We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enthusiastic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grandison

The Grandison
Ranked #9 of 97 Restaurants in Hertford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Surrounded by rolling hills & lush forests the Grandison is ideally located for the perfect country retreat. Families, walkers, cyclists & dogs all find us a refreshing place to relax & re-fuel. We are open for lunch (12-3pm) & Dinner (6-9pm) from Tuesday to Saturday. Sunday lunch is served between 12-4pm with a traditional Sunday roast available along with a selection of our A la carte menu.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enthusiastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

The proprietors were charming and keen to create a great eating experience.
The menu was properly short and the dishes creative and flavoursome.
The decor was neat and nice.
I will return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank verywiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    64
    23
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Pub Grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

A dog friendly pub (bar area only) of exceptional quality. Either a traditional restaurant setting or the bar area with substantial seating. Four real ales and a selection of draught lagers and cider. There is also a good selection of wine by the glass or bottle and soft drinks. The food is imaginative and the current chef has worked under Michel Roux Junior at La Gavroche, two Michelin stars.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deluvian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“New Chef - Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Having heard from local friends that this establishment had a new and innovative chef, we decided to try it out again having last been there two years ago. We were not disappointed as there is a great improvement in the kitchen. The staff were young and delightful with a smile for everyone. Although there was a reasonable set menu at around £12 for two courses and £15 for three, we decided to order from the main menu. The Crispy Goats Cheese Salad was excellent with the salad having exactly the right amount of dressing which a lot of establishments manage to get so wrong. The home made vegetable soup of the day was also given full marks. We all chose the same for the main course (friends with like minds!) which was a game pie comprising venison, wild boar, and guinea fowl. This was a really interesting dish and of course not something one would be cooking at home which is my criteria for what I choose when eating out. It was excellent and the presentation which is so important to get the taste buds going was great. We didn’t have enough room for desserts but the menu looked interesting. We all agreed it was a happy atmosphere and will note it for a future visit

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1st time at The Grandison”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

After seeing article in our local Axis Magazine, my husband and myself decided to try out The Grandison before recommending to family and friends. Pub/restaurant very clean and nicely decorated. Very welcoming staff. I had scallops in curry sauce, followed by hake wrapped in pancetta and crushed potatoes with toffee apple sponge pudding and custard for dessert. Very enjoyable and tasty. My husband had ham hock and leek turnover - very nice, followed by fish and chips, which unfortunately werent quite as good as everything else. The fish was lovely , but the batter was soggy inside and tasted very oily. also most of the wedge chips were slighty overdone, but the dessert, treacle tart and clotted cream ice cream was heavenly! When asked if the meal was satisfactory, my husband pointed out the fish and chips and the barman amended our bill so that we didnt have to pay for our drinks. Will probably visit again but wont go for fish and chips next time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Smart15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb food and outstanding service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We were a group of 7 including a small child. Due to the late arrival of some of our group we took up the offer of having the child fed while we drank and peroused the menu. I was able to try and test the real ales available before making a choice great! Although starters were smallish for the price we were more than happy with the quality with some interesting combinations. Mains were all top drawer. I would come back for the duck. Sweets we're equally well received. Good range of wines and beers. A note of admiration for the manageress/owner who despite a demanding couple in our party was kind professional and smiling in the face of adversity bravo! My only criticism(small) would be an experience from a previous visit. On that occasion I had the £7 cheeseboard 4 cheeses all good but 4 crackers! Not even enough to cope with one block of cheese! Or am I just a glutton? Mmm probably.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hertfordchilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grandison also viewed

Hertford, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 
Hertford, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 
Hertford, Hertfordshire
Datchworth, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Grandison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing