We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“beautiful....”
other travelers have booked this property
View of the cottage from the orchard (with outbuilding in foreground)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the cottage from the orchard (with outbuilding in foreground)
Upper House Cottage Cottage as seen from the lake
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
View of the cottage from the orchard (with outbuilding in foreground)
Upper House Cottage
Cottage as seen from the lake
The patio in evening sun
the wildlife pond at sunset
'farmhouse' kitchen
Kitchen through to utility room
Master bedroom
Master bedroom with en suite behind
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Lounge and woodburner with french doors to patio
Lounge with dining table behind
traditional oak beams
stable door in utility room
landing with friendly Chair Bears
landing through to bathroom
family bathroom
Welcome basket - all homemade or locally produced
Welcome cake - yummy :)
view from patio to local church
May cowslips around the lake
We've arrived!
enjoy some Upper House freshly laid eggs
2 swans that came to visit the cottage
Lots of Flora & Fauna to enjoy
curious cows in the neighbour's field
view from cottage garden gate over our field - walks from door!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ledbury, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Christine...
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“beautiful....”
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay. I stayed here with my mom and my two children. The house has been designed to have old-world charm - but it's a new house with all the modern conveniences you could possibly want. The house is spotless, and very comfortable. My children were very happy to run in the yard and jump on the trampoline, and the views from this home remind me of being a child(my mother is from this area so I have spent a fair amount of time in the UK). The fresh bread, milk and a jam cake were so very appreciated and delicious. We will be back to stay here over the next 12-18 months.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger P
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Upper House Cottage is a very special place to stay”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This was a most enjoyable holiday. The cottage is very well equipped and very comfortable. The owners are very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The location is excellent for exploring the area whatever your interests are. We have stayed in many cottages for our holidays, and this was the best yet, we hope to return as soon as possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: You felt at home as soon as you arrived.
Liked least: There was nothing that was below par
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M
Stocksfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb cottage in wonderful relaxing setting.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The quality of accommodation is excellent. The cottage has bags of character and is well furnished with lots of internal and external amenity. The owners Sarah and Jim live in the adjoining house and couldn't have been keener to ensure we had a great stay; introducing the kids to their horses, making sure we knew to make use of all the facilities (including Jim's dinghy on the pond that the boys loved).

The cottage is very well equipped and there was a parcel of goodies on arrival, disposable barbecues and lots of useful maps and info.

Ledbury is 5 mins away and is a nice small town and there is lots to do within a short drive. Puzzle wood and the butterfly zoo at Symonds Yat were big hits with the kids.

Overall a top quality cottage. We'd strongly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing feel and attention to detail
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2013
Hi Jason
We are really glad that you had a nice stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Jim & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GARRATT2
STOCTON -ON-TEES
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The wow factor”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

A lovely cottage in a lovely setting and so peaceful.
We were over the moon when we arrived,special touches
Of homemade bread,jam and a cake completed the welcome.
We felt really at home straightaway.The garden had wonderful views over
Open countryside and ideal for the barbecue.Thankyou again Sarah and Jim.
We would definitely rate this 5 stars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space inside and out.
Liked least: The tv was small but only because the tennis was on.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay at our cottage - Looking forward to seeing you again next year :) Jim & Sarah x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill J
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“'Just perfect' self catering accommodation”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Enjoyed this beautiful cottage for a week. Couldn't fault it, from the lovely welcome by the equally lovely Sarah. Complete with a basket of goodies including, bottle of local apple juice, freshly baked loaf (still warm), freshly baked sponge cake and half dozen eggs.
To the final goodbye.
Catering for six (we were four), plenty of room, storage and equipment and spotlessly clean. Nice, cosy and comfortable. Nice local walks which we did, and a little further afield, the Malvern Hills which we also accomplished tho', a bit steep, and windy up top when we got there. Worth the trek for the wonderful panoramic views.
For shopping, a short five to ten minute drive into Ledbury and Malvern around twenty minutes. Two lovely towns. All in all, a wonderful experience, thanks to Sarah and Jim.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The occasional country manure smell.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your holiday - thank you for being so appreciative of our cottage.
Sarah + Jim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udo K
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing