We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely surprise”
Review of The Feathers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Feathers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ledbury
Certificate of Excellence
Seven Sisters, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We visited this lovely hotel by chance. We were staying in Ross on Wye and were exploring the surrounding area and came across the charming market town of Ledbury. We were looking for a bite to eat for lunch and came across this oldie worldly hotel. It has a fabulous feel when you step inside and lots of crooks and crannies where you can sit with comfortable settees. There were plenty of people dining there in a large but charming dining area. We opted for cosy settees because we were only having sandwiches but which were delicious.I would recommend this place if you are in the area looking for a bit of character.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FeathersLedbury, General Manager at The Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Margaret,

Thank you very much for your kind words on Tripadvisor.co.uk. It is always lovely to hear that people have enjoyed our hospitality.

We are very lucky to be situated in Ledbury with all of its character and interesting alleys and shops - we are spoilt by the surrounding countryside as well.

I am glad that you enjoyed a sandwich in our lounge area, hopefully next time we can tempt you down to Fuggles Brasserie or maybe to stay the night with us wile you explore the rest of Herefordshire!

Thank you again for your kind words, we hope that we can welcome you back to Ledbury sometime soon.

Best Wishes

Edward Elliston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    93
    38
    20
    7
See reviews for
54
128
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We met for coffee and stayed for lunch!
Good service from friendly, attentive, pleasant staff.
We ate from the bar menu which provided a good choice. We all enjoyed our lunch.
Good choice of drinks to accompany lunch.
Relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ledbury10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had a two night stay here with a group of friends and family to celebrate an important birthday.
We could not have picked a better place, lots of character, nice cosy bar areas with crackling fires, and the staff were very helpful but not intrusive.
We ate in Fruggles and again were not disappointed. Contemporary menu to suit all tastes in our party. Delicious food and excellent range of wine and again brilliant service.
We had an amazing stay, enjoyed exploring the town and surrounding areas and loved the Feathers!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 which was very creaky and old but full of character and cosy which we loved. Ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jake t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stourbridge
Level Contributor
242 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Visited for a long and relaxed lunch with and on the recommendation of friends more familiar with "meals out" than us, and whose choices never disappoint. They were on form as ever! Very characterful old coaching inn in the centre of attractive town, but tastefully modernized. Well patronized but did not seem too loud or claustrophobic- enough space for all so not "rubbing shoulders" with other diners. Good bar area with range of beers and excellent wine list. Modern menu- not a vast range of choice but entirely adequate and with a range of meat, fish and veggie options. Price not cheap but not excessive and reasonable value for the quality and standard of helpful, "non pushy" service. Little niggle about the wine being opened remotely and no offer to try but fortunately it was excellent anyway. Slight cock up over the bill (error in our favour- we "came clean" ). Would certainly return, maybe even include a night's stay next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Friendly efficient staff, good restaurant with a wide variety of food to suit all tastes, likewise the wine list. Service good, without being intrusive and nothing was too much trouble.
If you want to explore beautiful Herefordshire and come back to a clean relaxed hotel you'll find it here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard-de-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Came to Ledbury for an afternoon and booked lunch at the Feathers. I wasn't expecting it to be this good. The service was easy but the menu was really contemporary. I don't eat meat so bla bla I always have to make do, but the food was fantastic - really.

After lunch we sat in the bar which was very relaxing. If you want a nice meal in a traditional pub environment, then hopefully you won't be disappointed.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank blackcountrymon15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

For the second year in a row we went to the Feathers and were not disappointed. Wonderful meal in the Fuggles Bar with other diners in a festive mood, then followed by a game of "monopoly money" Black Jack and Roulette before the kilted piper at midnight.

The band seem popular but not quite to our taste, but all in all an excellent evening.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 58Helen58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledbury
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ledbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.4 mi away
Leadon House Hotel
Leadon House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ledbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
4.9 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
12.4 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers Hotel

Property: The Feathers Hotel
Address: 25 High Street, Ledbury HR8 1DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ledbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ledbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Feathers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The black and white exterior of the hotel dominates Ledbury's main street. Since Elizabethan times, this famous coaching inn has been a place to relax after a long day's travel. Gone are the days of Royal Mail coaches ferrying the country's post from Cheltenham to Aberystwyth, but still The Feathers awaits the weary traveller stopping in Ledbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Feathers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feathers Hotel Ledbury
The Feathers Hotel Ledbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing