We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Appletree B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Appletree B & B
Ranked #2 of 10 Hertford B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Can't fault our stay at appletree, very friendly and welcoming! The breakfast was excellent with a choice of continental or full english and the rooms were amazing! They came fully equipped with all the necessities! I would most definitely return and recommend to friends!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_helm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
41
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We were attracted to Appletree B&B by the wonderful reviews and they did not disappoint. Very friendly, flexible and welcoming. The room and en-suite were large, extremely clean and all of the drinks and snacks were a lovely touch. The breakfast was great, so much choice. A very enjoyable night away.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I chose to stay at Appletree for a couple of nights in August for a relaxing break and were not disappointed. Most of the reviews focus on the hospitality of Sara and Marcus and this is for a very good reason - they are fantastic hosts and made us feel right at home.

We were offered a choice of breakfasts on arrival for the next morning and were shown to our room by Morgan who was very friendly and made himself available if we had any problems. We had the en suite room on the first floor and this was really spacious and absolutely spotless. A lovely touch was the complimentary wine and snacks laid out in the room.

We both had a cooked breakfast in the morning and was cooked fresh by Sara and Mandy, the housekeeper. There was a selection of cereals also, and fresh juice and coffee were served at the table. We also had toast and a selection of jams so there really couldn't have been much more choice.

The pool at the back of the house is heated and we were able to sit outside in the sun for most of the second afternoon we were there which was really relaxing - the garden is beautiful. Sara was also helpful in recommending a local pub (The Grandison) where we could have an evening meal and this was delicious also.

Overall, the stay was excellent and would definitely recommend Appletree for anyone looking for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank incubus1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

A friend and I recently stayed for one night whilst catching up with old school friends. We stayed in the family suite which was beautifully presented. It included a king-size bed and a sofa-bed which could easily fit two. The En Suite bathroom was decorated very stylishly and was was spacious and, more importantly, SPOTLESS. There was Sky television in the bedroom as well as high-speed WiFi and everything was thought of. There were excellent tea and coffee making facilities as well as other drinks in the fridge. The whole house was beautifully kept and the owners couldn't have been better hosts. Will definitely stay here again and can highly recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: We only stayed in the family suite but the standard was so high that i'm sure all rooms are supe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gnosall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

What a truely wonderfull B&B The Appletree is.Sara and Marcus have created a haven for Travellers who want top quality accomodation.Our room on the 2nd Floor had a beautiful view and the heated swimming pool in the garden was very inviting.A bottle of wine was in the room also a fridge with various cans of fizzy drinks and bottled water.Breakfast was served at a time to suit us,this included :- various cereals,yogout,fruit juice,a large bowl of fresh fruit and of course a full English breakfast freshly cooked to order.I would recommend The Appletree to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here in december, it was very cold out but what a warm welcome we received on arrival! The family made us feel very at home, we had the room at the top of the house an extremely generously proportioned king size room with a well appointed and finished en suite.
The quality of the bathroom fixtures and fittings and suite itself were very high with the tub sporting room for two, it was very clean and had the usual extras for those of us who consistantly forget the shower gels etc.
The room itself was very large, airy but perfectly warm given the time of year, with two roof windows framing the views over hertford and the surrounding areas neatly. the bed was large and comfortable and the fridge within the room was free, everything inside was at no extra cost despite us bringing wine to the room. Again a very clean room with all the essentials and more, i even remember a bottle of champagne on arrival.
The breakfast was bountiful and tasty, the only slightly strange aspect was eating in the family kitchen/dining area but again because they were friendly and nice this wasnt an issue.
They even had a liberal attitude to ordering a midnight pizza to our room and gave us a can of ice defroster when we left.

The whole stay was faultless and even if we had any issues they wouldve catered to them immediately. A wonderful family and i would definately recommend and revisit.

Room Tip: The suite at the top of the house has to be selected!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James Eade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2013

If you are looking for a quite place that's walkable to the centre of Hertford, which has excellent facilities and a very friendly atmosphere then look no further. The breakfast was superb with plenty of choices, hot or cold as well a vegetarian option, the heated outdoor swimming pool was perfectly situated in the large back garden in very quiet surroundings and had plenty of surrounding space to relax in. I would definitely go back again and have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hertford
0.7 mi away
Hertford House
Hertford House
#3 of 4 in Hertford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.8 mi away
Salisbury Arms Hotel
Salisbury Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hertford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cinnabar Hertford Hotel
Cinnabar Hertford Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hertford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Best Western Welwyn Garden City Homestead Court Hotel
Best Western Welwyn Garden City ...
#3 of 5 in Welwyn Garden City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.1 mi away
Fanhams Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appletree B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appletree B & B

Property: Appletree B & B
Address: 27 Fordwich Rise, Hertford SG14 2BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hertford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hertford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Appletree B&B.The Appletree Bed & Breakfast in Hertford is a charming and peaceful retreat offering a warm welcome and homely atmosphere to guests all year round. We can accommodate for any occasion, whether you are staying locally for business, coming to visit family or a romantic getaway with your partner, we make sure that no matter what your reason for staying, you will always want to come back.We offer comfortable and relaxed accommodation in a warm ample setting with quiet gardens(2/3 acre)and a private heated outdoor swimming pool (late April-Oct) for the use of guests. Each room is tastefully decorated to the highest standard with a minimum of Freeview in every room and free wifi and tea and coffee making facilities in each room. We have an off-street free car park for guests with an easy walk into Hertford Town centre or to Hertford North Train station for relaxed travel to London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Appletree B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing