We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a treat!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Feathers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Feathers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ledbury
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a treat!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Spent a Saturday night here in September and just loved it. Mary was fantastically welcoming and accommodating- we had a large room in the front of the hotel over-looking the high street- so at the top of the stairs which was a little niggle when noisy people came up to bed- but it was short lived. The highlight for me was the breakfast (our only meal here) which was handled with wonderfully cheerful staff- and just so beautifully done- with a tasteful buffet followed by a hot breakfast made to order just how we all fancied it!! The highlight for our 3 year old was the hot tub and pool experience pre-breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarriedZim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    91
    37
    20
    6
See reviews for
52
126
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is a really lovely hotel,its ideal if you want to pop in for a pot of tea sit near the roaring fire and read the paper.I have also been for a meal here the food was quite average to be honest.It's a shame the food was not nicer but it was a few months back so maybe they have now changed their menu . Despite this its a great place to drink in the evening with a lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

There is a limited menu, but then that is fashionable nowadays and the food was very good. Especially the burgers. At £17.50 the Ploughmans is worth it.

We ate in the 'garden'. There is a background hum from an air conditioning system which is really annoying. Two wasps took a swim in my glass of shandy.

Service was not so good. I don't see the point of bringing a ploughmans and then going back to get the bread.

Several times staff served people in the garden and went back empty handed, although there were dirty plates and glasses on the tables. In the bar, with four staff behind within my eye range not serving anyone, I stood and waited from someone to notice me.

We will explore other venues rather than return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidbsmallwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I booked one of the luxury rooms for our wedding night (room 5). The room was absolutely gorgeous and very cosy. Living area with a big tv, bathroom with all the basics you need, tea, coffee and hot chocolate making facilities!

The only minor complaint I'll make is about the bed. On first sight, it's huge and very luxurious looking. But when actually getting into bed we noticed it was actually two beds pushed together which resulted in it having a very hard groove down the middle which you couldn't lie on. We ended up literally sleeping on separate sides of the bed (not what you want on your wedding night). If it weren't for that minor problem I would easily give this place 5 stars.

The staff were very helpful on check-in and check-out and the friendly gentleman on night shift very kindly let us in at around midnight. Can't comment on the breakfast as we had a rather long lie in and missed it. Overall, a lovely hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elp1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Visited the Feathers in Ledbury today for lunch, if i had wanted to eat my lunch on my lap in a corridor we would have saved our money and had a sandwich from the bakery and ate it under the market house !!
The place was not busy, we were given two menus the salad I ordered was on the restaurant menu and my partner ordered off the lunch menu.
we were informed after we ordered and paid, even though the restaurant was virtually empty we would have to sit in the bar, looking around there was no tables free (they only have 2 of normal height in the whole bar) so we waited until the food was ready in case one became available. The food came out and they sat us at a tiny coffee table in a walk though, we said this wasnt really acceptable, so they walked us and the food round and about into another room and offered a sofa with another couple sat down at the other end and said they would move the table lamp off it !
We opted for the first option, the table was so low it was below my knees, it was uncomfortable and tiny and I could cut my food up without bending double, my partner was having the same problem, it would have been fine with sandwiches but for food you need to cut up it was very awkward, after a few minutes of attempting eat, we asked for another table, a barman grabbed another marginally taller coffee table from another room and shuffled all the food and drinks over !
To conclude, £40 for a light lunch of no particular quality and a soft drink each, left me rather disappointed and with indigestion ! table not included !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stowfordsenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

We were in Ledbury for a wedding and I booked this on the basis of other reviews. In all respects, I found the hotel outstanding. Checking in (much too early) we were well looked after with coffees while we waited for our room and reception helpfully sorted us out a taxi to the wedding (apparently hard to come by in Ledbury ). We had a very pretty room in the main wing of the hotel which was spotless . I have to say I was struck by how immaculate every part of the hotel was - clearly the staff have their eye on the ball in every department. Breakfast was fresh and excellent and the dining room was charming. I would come back to pretty Ledbury just to stay here again .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LissyBtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

From the moment I walked in the service was exceptional. The room was very roomy and lovely decorated, nice large bathroom. Just a little pricey, but otherwise great. Bistro had good food and service too.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledbury
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ledbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.4 mi away
Leadon House Hotel
Leadon House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ledbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
4.9 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
12.4 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 13 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers Hotel

Property: The Feathers Hotel
Address: 25 High Street, Ledbury HR8 1DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ledbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ledbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Feathers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The black and white exterior of the hotel dominates Ledbury's main street. Since Elizabethan times, this famous coaching inn has been a place to relax after a long day's travel. Gone are the days of Royal Mail coaches ferrying the country's post from Cheltenham to Aberystwyth, but still The Feathers awaits the weary traveller stopping in Ledbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Feathers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feathers Hotel Ledbury
The Feathers Hotel Ledbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing