We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beats the boring chains”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ledbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 20 Ledbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beats the boring chains”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Why stay in characterless, standard hotels when you can enjoy a kind welcome, peace, comfort and a matchless breakfast within 4 minutes walk of the centre of Ledbury? Attention paid to all details - even guidance on places for evening meals. Highly recommended. Go on - spoil yourselves.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Mulberry room with large bathroom. Sneaked a look at the other room, which appeared e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
56
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Orchard House for 4 nights in the Mulberry room. Orchard House stands in its own ground with a very large garden to the front. The house is in a very quite location but just a five minute walk to the centre of town with its shops pubs and restaurants. We found the Mulberry very comfortable of generous size with plenty of clothe hanging space in wardrobes and draws.

We were greeted on arrival with the offer of tea which was gratefully accepted. We chose to sit in the garden next to an enclosed swimming pool. As neither of us are keen swimmers we declined the offer of a swim never the less I feel sure that this would add to the enjoyment to anyone who participates in this activity.

We managed to have a sneaky peek into the Damson during our stay whilst it was being made ready and before the arrival of new guests. This room also looked very appealing and was of good size and also overlooked the large front garden. However I would say that if available The Mulberry is probably worth the extra as has a much larger en suite, and apart from a powerful and easily adjustable shower also benefits from a full size bath. I availed myself off this enjoying a nice hot soak after returning rather damp and chill from a long and wet walk in the nearby hills.

An excellent and ample breakfast is chosen from a large and varied menu and is served in a large dining room looking out on the swimming pool. I tried various options from the menu, some of which you need to order the night before. My wife enjoyed yogurt and fruit salad whilst I went for the cooked variety from a Full English, and other days to scrambled egg and smoked salmon, or asparagus on poached egg with Hollandaise sauce. There were other options as well all served with plenty of toast, and tea or coffee.
To sum up I would say this has to be one of the nicest places we have had the pleasure of staying in. The hosts provided us with helpful local information particularly of local walks which was the purpose of our stay. If we find ourselves returning to the area we will make this our first choice of accommodation.

Room Tip: If available I would advise The Mulberry but the Damson looks very good as well. Both face the garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IansBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Excellent accommodation in a very good location, everything you could want for a comfortable stay. and John are wonderful hosts and we would recommend this B & B to everyone. They made we two Aussies feel very welcome indeed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We booked Orchard House after reading the reviews on T A.

It was within an easy walk of the metropolis of Ledbury with its good range of shops and, pubs and restaurants.

We were made most welcome and shown to our rooms which exceeded our expectations.

Large, very well appointed rooms and great "bits and pieces" that showed the attention to detail paid by Jane.

Even plenty of space in the bathroom for toiletries etc - still a rare commodity in too many B&Bs.

The breakfast menu was nicely extensive and the food was first class and substantial.

We had use of a large lounge and made to feel at home within a few nanoseconds of arriving.

Many thanks to Jane for an excellent B&B, welcome, local information and great breakfasts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredAldershot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed over Easter weekend & enjoyed a peaceful & comfortable stay. We were welcomed with a tray of tea & home made cake & settled into a prettily decorated & well equipped room. The bathroom had a huge free standing bath & large shower with lovely toiletries. The varied breakfast menu included good vegetarian options as well as the usual full English. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tibbles08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at this superb B&B, could easily have stayed a lot longer. Beautiful large bedroom, with loads of space for clothes , and loads of wooden hangers ! Very comfortable bed and wonderful bathroom..sheer luxury. Especially appreciated after plenty of walking , and Landrover Experience at Eastnor Castle. Jane was a perfect host .. wonderful homemade cakes, biscuits and exceptional choices for breakfast to suit all diets. So much attention to detail that as well as an excellent base for exploring the area... also wonderful to simply sit and relax. We would both strongly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay in this super clean, friendly Guesthouse. Mulberry room had lovely large bed, nice linen, beautifully decorated and an enormous spotless bathroom. On arrival we were offered tea and cake, also homemade shortbread in the room along with fresh milk in our fridge. Delicious breakfast with quality ingredients. Very quiet surroundings with good views from bedroom window. Very close to the town and all restaurants. There is a useful info pack about the town and the restaurants which was very good. Can recommend the Sitara curry house which did a really good value meal on Sunday and Monday evenings. All in all a great place to stay to explore the local area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acbw_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledbury
0.2 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ledbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ledbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.3 mi away
Leadon House Hotel
Leadon House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ledbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 20 in Ledbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
3.0 mi away
Woodend Farm House B&B
Woodend Farm House B&B
#7 of 20 in Ledbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
Address: South Parade, Ledbury HR8 2HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ledbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ledbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchard House is a charming Victorian property, set in an acre of walled garden with swimming pool. In a tranquil location just a few minutes walk from the historic market town of Ledbury, we are an ideal base for exploring the beautiful countryside and historic towns and villages of Herefordshire,the Malvern Hills, the neighbouring counties of Worcestershire and Gloucestershire, the Wye Valley and the southern Welsh Marches. Locally sourced breakfast, homemade bread and preserves. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orchard House Bed And Breakfast Ledbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing