We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful setting.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Woodland Retreat

Large raised decked balcony with outdoor seating.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large raised decked balcony with outdoor seating.
Separate double bedroom Woodland Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Large raised decked balcony with outdoor seating.
Separate double bedroom
Woodland Retreat
Set in the private woodland grounds of Massington Lodge overlooking the duck pond.
Dining table for two and full kitchen facilities
Views from the Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ledbury, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Y1756XKji...
Uckfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful setting.”
Reviewed March 23, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The house and surroundings are really beautiful and peaceful. Woodland Retreat was warm, comfortable and supplied with everything you could possibly need for your stay - including duck pellets! The bed was one of the comfiest I have ever slept in.
Suzanne and Danny were really friendly and helpful with suggestions of where to eat and park in Ledbury.
We will definitely be back, it was perfect.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2018
Thank you. It was lovely meeting you both and so glad you enjoyed your stay here . We look forward to welcoming you back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimQ9544W...
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Mid week break”
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We come back to Woodland retreat year after year. We have a great time with outstanding accomadition and Suzanne and Rod go out of there way to look after us. We will be back again very soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2017
Thank you both. Its always a pleasure to welcome you each time you come.Two very friendly guests. See you soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Awesome, a true nature gem”
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The perfect place for a quiet stay surrounded by nature. A lot of walks in Wild nature breathe Fresh air . The place is Very comfortable, well equiped And Very clean. In the outside deck you enjoy live in a Wood with its animals ducks, birds, woodpeckers...
Suzanne And Danny the hosts are So friendly And available in any Time, Fives stars service.
Merci Suzanne et Danny. Nous reviendrons sûrement.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2017
Thank you so much for the lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you both and so glad you enjoyed our English countryside.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downfromt...
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
“Back again!”
Reviewed March 5, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This is our accommodation of choice when visiting the Three Counties of Hereford, Worcs. and Glos. Charming, helpful and amenable hosts and even their feathered friends are amusing. In three minutes we watched a woodpecker, a tree-creeper, two robins, fed a couple of ducks and then a squirrel. We are sure to be back . .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 6, 2017
Thank you for review. It was so lovely to welcome you back again and so pleased you enjoyed your shared stay with all our wildlife!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William_t...
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Peaceful, idyllic setting”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Set in a woodland area with fields and open country surround the property, could not wish for a better location. The only noise to disturb visitors is an occasional train passing by on an adjacent track, once you know, it is easy to ignore.
The owners Suzanne and Danny are the nicest people who could not be more helpful, they are a great source of local knowledge about places of interest, events and restaurants.
The property s about a mile from Ledbury which is a lovely town with lots of interesting places, shops and places to eat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendliness of Suzanne and Danny
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2016
Thank you. So glad you enjoyed your return visit to Woodland Retreat. You were certainly lucky with the autumn weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suethesha...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat for wildlife lovers”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

If you need a place to slip away from the hustle and bustle, this is it. But be prepared for visitors of the feathered and furred variety! I spent a quiet time here hosted by a couple who have transformed a former industrial revolution site (a former pumphouse) near Ledbury into a delightful retreat in a Herefordshire woodland setting. The attention to detail, provisions and comfort of the one bedroom cabin were all great! Home-baked delicacies awaited me when i arrived and all help given to settle in (a short walk over a little bridge over the stream that separates the cabin from the main house necessitates carrying what you need from the car park). It was a wet and cool week in May but the main room/kitchen area, bathroom and bedroom are efficiently heated and umbrellas provided. There is a fine wooden deck where you can sit out for meals/relaxation but sadly the rain prevented me using this (and the matting by the door got very soggy in the rain so hard to keep water/leaves/mud from tracking in). Very soon after I arrived I was checked out by the local fauna - ducks and squirrels come to call so be prepared! Birdlife abounds in the local trees and the lovely garden areas bring in wildlife. The kitchen was fully equipt for self-catering and you can purchase duck eggs from the hosts (some were provided free of charge when I arrived). The Woodland Retreat cabin makes an excellent base for Ledbury close by and exploring the local towns and villages; an interesting antiques/cafe sits near the entrance to the track down to the main house and is worth a visit. Phone signal/wifi were difficult but this is a 'retreat'; access was available nearby and in Ledbury. Finding the entrance to the track was the only difficulty I had as the instructions for Massingham Lodge were a bit confusing and as I drove down from Malvern I took one wrong turn (a phone call to the owners, however, put me right) but if you look for the 'Posterity' antiques place then you find the track just nearby and it is signposted (but perhaps a bigger sign would be good). The owners were there to greet me and provide key and explain all, and were always helpful with local knowledge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful ambiance
Liked least: matting on the deck
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;