We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Siam

Old Siam
Ranked #1 of 97 Restaurants in Hertford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
hertford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were meeting some friends for dinner and looking for somewhere in the Ware/ Hertford area. We read the trip advisor reviews and decided to give it a try. We were ALL very impressed. The restaurant was busy for a Tuesday night and the ambience felt right as soon as we walked in. There is a very comprehensive menu from which we all chose quite different things. WOW we were not disappointed. The riot of tastes was fantastic, every dish a bit different. The portions were generous, so it was great to try a bit of each and the service was spot on. Even the bill was less than we anticipated. This is without doubt the best Thai meal I have ever eaten and we will definitely be going back there. Restaurants like this deserve to be successful with so many mediocre ones around.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pennyhill108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    125
    27
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Super Thai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a great spot, it does exactly what is says on the tin. Good food, nicely spiced with great service. We were a family party of five for a birthday and had a very pleasant evening.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JolyonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We visited this restaurant last night, and although it was extremely busy, we had excellent service. The food was outstanding, I highly recommend set menu A, but you need to be hungry as the portions were huge!
The decor was unique and relaxing and the atmosphere in there was good. In addition, the toilets were lovely!
The only slight downside was that is was quite expensive, however, you get what you pay for and this was well worth it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
178 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile


Three of us went for dinner here on a Tuesday a couple of weeks ago and my first thought was that it was a good job we had booked a table as it was very busy indeed! However, the service was excellent and three ice cold beers were supplied as the same time as the menus.
We chose one of the set meals and both the food and the level of service were outstanding.

Whilst it is quite expensive, for what one received it can be fairly considered to be good value.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Goodltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thai take away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Ordered over the phone saturday 6.30pm, was told food will be ready in 20 mins. I arrived at 6.50pm and our food was packed and ready to collect. Perfect ! We ordered chicken satay, spring rolls, whole Aromatic Duck with 18 pancakes, pad thai chicken, mussman curry and prawn crackers for 4 adults and a 7 year old. Well they were good size portions and all the food was very tasty. 10/10 all round for service and food. Will try eating in next time as the restaurant looked lovely and the staff were really friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rose m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Siam also viewed

Hertford, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 
Hertford, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Old Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing