We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Talbot Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Talbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Ledbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm welcome great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Went here on spec on a busy Sunday lunchtime,having just had a bad experience at another establishment in Ledbury. What a difference--cosy, friendly atmosphere, great choice of food and a very warm welcome from the Landlady and Landlord. Obviously very popular with the locals & with good reason. We all had a very enjoyable meal, very reasonably priced and have promised ourselves to return ASAP.

Room Tip: Cannot comment as we were just here for a meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprinter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    90
    13
    9
    6
See reviews for
40
135
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in July when we had very hot weather and did struggle to have any sleep. We were provided with a fan but it was very noisy so we were unable to leave it on at night. However the room was comfortable and just as we remembered (having stayed here previously). Bathroom was rather small but was adequate for a short stay.

Breakfast on our first morning was very good but on our second day, I decided against the "full English" and asked if I could just have sausage and toast. We were surprised when I received a rack of toast and just one sausage on a big plate! Felt they could have at least managed two sausages but maybe they were in short supply because they were so good! The hotel, I believe, sources all of its produce locally and the quality is of a very high standard.

Not too much choice of accommodation in Ledbury itself, but we probably like The Talbot the best and are likely to visit again. Thank you to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

room was clean and bed was comfortable, so large that it would have been suitable for more than two!
loved the actually building...all the narrow corridors and low beams and wonky door frames, winding staircase and the way if something wasn't placed properly back on a shelf it would slide.

wasn't keen on some of the prints on walls in bedroom, obviously there because of a local theme but felt they were a bit dark and spooky and could have been better chosen

breakfast was plentiful but somehow felt most of it has been presumptuously pre-prepared as the sausage and bacon were not thoroughly hot...this was only a small gripe though as overall it was most enjoyable and the room in which it was served was absolutely delightful.

there was a bit of noise from the road but that was too be expected due to the location, would like to go back again maybe sometime and sample what the restaurant has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trollheim, UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Visited in January for a romantic and long weekend. Stayed before we love this inn and this part of the world.
Room was clean and still looking smart and crisp from the refurbs over a year ago. Love the corridors upstairs, the floors are older than the USA. You feel like your on a ship at sea, with a rolling deck, till your feet get used to them, magical.!!

Food was good, if a little pricey, but there were offers for residents, which made a quality meal very good value. The breakfasts were good, almost the best i have ever had. And the service was from kind and considerate staff.
I like the fact that i see the chefs buy some of their produce from the quality green grocers next door.

Midday a bowl of soup, or the bar menu was always welcoming, and hit the spot. The Talbot is fairly central to the town for many other, and varied great eateries. The beer here was excellent and doing frequent sampling through the spring still is.. Henry's and 6X are fabulous - well kept. Other local ciders and beer.

Step down off the pavement into the Bar, it is a jewel. You'll be entertained by your eyes and your ears. And you'll rub shoulders with them all. The bar manager is a bit eccentric, like a one man show - with beer.!! Heard he may have left..

The bar buzzes in the evening, and it's one of the nicest and friendliest bars in town, open fire, kind people, great ambiance, great welcome. Parking during the day is abit of a pain, but small price to pay for such a fulfilling stay.

I like this town, and i enjoy my frequent visits to this inn, can't recommend this place enough. Enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrollJagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Another Great stay at the Talbot , Clean room great service, not much to fault , The town has a lot of interesting things to see, Malvern hills close by. Look forward to our next visit .Clive and Gaynor Townsend

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor1962186458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Didn't stay here, but stopped for lunch due to Good Pub Guide recommendation. Long wait for ordered food. My chicken, ham and leek pie was dire...as dry as a bone. Obviously home made, but something had drastically gone wrong...not a drop of sauce in the pie. The pie cost over £11, so would have expected better. Would have complained there and then, if were not for the fact that we had very little parking time left, and would not have had time to order something else. Perhaps the recommendation by the Good Pub Guide was more for the hotel/pub than its food, as would definitely not return if passing through Ledbury again. Shame.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here because we were attending a wedding at Eastnor Castle. In this respect it was very handy. From the outside it looks as though it hasn't changed since the 17th century but the room is quite modern. The room is surprisingly large and the bathroom is quite long. The only minor gripes I have with this place were that the room did not come with soap or shampoo in the bathroom. The staff did give them when asked for and maybe it was an oversight in our case. Ledbury is not a very big town/village and so we had dinner and breakfast in the hotel. In each case the food was tasty but it took ages to come which could be because there was only 1 waitress. So if you are not in a hurry then you shouldn't have any problems. However, at the weekend there is a one hour window for breakfast so don't oversleep...
Should any other friends be getting married at the local castle then would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledbury
0.0 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ledbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ledbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.4 mi away
Leadon House Hotel
Leadon House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ledbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
4.2 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#7 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel

Property: Talbot Hotel
Address: 14 New Street, Ledbury HR8 2DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ledbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ledbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Hotel Ledbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing