talked to her and Dominic so relaxed and friendly would highly recomend mulberry house.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherylclark25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    12
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
28
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wife and I had a hurried arrival to Mulberry House because we needed a quick change before setting off for a family occasion. We were met at the door and politely greeted by Dominic. After quickly explaining what we were doing, he showed us to our lovely room. We were open mouthed at the opulent decor, remote controlled LED ceiling lights, glass and chrome table lamps and wall mounted HD TV and sound system. The wall coverings were of excellent quality, with the wardrobe and bathroom doors also covered defined only by large door handles. The bathroom was of a wet room design, with multi-coloured mosaic floor tiles and large white glass tiles to the walls. The fittings were of designer quality, with a mirror over the sink and a large mirror on the end wall. 
We were asked by Rachel what time we would like breakfast and she kindly agreed to 10:00. Dominic showed us our keys and off we went. Upon our late return, we were so pleased to lay in the very comfortable memory foam bed and get a good night's sleep. Tea and coffee making was available in the room, as was a complimentary bottle of wine and water.
In the morning we arrived in the large bright, breakfast room to see a large table filled with jars of cereals, fruit and nice tableware. Rachel greeted us with a cheery good morning and cooked our previously selected breakfast. While we were waiting, we admired the large garden through the large window, viewing a centrepiece designer water feature, the remains of a very old house and trees, including of course a mulberry tree!
On serving, the full English breakfast was excellent, bacon cooked to our liking, together with toast and filter coffee, tea for my wife. After a pleasant chat with Rachel, complimenting her on her great home, we gathered our things, said our goodbyes, hoping we could stay there again. A really nice place to stay. A B&B? Yes, but more like an hotel. But you wouldn't get the personal service! I have no problem recommending the Mulberry House!
Thanks to Rachel and Dominic from Rick and Liz Starling

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Downloader141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I had to take a business trip to Hertford and this B&B came up on late rooms.com. The price was good and looked significantly better than some of the chain hotels around.

I booked the 1 night stay and shortly after I had an email from the owner Rachel asking would I like cold or warm drinks waiting for me on arrival, would I like a dinner reservation making in the town (the old Siam Thai restaurant was excellent) and what would I like for breakfast. Way better service than you would expect from a chain hotel.

On arrival at the house drinks were waiting nice and chilled. Rachel was a superb host and the quality of room, bathroom, linen etc were of high standard. Breakfast next morning was excellent and great fun watching Rachel using chopsticks to cook an English breakfast!

I would recommend this place to anyone especially if you want excellent service with charm and a huge smile. I will return Rachel all being well next month.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryGeorge_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed in this B&B for one night - and were really pleased to find stylishly decorated rooms, friendly service and a really good cooked breakfast! I would recommend this B&B to anyone - a true Gem!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hertford
0.4 mi away
Salisbury Arms Hotel
Salisbury Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hertford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cinnabar Hertford Hotel
Cinnabar Hertford Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hertford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hertford House
Hertford House
#3 of 4 in Hertford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fanhams Hall Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Ware Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mulberry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulberry House

Property: Mulberry House
Address: 2 Stanley Road, Hertford SG13 7LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hertford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hertford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Luxury B&B in Hertford. We are located right in the very centre of Hertford, which has 2 train stations into central London.We offer: free parking on private road, free fast broadbandbeautiful decorated rooms with latest Bose sound system and smart TV, Bathroom featuring Laufen pottery , Bisazza mosaics Elegant sitting area.waterfall GardenIndividually cooked breakfast at flexible time. (We aim to use local farm supplies as much as possible, and deliver the quality we would like to receive ourselves)It's suitable for business travelers who need to relax in a homely environment, yet convenient to all Hertford Town centre has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Mulberry House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing