We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, charming inn”
Review of Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Talbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Ledbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here with a party of friends taking over all of the rooms to attend a nearby wedding. The rooms were compact but comfortably furnished. As reported by other reviewers, this is a historic buildings and the walls and floors are wonky. So much so that a glass of water slid off the bedside table! The shower room was small but, unlike in manyold buildings, the shower pressure good. The breakfast was very good and served by friendly staff. The location is very central and thus convenient to wander around the town. The is no on site parking and it is not that easy to drive to for unloading as it is on a one way street. There is some short stay on street parking immediately outside. Long stay parking is available on street five minutes walk out of town or in a car park a similar distance away.

Room Tip: Check the size of the bathroom.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
There are newer reviews for Talbot Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 358 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

stayed for one night on a business trip on a very hot evening. Very quirky and very old inside, low ceilings wonky walls and floors charming in fact. I had a room over the kitchen at the rear so I could hear the fans from the kitchen. This kept me awake for a bit until they went off, but overall I had a very pleasant stay. Room was good, comfortable and the shower room was roomy. Had a very good breakfast in the morning and the staff were very welcoming and helpful. American visitors would love this place for its quaintness and history. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

hotel is clean, staff friendly, get a great nights sleep, rooms lovely, food is good value for money, would recommend a stay, cosy little hotel, good value for money, shall return again & again, close to centre and some nice restaurants if you want to venture out

Room Tip: teh rooms with the kingsize bed are great and shower in the one is brill, nice and big
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelliew442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stopped 2 nights in Room 2. Had lovely welcome from Andy who was always smiling and took the trouble to ask us if we'd had a good day, what we'd got planned etc. and seemed genuinely interested. Room was well furnished and bed very comfy. Nice also to have electric heater so we could control the heating ourselves (perfect if like me you feel the cold!). View from window was just overlooking a flat roof and buildings but on the plus side this meant that we weren't overlooking the road and it was therefore quiet on a night. Towels changed each day which you don't seem to get very often these days. Good hospitality tray. Ate in the restaurant both nights and food was excellent (as it was at breakfast). Lovely oak carved dining room. Reasonable prices and a very high standard of food/presentation, even when they were busy the food was served promptly. Bar can get very busy on a Friday/Saturday night and we preferred to walk round the corner to have a drink in The Feathers (which was quieter and a more relaxed atmosphere with plenty of space and nice sofas and arm chairs to just sit back and relax on, although that is obviously personal choice for us).

Parking is in a long stay car park, probably about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We paid £2.50 (for over 4 hours). Was worried about leaving the car on a public car park but no problems and I think quite a few cars are left there on a night.

Ledbury is a lovely town to wander around, clean and a good choice of shops and a beautiful church. Also well worth having a look around the Painted House if it is open (accessed from the alleyway leading from the main road to the Church).

Would definitely recommend staying at The Talbot as it is reasonably priced with friendly helpful staff and food that is of a very high quality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cakesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

If you are a visitor to the UK and want to try a traditional English pint in a very traditional setting then go to the Talbot. Steeped in atmosphere, the history leaps from the walls.
But make sure you eat here as well - I had one of the best sunday lunches I've ever experienced in a pub, hotel or restaurant.
Delighted to see it's doing so well after the fire that nearly destroyed it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iain1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Had another fantastic evening meal at the Talbot with the family. The bar was busy and the atmosphere was lively, which was a great sign. The family ordered the Fish, chips and mushy pies which were excellent. I had the Mushroom Stroganoff which was also brilliant, really tasty. We had the Panacotta and the Apple and Pecan Crumble & Custard between us for dessert and both were generously portioned and finished off the meal perfectly. The service is exceptionally friendly and efficient. This is a great example of a traditional British pub. Will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCFBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Called in at short notice on a Monday evening for dinner. Very quiet in the oak panelled dining room but busy in the bar. Quiet was what we wanted and we chose from a good pub grub reasonably priced menu which was delicious. The real fire in the bar was very enticing and I would gladly just go in for a glass of wine in front of the fire if I wasn't wanting a meal. The history of the hotel and its civil war skirmishes was a bonus.
Any minuses....only that the waitress didn't clear our extra glasses away and wasn't aware of the fact that we needed additional cutlery but hey merely a little niggle. The room rates were attractive too so I would also consider staying here just to eat breakfast in the oak panelled dining room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dramaqueen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledbury
0.1 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ledbury
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ledbury
101 reviews
1.0 mi away
Leadon House Hotel
Leadon House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ledbury
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
952 reviews
4.2 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#7 of 10 in Great Malvern
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel

Address: 14 New Street, Ledbury HR8 2DX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ledbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ledbury
Price Range: $82 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Hotel Ledbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing