We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too Many Negatives, Not Enough Positives!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Horse Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bay Horse Inn
Ranked #14 of 37 Hereford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Too Many Negatives, Not Enough Positives!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Bay Horse Inn is a low budget, average, B&B where you get what you pay for.

When we arrived at 1pm we went into the restaurant and spoke to a man who took us to our room, until we walked towards the outer residential building and the maid was still in our room doing ironing, and so was instructed by the man to move room's. We were forced to wait a couple of minutes before we could enter our room and so we went and collected our cases.

On first viewing of the bedroom (Room 1 - Family Room), it seemed well equipped - TV, hairdryer, kettle, towels etc. However, as we looked a bit closer it became more disappointing. First of all the light switches weren't working until we informed a member of staff & they collected a card which is used to turn on the lights from the main building which the previous gentleman hadn't bothered to provide us with. When I sat down on the bed it immediately felt very damp, along with the towels which were even worse, most likely because they hadn't been dried in time from the previous guests.

When I unfolded the towels provided on the end of the bed (that were damp), they had numerous holes, tears and splits in them (as shown in the photo) - I was not impressed. I knew the price was cheap, but as a paying guest you would at least expect that they could afford to buy new towels if they had holes throughout them making them almost impossible to use.

Thankfully our evening meal was a bit more promising as the food was good, and the portions were large. The restaurant was very busy and had a nice atmosphere to it and it was a very enjoyable evening.

Once we returned to our room we decided to go to bed. This was when I was concerned about the cleanliness of the room - on the bedstead was two rather large, round, sweat marks just above where each person rests their head, this I found unpleasing and so I made sure I moved down in the bed a bit to prevent myself from touching it (also shown in photo). The duvet was also very lumpy and had not been shaken out to its full potential by the maid.

Eventually we turned the lights off hoping to forget about the disappointing room, but a rather bright green light on the ceiling lit up the whole room keeping me awake for almost 40 minutes until I put on of the two pillows over my head, which then revealed a pubic hair on the bed sheets under my pillow. Anyway, I almost resorted to covering the green light with a towel, but it was then I realised it wouldn't work due to the holes and tears, thus making no difference to the distribution of light throughout the room. Along with the light keep me awake, was the loud thumping of music coming from the main building which I heard, being one of the furthest rooms away.

The next morning I went on my laptop to check on my emails. The internet connection worked for 3 minutes, until I could no longer connect and it did not work which annoyed me. Furthermore, I went to use the toilet and it is placed so close to the wall (3 inches) that you could barely manoeuvre about, making it feel quite claustrophobic.

After the last evening's meal I was expecting breakfast to be another positive of my time at the Bay Horse, and although the food was ok, there were some more problems. The coffee & tea cups provided on the table were dirty and had rings inside from where the previous user had not finished their drink, luckily I was able to swap it with another one, otherwise I'd have been sticking to orange juice. There were also several flies buzzing their way around the room, constantly landing on food and plates. Furthermore, the room was awkwardly silent with no music playing, especially when you had to walk across the very sticky floor.

I must say, I was glad to be going home after staying in this B&B. It was a shame that we weren't treated with the 'AA 4 Star Service' as the inspector in the room's leaflet was, who said he was offered by staff for them to carry his luggage etc, of which we were not. It seems the Bay Horse enjoys showing off its glamorous 4 star's, but doesn't actually put it into practice when it comes to its average guests. Next time I'll stick to the more pleasing service of the Premier Inn, which I would have booked with for this trip, unfortunately everyone else agree's with me and so booked there making it fully booked, leaving me to book the Bay Horse as a last resort!

Room Tip: Book on lower floor as hard to carry suitcases up staircase (no lift)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelerUK2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    29
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
27
28
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Very good choice on the menu, from posh meals like Salmon or Lobster to toasted sandwiches there is something for everyone. Excellent quality. Lovely bright conservatory and outdoor garden area. Visit, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HerefordFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

The room was large, clean and extremely comfortable. My wife's only complaint was the lack of full-length mirror. My wife and I stayed for one night to attend a function so we didn't experience the dinner menu but breakfast was very good and the service top class. Definitely top of my list places to stay in or near Hereford.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 470John470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Had a very pleasant evening at The Bay Horse dining with friends.
The restaurant was not very busy so we virtually had the place to ourselves.
The ambience is nice in this restaurant and the layout very good.
The choice on the menu was fine, not a great deal of choice for vegetarians though.
The food we had was very tasty and served promptly and efficiently.
Everyone in my group enjoyed their dinner and a few chose desserts which did look home made, which at over four pounds a head would need to be in my estimation.
Would not hesitate to return to this restaurant as we had a very good evening.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubberband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at the Bay Horse for the weekend as we were visitng Family and found it an excellent place to stay. The rooms were large and airy, very clean and comfortalble and the Food was also excellent, both the evening meal and breakfast with plenty for the hearty appetites.
We will definitely stay at the Bay Horse next time we are visiting our Family.
Pat and Brian.

Room Tip: No.5 was our room which we found very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just had a long weekend here with friends.
Couldn't fault it. Everyone was friendly and efficient, rooms were good value for money and very clean.
Menu was good and as there were 6 of us we tried quite a variety of meals, everything we had was great. Breakfast was excellent as well.
We left the cars in the car park and caught the bus into Hereford from the stop almost outside.
Certainly one to recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auntybuttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frontignan, France
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Lovely clean modern comfortable rooms, great bar snacks and restaurant meals, very correctly priced. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff here and you are made to feel like you belong there. Also fantastic breakfast and oh I nearly forgot the well stocked bar completes the scene. What else does one need?

Room Tip: We like No1
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hereford hotels
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
2.3 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 13 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 13 in Hereford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#5 of 13 in Hereford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holly House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Horse Inn

Property: Bay Horse Inn
Address: 236 Kings Acre Road, Hereford HR4 0SD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Western side of Hereford on the picturesque Kings Acre Road the Bay Horse Inn offers 4 AA Star Accommodation. A selection of en suite rooms including doubles, twins, disabled access, small family and large family rooms. The Award Winning Restaurant serving locally sourced Home Cooked Cuisine seven days per week until 9pm. The lounge bar has a great selection of real ales and local ciders, wines, soft drinks and spirits. Friendly staff and great local attractions makes the Bay Horse Inn the place to stay in Hereford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bay Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing