We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with poor food.”
Review of Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Talbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Ledbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level Contributor
71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Disappointed with poor food.”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Didn't stay here, but stopped for lunch due to Good Pub Guide recommendation. Long wait for ordered food. My chicken, ham and leek pie was dire...as dry as a bone. Obviously home made, but something had drastically gone wrong...not a drop of sauce in the pie. The pie cost over £11, so would have expected better. Would have complained there and then, if were not for the fact that we had very little parking time left, and would not have had time to order something else. Perhaps the recommendation by the Good Pub Guide was more for the hotel/pub than its food, as would definitely not return if passing through Ledbury again. Shame.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    95
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
41
149
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here because we were attending a wedding at Eastnor Castle. In this respect it was very handy. From the outside it looks as though it hasn't changed since the 17th century but the room is quite modern. The room is surprisingly large and the bathroom is quite long. The only minor gripes I have with this place were that the room did not come with soap or shampoo in the bathroom. The staff did give them when asked for and maybe it was an oversight in our case. Ledbury is not a very big town/village and so we had dinner and breakfast in the hotel. In each case the food was tasty but it took ages to come which could be because there was only 1 waitress. So if you are not in a hurry then you shouldn't have any problems. However, at the weekend there is a one hour window for breakfast so don't oversleep...
Should any other friends be getting married at the local castle then would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llanelli
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the hotel and had a lovely stay. Our room was very quiet with a very comfortable bed. We both enjoyed our breakfasts and there was a very good selection of fresh fruits to have with yogurt before the cooked breakfast. It was all delicious. The hotel is in an excellent location, the only minus is that there is no car park but the Pay and Display public one is only a couple of minutes walk away. Excellent Value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kath j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here with a party of friends taking over all of the rooms to attend a nearby wedding. The rooms were compact but comfortably furnished. As reported by other reviewers, this is a historic buildings and the walls and floors are wonky. So much so that a glass of water slid off the bedside table! The shower room was small but, unlike in manyold buildings, the shower pressure good. The breakfast was very good and served by friendly staff. The location is very central and thus convenient to wander around the town. The is no on site parking and it is not that easy to drive to for unloading as it is on a one way street. There is some short stay on street parking immediately outside. Long stay parking is available on street five minutes walk out of town or in a car park a similar distance away.

Room Tip: Check the size of the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

stayed for one night on a business trip on a very hot evening. Very quirky and very old inside, low ceilings wonky walls and floors charming in fact. I had a room over the kitchen at the rear so I could hear the fans from the kitchen. This kept me awake for a bit until they went off, but overall I had a very pleasant stay. Room was good, comfortable and the shower room was roomy. Had a very good breakfast in the morning and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. American visitors would love this place for its quaintness and history. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

hotel is clean, staff friendly, get a great nights sleep, rooms lovely, food is good value for money, would recommend a stay, cosy little hotel, good value for money, shall return again & again, close to centre and some nice restaurants if you want to venture out

Room Tip: teh rooms with the kingsize bed are great and shower in the one is brill, nice and big
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelliew442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stopped 2 nights in Room 2. Had lovely welcome from Andy who was always smiling and took the trouble to ask us if we'd had a good day, what we'd got planned etc. and seemed genuinely interested. Room was well furnished and bed very comfy. Nice also to have electric heater so we could control the heating ourselves (perfect if like me you feel the cold!). View from window was just overlooking a flat roof and buildings but on the plus side this meant that we weren't overlooking the road and it was therefore quiet on a night. Towels changed each day which you don't seem to get very often these days. Good hospitality tray. Ate in the restaurant both nights and food was excellent (as it was at breakfast). Lovely oak carved dining room. Reasonable prices and a very high standard of food/presentation, even when they were busy the food was served promptly. Bar can get very busy on a Friday/Saturday night and we preferred to walk round the corner to have a drink in The Feathers (which was quieter and a more relaxed atmosphere with plenty of space and nice sofas and arm chairs to just sit back and relax on, although that is obviously personal choice for us).

Parking is in a long stay car park, probably about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We paid £2.50 (for over 4 hours). Was worried about leaving the car on a public car park but no problems and I think quite a few cars are left there on a night.

Ledbury is a lovely town to wander around, clean and a good choice of shops and a beautiful church. Also well worth having a look around the Painted House if it is open (accessed from the alleyway leading from the main road to the Church).

Would definitely recommend staying at The Talbot as it is reasonably priced with friendly helpful staff and food that is of a very high quality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cakesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledbury
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ledbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ledbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.3 mi away
Leadon House Hotel
Leadon House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ledbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
4.2 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
4.9 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel

Property: Talbot Hotel
Address: 14 New Street, Ledbury HR8 2DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ledbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ledbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Hotel Ledbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing