We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“how the mighty have fallen”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Raj Tandoori

The Raj Tandoori
Ranked #35 of 97 Restaurants in Hertford
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“how the mighty have fallen”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

our monthly meal out was ruined last night by very poor service from what was once our favourite indian. Food was still very good, but prices are creeping up. A little bit expensive but overall still good value, but oh my, we will go back but they are in last chance saloon as far as my friends and i are concerned
buck up raj. Or face losing loyal customers of 25 years standing
a shocking preformance no excuse only two other tables occupied and its time for the restaurant to given a freshen up as well

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    19
    4
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

It is so sad, we used to go here a lot but will not be rushing back after last night. Service was awful in fact positively rude at times. The starter was great but all the main courses were disappointing and lacked flavour, looking back we really should have walked out after waiting 20 mins to order drinks and the waiter being rude and almost impossible to communicate with. Sorry it was good while it lasted.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Clarec109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little Indian restaurant”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great Indian restaurant to pop into for a reasonably well priced meal. Decor is dated and atmosphere is ok. Waiting staff are friendly and attentive. Food is pretty good with a few different dishes to other Indian restaurants. Tried a new Indian beer I've not had before too, so great stuff. Recommended for quick evening out when you don't feel like cooking.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaxnovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food,slow service”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Would of scored 4 stars if it was not for the painfully slow service. We visited on a Monday night it was not very busy but service was very slow. Food was good and reasonably priced but the service detracted from the experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelBowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“first curry of year”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

the raj is our favourite curry huse in hertford and we have been going there to many years to mention so we were a little disappointed with the service which was very slow for a monday night and the food all though good was not up to the usual high standards. i hope this is not going to become a trend overall a good night but can do a lot better.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raj Tandoori also viewed

Hertford, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 
Hertford, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Raj Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing