We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, good service, super food”

The Scrumpy House at Westons Cider Mill
Ranked #13 of 56 Restaurants in Ledbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good service, super food”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Often visit and have never been disappointed.
Returned again last night for Scrumpy Thursday. Curry and a pint £6.95 can't beat it. They do something every Thursday night and its great to just pop up and eat and go back home. You can mix and match from a la carte menu too so it's great value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyB54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    38
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cider invades food menu”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a family lunch on Bank Holiday Monday and I was expecting more. The waiting staff were jovial and helpful but the food was a letdown. Just because the restaurant is part of a cider brewery does not mean cider has to be incorporated into dishes where it does not belong.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SingaporePhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS VEGETARIAN FOOD”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have had some of the best vegetarian food that I have ever eaten at The Scrumpy House (my husband rates the meat dishes highly too). The ingredients are fresh (herbs are picked from the garden outside) and flavoursome. Food is served quickly and is hot. The interior and exterior seating areas are pleasing. Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank citag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A gem hidden in Much Marcle”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are looking for good, traditional food at a reasonable price, you have found it!!
We have been dinning here for some years now, and Chris, Head Chef, never fails to amaze us with a fantastic selection, well cooked, beautifully presented! The service is always first class, coupled with what has to be the best cider in the world........... excellent!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheF0xHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Mixed feelings about this. We both had steak and kidney pie and in all honesty there was nothing wrong with it. It was tasty and hot. It came with a side plate of chips and it would have been so nice to have had a small dish of vegetables. It just seemed a bit mean not be served with any.

I like the idea of the draft ciders and I opted for non alcoholic bottle cider, being the driver.

Pudding was fine - sticky toffee pudding looking like the same one you get everywhere else. The custard had lumps in it.
ensure there is cutlery on the table first and then serve hot meal, not the other way round. And when the restaurant is quiet there is no harm is ensuring that there is pepper and salt on each table rather than asking if you require any salt.

When we go on the factory tour, we might try the pub round the corner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidbsmallwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scrumpy House at Westons Cider Mill also viewed

Ledbury, Herefordshire
Ledbury, Herefordshire
 
Ledbury, Herefordshire
Much Marcle, Ledbury
 

Been to The Scrumpy House at Westons Cider Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing