We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limited menu = top class!!”
Review of The Feathers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Feathers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ledbury
Certificate of Excellence
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Limited menu = top class!!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Ledbury itself is a beautiful old market (?) town. We were looking for an evening meal and, whilst the menu does not offer a huge choice - often the sign of a top notch eatery -
we ordered the (only) vegetarian meal on offer. It was just divine! Very tasty falafels (pea and ?). Whilst the interior looked, to us, to be rather too up-market for us in our jeans & t-shirts, we were very comfortable on the pleasant patio. It wasn't a cheap meal, but the quality was definitely worth the extra we paid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    97
    39
    20
    7
See reviews for
55
133
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

For a property dating back c. 450 years it's not in bad shape with some beautiful architecture with character that you can only find in these types of buildings. Pay attention when the staff direct you to your room as it's a little wiggly (but very nice) Our room was a lovely double room with a more than adequate sized en-suite. If you are looking for mod cons or clean straight lines this is not the place for you however, if you are after charm & character & a teddy to welcome you into your room (he was sat on the bed) this is ideal. Breakfast was included & very yummy indeed. Bar downstairs was again very charming & welcoming. Parking at the hotel is limited not only for the number of spaces but for getting your car through the old coaching gates (we managed with our 4x4 just about) but there are plenty of spaces within 2 mins walking which back straight onto the hotel car park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EEE001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trollheim, UK
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Yet to dine in the Feathers, but i do enjoy nipping in for a drink in the bar.
The staff are always kind and helpful, even if they are very young.

Fine range of beers kept, and local Stowford cider. Sometimes i nip in if i'm staying around the corner, as i walk back from a meal up the top end of town. its really good, and really rounds the evening off.

Bar and lobby always clean and tidy, character building, it not as olde worlde as some of the other neighboring buildings. Its a classy place, even if its standing room at the bar only, or there's only a pouf to sit on.
Sometimes i just pop in as this location is great for the shops, it backs right onto the short stay car park if you know the alleyways, and it's across the street from the Talbot, it is just fine centrally located for me.
Love the buzz from a wedding party, rallying on a saturday afternoon, but beware men in strange hats - who tell the staff to keep YOUR change...

Love the location, visit the brasserie one day.

Room Tip: The rooms which i have inspected previous were very fine and clean. Alternately there are apartments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrollJagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Passing through Ledbury today we visited the Feathers excellent well priced lunch and good service, the hotel was well appointed and had a lot of old features. We will return and stay the night another time .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the feathers for two nights in June. We had high expectations given the information and pictures on the website and the price per room.

We found that over all the rooms were quite small and not well equipped . The dining experience in the restaurant was just okay but the high cost of the starters and puddings and the relatively banal product presented left us disappointed.
Overall the prices per room were just too high to warrant returning. Sorry.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tibo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FeathersLedbury, Manager at The Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear "Tibo77"

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor.com.

We are very proud of our new look website and think it gives a fair representation of what we offer here at The Feathers Hotel.

I am sorry that you found your room smaller but due to your animosity I cannot help with the specific room that you stayed in. We do have a range of rooms, some smaller, some bigger and many with unique features. Our prices reflect what we believe to be a solid range.

Finally I am surprised with your thoughts towards Fuggles. An average of £7.45 for starters and £5.95 for all puddings, including cheese is quite reasonable by todays standards. Especially when you are paying for locally sourced fresh produce, presented with care and attention.

We do hope that we can welcome you back to The Feathers Hotel, Ledbury in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Edward Elliston
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
476 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our party of four thoroughly enjoyed our meal here.

We were offered a confit duck appetiser which was very tasty.

My chicken liver & black pudding starter was very good & there were no complaints from our table about their starters.

Four Hereford beef fillet steaks followed, cooked to our particular requirements, all first class.

The chocolate platter dessert is highly recommended.

The staff were very attentive & friendly & service was impeccable.

Recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigertribal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We dined at The Feathers a few weeks back, an organised works meal. From arrival we were greeted by the friendly and helpful staff, whilst waiting to be seated at our table we enjoyed drinks in the bar/lounge area and were given time to select our meal choices. We were offered an appetiser (Lamb with tomato hummus dip) which was lovely and tender. There was a varied choice on the menu (you wouldn't find burgers or the like), I had Scallops to start and Venison as my main... the first time I'd tried either and I was very pleased with my selection. This isn't a cheap place to dine, definitely somewhere to try for a birthday or anniversary. The desserts were just as good, difficult to decide which to have. Along with the coffees that followed the meals we were given chocolate truffles and fudge! yum! Overall our party was very pleased with the experience.I would recommend The Feathers and dine here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatalieMike88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FeathersLedbury, Manager at The Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Natalie or Mike,

Thank you for your review. I am very glad that you enjoyed your time at The Feathers Hotel. We pride ourselves on our friendly and attentive staff so it is a delight to know when they are appreciated.

I am also glad that you had the chance to experience new foods with us and enjoyed them.

We very much look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to The Feathers some time in the future.

Kind Regards

Edward Elliston
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledbury
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ledbury
92 reviews
1.1 mi away
Leadon House Hotel
Leadon House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ledbury
43 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Great Malvern
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
915 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Great Malvern
126 reviews
4.1 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers Hotel

Property: The Feathers Hotel
Address: 25 High Street, Ledbury HR8 1DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ledbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ledbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Feathers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The black and white exterior of the hotel dominates Ledbury's main street. Since Elizabethan times, this famous coaching inn has been a place to relax after a long day's travel. Gone are the days of Royal Mail coaches ferrying the country's post from Cheltenham to Aberystwyth, but still The Feathers awaits the weary traveller stopping in Ledbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Feathers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feathers Hotel Ledbury
The Feathers Hotel Ledbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing