We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Oak Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Malvern Hills Hotel(Great Malvern)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holdfast Cottage Hotel(Great Malvern)
$116
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount Pleasant Hotel(Great Malvern)
$83
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Abbey Hotel(Great Malvern)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Malvern Hotel(Great Malvern)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
42
33
14
9
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
33
14
9
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswell stocked barnew ownersold buildingelectric showeroriginal featuressteeped in historylots of historyfantastic atmospherequirky roomsa great stayplenty of hot waterno liftfollowing morningcouple of nightsgood sizeold world charmstayed here for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 114 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2009

we loved it, we read the reviews and was hesitant, but! decided to go anyway, sooo glad we did, the landlord & landlady made us feel welcome from the moment we walked in, and what a hard working pair they are too, they have only been there three months, but they love it and it shows, the food was excellent and the room was lovely and clean,we will deffinatley go again and we recomend others to go, their hospitality was second to none, we wish them a long and happy rein in the oak, and hope its a proffitable one, good luck brendan & sheila, from chris & annette.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank frankie_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2009

Well at first it looksa little run down in parts but i later learned that the current managment had just came into it as the last scarpered,.The locals said it has had years of bad managment and no investment.that is apparent .Though it seems on the up though as the new couple managing it are very pro active and are sorting it out.The service and good atmosphere are the base .the rooms are in need of refurbishment if you expect a city hotel look or they are country hotel look anyway.clean and neat and cheap .free breakfast was spot on and the bar was cheap and friendly. will defiantely stay here again when i am in this area, and to see the progress of the refurb.recommend the star room with the four poster bed.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JamesSander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2008

my husband and i stayed here, with some trepidation after reading the reviews, and were pleasantly surprised. first impressions were very good as the staff were really friendly. i was offered the four poster room which was charming. a really spacious room, everything worked and everything was clean. i did not want to spend a lot of money on a room as we were going to a party elsewhere and also didnt have time to hang around on either day. the bed was very comfortable when we eventually crawled in, we were given a key to let ourselves in which was great. breakfast the next morning was not to be missed, absolutely spot on. would we stay again? yes, in fact we plan to come back here next year just to stay at the hotel again. i must also say to everyone, the new landlady has already started on some much needed refurbishment and is a great hostess, give it a try and be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minglem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2008

We had the most restful and relaxing stay at the Royal Oak Hotel and had the best night's sleep for years and the meals were lovely. We were greeted with genuine warmth and kindness and we would recommend anyone to stay here. Try staying in the room with the four poster bed for a really special and wonderful occasion and taste of the past.......this room is pure magic !

Stayed: November 2008
Thank WendyAyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

I have stayed at the Royal Oak four times while househunting in Ledbury and plan to use it again. Whilst it is very far from perfect - it needs a lot of money spent on it to fulfill its potential - calling it the worst hotel in the world is completely absurd. I have always found the management pleasant if engaging disorganised - they have undercharged me twice - the bar meals are good value and the breakfast no worse than Bog standard. At £75/night for a family room, it is terrific value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews