We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel and facilities.”
Review of The Feathers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Feathers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ledbury
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel and facilities.”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Went here to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. Its the same hotel we stayed in for the first night of our honeymoon. The hotel and facilities were great. The room was spacious and we had the pool to ourselves. My only complaint would be that, as it was the same weekend as the Diamond Jubilee celebrations, they had a party in the courtyard of the hotel. This meant we couldn't park there (which we had been informed about before we left home), we parked in a nearby car park and walked in the pouring rain to the hotel. I also felt as if we were gatecrashing their party a bit and it was an inconvenience to check us in. We had to wait ages at reception to be seen by someone, our check in was rushed through and we had no information given to us about where the pool was or when we could use it etc. This meant a second trip to the reception desk when we found we needed a card to access the spa area and another long wait at reception. However that said the staff were always friendly and the breakfast was lovely!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    93
    38
    20
    7
See reviews for
54
128
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

The whole hotel has an upmarket feel and seems well run. Room was really nice, has an olde world feel without being ann twacky.
It is a genuine historic building, good atmosphere.
Fairly expensive, but you could easily pay more and get less

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank r4m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I chose this venue for our wedding reception because of its reputation in the county. And it certainly did not disappoint. If anyone is thinking of where to book their wedding then I'd say book here. You will not be disappointed. Everything in the past year from arranging to the day itself was flawless and Mary (management and assisting us with our wedding) was incredibly helpful from the start. We didn't know where to start when it came to organising our wedding but her passion and knowledge for this business just made the whole lead up and day run like clockwork. She was flexible to our needs also.

The staff were superb, incredibly hard working and polite. Edward (management) was superb in the evening as well. The staff could not do enough for us - at breakfast as well. Just goes to show the level of service and professionalism. The high level of service was not just confined to our wedding reception, This is how they are 100% of the time.

I have read a few reviews about the cost of the food and rooms at this hotel. First of all the cost of our reception was extremely reasonable. No room hire charge, nor waiter service charge - all we paid for was exactly what we ate and drink. Considering all the hard work Mary and the staff did in setting out our room at Quills, taking time in assisting us to organise it you will genuinely not get much better value for money. We looked at other venues that were not in the same league of quality as The Feathers and they were offering far less for an awful lot more money. The quality of the food was outstanding and everyone of our party particularly expressed their liking for the food. Breakfast was also excellent. The cost of the rooms may seem a little higher than the average hotel room, but with this you get unprecedented character, charm and pure uniqueness that I have never seen at any other hotel. If you want cheap then stay at the Travelodge in Hereford. But if you want character, charm, quality food & service then look no further than The Feathers.

We had Eve's Cottage for 2 nights and this place is a little gem. If you want to treat yourself then I highly recommend this,

We didnt use the health spa ourselves but others in our party did and thoroughly enjoyed it.

So to conclude, if you are thinking of where to have your wedding (they have a licence for this too), or just a meal/weekend away then do not look past The Feathers. Thank you again.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickolai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

A little gem of a restaurant ... during the day the Fuggles brasserie is the focus of activity in the hotel. Warm log fires, friendly local staff and a broad wide-ranging menu. Strong, flavoursome meats - Herefordshire beef, Monmouthshire duck and Woodland pork ... as well as fish, salads and lighter bites. Accommodating chef, excellent wine list (extensive) and great value for money. We managed two courses and four glasses of wine (to try the list!) for £84.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenIre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

What a fantastic old historic building. The breakfast was exceptionnal too. Unfortunately our room was dated in 1980s way (I would have preferred 1780s in this hotel). The prints, wallpaper, carpets, light fittings and lamps are just not nice and certainly do nothing for the old building.

I felt the price of B&B for a three star hotel out of high season a bit excessive. If the room had been better I would not have minded. In the centre of Ledbury there is not much choice so I suppose that is what you pay.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

First and foremost, I really enjoyed this hotel. It is full of olde worlde charm. Lots of winding staircases and uneven floors so if you in any way disabled you would need to check which room you are put in but overall very nice. The food in the on-site brasserie was excellent also as were the breakfasts and the staff were really friendly and helpful. I also really liked Ledbury - a very pretty and interesting little town set in some lovely countryside.

The only minus and the reason why I have give 4 stars rather than 5 is that I felt that the prices were just a bit higher than justified compared with other hotels of a similar quality.

That said, if you can get a deal or don't mind paying that bit extra, a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms are definately not wheelchair accessible - check with the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I was one of 9 of us who decided to meet for lunch at The Feather's in the delightful town of Ledbury. This was a chance for me to join the others for a school reunion among a group of us who went to school in Wolverhampton and who meet up occasionally when possible. On a cold blustery day in February the medieval oak-beamed venue was warm and inviting with good cafetiere coffee and drinks to warm us up. The menu was good local produce and of high quality and the open-fired restaurant full of happy people very enjoyable. I had the chicken lives and Woodland roast pork and thus was a fine combination of starter and main. The staff were all friendly and efficient and all was value for money. The hotel looks inviting and boasts a heated indoor pool so I shall definitely be coming back to try more!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suetheshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledbury
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ledbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.4 mi away
Leadon House Hotel
Leadon House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ledbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
4.9 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
12.4 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers Hotel

Property: The Feathers Hotel
Address: 25 High Street, Ledbury HR8 1DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ledbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ledbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Feathers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The black and white exterior of the hotel dominates Ledbury's main street. Since Elizabethan times, this famous coaching inn has been a place to relax after a long day's travel. Gone are the days of Royal Mail coaches ferrying the country's post from Cheltenham to Aberystwyth, but still The Feathers awaits the weary traveller stopping in Ledbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Feathers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feathers Hotel Ledbury
The Feathers Hotel Ledbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing