We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mixed bag...”
Review of The Feathers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Feathers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ledbury
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A mixed bag...”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have eaten at The Feathers - over a period of several years - more often than we've stayed there. When we have stayed, the accommodation has been acceptable rather than outstanding but on this occasion we were let down badly. I did only book for New Year's day a day in advance and, when shown to our room, tried not to feel unduly disappointed because I'd assumed the hotel to be almost full with guests on the New Year package so thought that we were probably quite lucky to get a room at all. Had this particular room - 2 - been the only one available, I'd have grinned and borne it but, in fact, there were only two or three others taken that evening, as I later discovered.

The bathroom is sorely in need of updating and the room itself so cramped that it should really be sold as a single. The dressing table was in poor shape and wobbled on the uneven floor quite alarmingly. A metal(?) pole inconveniently situated close to the bedside presumably gives support to the beam in the ceiling; the carpet was torn around this for some distance. The bed was acceptably comfortable, but the wardrobe's near inaccessibility was exacerbated by a faulty catch at the bottom of its left hand door that needs attention. All in all, an overpriced room to avoid and I couldn't help but wonder if this was the only example of tired accommodation in need of attention at The Feathers.

On the other hand, our lunch and dinner in Fuggles Brasserie was an utterly delightful experience throughout, as indeed it always is when we visit - food spot on, great atmosphere, efficient and attentive service, nothing too much trouble. There's a quite extensive and well thought out wine list with prices that, whilst few could be described as bargains, are by no means steep.

Breakfast in Quills was not quite up to its usual standard; service fine but coffee rather stale and food not up to customary expectations.

Overall, our experience of The Feathers is still sufficiently positive to encourage us to return, but I'll take great care to find out as much as possible about available rooms before booking one again!

So - "Average" it isn't really, but if all else came up to the standards of Fuggles, the place would be a gem!

Room Tip: Check the website (as I intend to do in a moment and wish I'd done before our last booking!) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sorabji_archive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    93
    38
    20
    7
See reviews for
54
128
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This historic hotel in a small English town could give some big name hotels around the world a few lessons in how to treat guests properly. The service here is up there with the best that we have experienced anywhere, and even outdoes the historic setting as the major reason to stay at the establishment.

Fred the night porter / barman gives a better standard of service at 2am than some 5-star international hotel chains manage in the middle of the day, and all the other staff we dealt with could not have been more helpful and obliging as well.

From the outside, this traditional old coaching inn doesn't look as if it could possibly contain a swimming pool and conference facility, along with a top class restaurant / bar and well appointed guest rooms, let alone run them all to a very high standard - so be prepared for some pleasant surprises when you explore the creaking old corridors.

Visitors from outside the UK are highly recommended to make time in their itinerary to experience this traditional hotel, which on its own is worth making the trip to Herefordshire.

UK residents looking for a great value break in a unique setting are also highly recommended to consider the Feathers Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

A characterful old building with roaring fires, creaking floorboards and exposed beams. We enjoyed very comfortable bed and peaceful room - even at the front of the hotel which is on the main road. The shower was good and the breakfast really good. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful - even when we locked ourselves in our room and had to ring for help! We enjoyed dining in the Fuggles brasserie where the food was beautifully cooked and well presented. We would certainly go back to this surprisingly good hotel in a small town.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MorrisFamily68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We visited the restaurant a few nights ago ,invited by friends ,great atmosphere ,cosy, our starters were lovely however 3 of us chose the steak which was tough and grey ,not sure where it came from or how it was cooked but it tasted like it had been boiled in a bag ,the chips were fantastic and our friend who chose the pork was very satisfied with his meal .We had were disappointed to say the least ,my steak was replaced but it was still not edible .The Feathers is has a fabulous atmosphere ,staff were friendly ,good choice of wine available ,we will visit again but will not choose the steak .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sillygillynanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have just returned from a one night stay at the Feathers Hotel in Ledbury. I can only describe the service and customer care as first rate. Nothing seemed too much trouble from the moment we arrived to the point of departure they were so obliging. The food was very good and the menu offered excellent choice. The atmosphere was relaxed. An example of their approach was that we had our dog with us and clearly couldn't eat in the restaurant, so they served us breakfast in the guests lounge area never making us feel awkward or uncomfortable. In fact the opposite, they were amazingly obliging. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys quality food, appreciates good service and seeks a civilised environment. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
129 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We usually take my Australian cousins to The Feathers when they are in this country. The ambience is very warm and welcoming from the moment you walk in through the door. It's a beautiful old building, full of character, and the crackle and glow from the open fires with the hop bines decorating the bar and Fuggles Brasserie make a wonderful atmosphere. The lay-out of the eating area means that you can eat as a romantic twosome, go with the family or have a business meal equally happily. The service is friendly and informal. We always enjoy the food. The menus are interesting and varied, with the ingredients locally sourced where possible, much of the meat coming from our favourite butcher in Ledbury. If we eat out locally, we almost invariably go to The Feathers, just because we enjoy the whole experience so much.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The warm welcome upon our arrival was just the start of a great stay. When the manager realised I had a problem accessing our proposed room he immediately took it upon himself to find a more suitable one. Each of the rooms we saw were well decorated, clean and comfortable. The bed was very comforatble. We ate in the hotel on several occassions and can only praise the quality, presentation and portions of each dish; we especially liked the fine linen and quality cutlery. Breakfast was probably the best hotel breakfast we've had in many, many years. All of the staff were friendly, helpful and anxious to please. We found the Feathers delightful and reasonable value for money - compare the room prices here with those of supposed budget chains and the Feathers comes out way ahead.

Room Tip: 5 - a fine corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledbury
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ledbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.4 mi away
Leadon House Hotel
Leadon House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ledbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
4.9 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
12.4 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers Hotel

Property: The Feathers Hotel
Address: 25 High Street, Ledbury HR8 1DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ledbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ledbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Feathers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The black and white exterior of the hotel dominates Ledbury's main street. Since Elizabethan times, this famous coaching inn has been a place to relax after a long day's travel. Gone are the days of Royal Mail coaches ferrying the country's post from Cheltenham to Aberystwyth, but still The Feathers awaits the weary traveller stopping in Ledbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Feathers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feathers Hotel Ledbury
The Feathers Hotel Ledbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing