We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel. Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Talbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Ledbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel. Highly recommended.”
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed with friends last weekend at The Talbot, Ledbury. Great time had by all. The hotel is very welcoming, clean and has excellent food. Dining in definitely recommended. Breakfast very nice too. Would vist again.

Ledbury also a fine market town with plenty of good pubs.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mig7ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    92
    13
    9
    6
See reviews for
41
137
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

The Talbot is a historical coaching inn with timber frames and uneven floors that make the walk back to your bedroom after a night on the real ale quite a challenge. The rooms have been totally refurbished to a very high standard and the inn represents fantastic value for money. We stayed in the John Masefield room which was very spacious and beautifully decorated. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and the breakfast as good as any in a four star hotel. Parking is a bit of an issue, you will need to walk from the town car parks to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali3240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

I would certainly come back to The Talbot. Rooms are what one would expect from an old Coaching Inn but they are very comfortable, clean and quiet.The breakfast was freshly prepared, delicious and guaranteed to set you up for the day all served with a pleasant smile. The bar was nice and cosy, had an open fire and a selection of real ales were available, what more could one ask for.
The people of Ledbury are very friendly and the countryside beutiful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metcalf2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2009

The Talbot's undergone major work after an arson attack.
Sunday lunch is very good value in the restaurant and if you like proper beer then there's a good selection in the bar.
Thoroughly recommmended if you are looking for somewhere to eat or drink.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitorfromEastKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton-le-Fylde, Lancashire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2009

We spent one night here, were warmly welcomed and shown to our en-suite room, which although in need of some re-decoration was perfectly satisfactory for us, having everything that we required.
Our evening meal was served by Maria. It was first class but we wished that we had just ordered the main course as we had previously decided. The usual thing though, we were tempted by the starters and were fighting to do the main course justice! Eyes bigger than our bellies!
The choice of real ales was excellent and we had a very pleasant time in the bar, much frequented by the friendly locals.
The Full English breakfast in the morning served and cooked by Julie, was absolutely wonderful, one of the best we've had, and set us up perfectly for the day.
This interesting and historic pub is one that we would be happy to return to.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

First off - don't, whatever you do, rely on the postcode stated for your GPS or route planning - that's for New Street, Peterborough, not New Street, Ledbury! The hotel's address is 14 New Street, HR8 2DX.

We stayed in the Talbot this weekend as we were attending a wedding at the nearby Eastnor Castle. Accommodation in Ledbury is somewhat limited and, with few places available (and despite the bad review here), we decided to 'risk' the Talbot.

We needn't have worried as we had a wonderful stay!

First off, the place is NOT a hotel. It's a sixteenth century coaching inn right in the middle of Ledbury. The inn has just six letting rooms and ours was delightfully furnished in a quaint, traditional style. Think old English cottage. The rooms are all ensuite and yes, it did feel a little like staying in a private house, but that adds to the charm.

The place has to be seen to be believed - low door ways, crooked stairs, tiny narrow passageways and when I read that there's hardly a straight wall, they were not joking! I'm not sure I've ever stayed in a place with quite as much natural character.

No, you can't get a drink after the bar closes and this isn't some contemporary modern designer boutique, it's a simple, comfortable coaching inn. There's something special about being given the 'key to the inn' to let yourself in after hours! On that note, we heard nothing from the pub itself after it had closed.

Breakfast was served in the morning in what is the highlight of the hotel - a wooden panelled dining room. It's truly beautiful with bowed ceilings, smoke stained beams.. and all authentic. Breakfast was a hearty 'full English' with a nice selection of cereals and toast.

Yes, the rooms and our en suite could perhaps have done with a lick of paint in places, the floorboards creak throughout the place as people walk about and, being in the centre of Ledbury, there was a bit of noise from drunken revellers walking home (until we realised the window was open an inch), but the place was charming and we really enjoyed our stay - so much so, that we're booking a room there for my parents for a weekend as they live in South Wales and it's not a million miles away.

The staff were very nice too - especially as the landlady had to be woken at about 1am with the 'night bell' as another couple at the wedding, also staying at the hotel, had locked their key in the room. So top marks all round!

As long as you're realistic about what you're booking, we think the Talbot is a lovely place to explore Ledbury. The Feathers hotel opposite is a lot grander, has a pool and is a 'traditional' hotel - if that's what you're after, then book there. For charm, however, you really can't beat a night or two in the Talbot!

One word of warning - the Talbot has no parking. There's a public car park behind the Feathers - £1.00 for all day and free on Sundays / Bank Holidays, but you have to put a new ticket on the car each day (you can't put more than one ticket on). However, there seemed to be lots of free on-street parking a 5 minute walk from the Hotel, so it really shouldn't be an issue.

  • Liked — Beautiful, charming 16th Century traditional coaching inn
  • Disliked — Poor chocie of TV channels - that was about it!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foggy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2006

If you want a good nights sleep then don't stay here!
They call themselves a hotel but we could not get a drink after the bar had shut at normal pub hours. Then to make things worse we had to listen to the extremely loud noise of the priviledged few (who were allowed to be in the bar) until 1.40am
on both nights of our stay!!!!!!!!!!!!!
If we had been able to rest, then the little niggles such as the hairdryer with no fuse and the shower tray that filled to the brim after about a minute would not have mattered so much!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Tips/Secrets — don't go if you value your rest time
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tellmeall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledbury
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ledbury
303 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ledbury
83 reviews
1.3 mi away
Leadon House Hotel
Leadon House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ledbury
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 10 in Great Malvern
1,098 reviews
4.2 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
4.9 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel

Property: Talbot Hotel
Address: 14 New Street, Ledbury HR8 2DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ledbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ledbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Hotel Ledbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing