We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hertford Heath's Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The College Arms

The College Arms
Ranked #17 of 97 Restaurants in Hertford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The College Arms is a great place to relax and unwind whether it's just for a drink in the bar or a meal from our fantastic fresh, seasonal menu. We have a large rear garden and are dog and child friendly.
Dijon, France
Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Hertford Heath's Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

The College Arms is a great little place to have dinner.

There is a wide selection of bar snacks and a good restaurant menu, although both are available wherever you choose to sit.

The staff are friendly, happy to talk newcomers (ie me!) through the various menus & specials board. In addition the barmaid warned us when two large groups might be ordering to help us avoid delays.

The food when it came was so much more than you would have guessed from the outside of the pub.

The burger was obviously home made from high quality mince, served with a lot of fresh tomato, lettuce, pickle & very fresh sesame seed bun - that was just the burger. In addition there were a couple of onion rings which were cooked with very light batter and some lovely hand made frites - French fried to you & me!

The fish & chips were great as well . Really good fresh fish, light batter, large cut chips & home made mushy peas.

The whole thing was really well presented.

As you can tell we enjoyed it greatly. We ate in the bar area, the atmosphere was good too, although maybe it's weakest point but that's being measured against great food, service and value.

Great food, great staff & great value!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 171959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    48
    18
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb food, service & atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This has to be one of the best pub restaurants I've eaten in. Everything about it was great - a modern & intriguing menu (Michelin standard) at a good price & cooked to a very high standard with superb presentation. The atmosphere was relaxed and the service was spot on. If you're in the Hertford area and enjoy good food then this is a must..

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank timpayne100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A bit pricey - but excellent quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Friendly staff, fantastic food. This place is more like a Wine Bar/Restaurant than a village pub. Dogs are welcome in the Public Bar area (which doesn't feel like a Public Bar!). It's a shame you can't book a table in this area. Not being able to do so means we rarely go "on spec" in case we can't get a table.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Went to the College Arms as part of a Christmas Party and was expecting mass produced wafer thin turkey with a couple of roast potatoes and the obligatory over cooked sprouts, having not been there since it changed name from the Jolly Pindar.

I couldn't have been more wrong!

We were served excellent well presented food - succulent turkey with all the trimmings.

If this is an example of the quality of fare produced I will have to add the College Arms to the list of pubs to visit

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank teepeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Christmas meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Visited the College arms very recently and had a Christmas meal. The service was very good with helpfull and attentive staff.The meal was a little bit of a let down with regards to content, for example the turkey came in a roll with stuffing in the middle thats ok if you like stuffing, traditionaly I think people prefer sliced meat which at least gives you an option. The brussel sprouts were also in need of some extra cooking as they were extremely hard, im all for crispy healthy cooked veg but this was a bit extreme, however the rest of the meal was very tasty and well cooked. One final gripe was having the gravy already introduced to the plate before being served, i know this is probably the 'Trendy' thing to do but gravy is a personal thing and it is a large part of the Christmas meal experience and doesn't need to be messed about with.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peterjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The College Arms also viewed

Hertford, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 
Hertford, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The College Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing