We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good portions and nice puds”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #115 of 254 Restaurants in Hereford
Price range: $40 - $49
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good portions and nice puds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Ate here for the first time in ages. Sat on the indoor terrace with plenty of air and nice views.
We stopped coming a while ago when we had got bored with the menu. It is similar but the old favourites of smokies and Stilton mushrooms are still there. These are much recommended but as we know the portion size we elected not to have a starter.
The menu does offer choice from lamb casserole to omelette. We ate rump steak. It was a little tough but had good taste. The homemade chips were excellent and garlic potatoes went down well.
The pudding were reasonably priced and were homemade. The chocolate and Cointreau mousse was lovely and the key lime pie tangy.
Nice to see a jug of water on the table. House wine well priced too.
A nice setting and good service if a little slow on the bill. We will return soon

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ohnonotbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    4
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great food, great service, polite courteous staff, great surroundings. This family run business is a credit to the whole team and they made my meal thank you

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arthur s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Had a family meal here last night, have eaten here before as a couple and with friends and always had excellent food. Food last night was excellent unfortunately starters and main course were so good and we were so full we could not make dessert we will have to try and eat a little less next time as we will definitely be returning.

The service was excellent as always they are so attentive we were brought a jug of water to the table without requesting it and it was topped as we needed it this I find happens at very few restaurants these days and you always seem to have to ask for it. The fresh bread brought just before the starters was a really lovely touch.

Many thanks again for a great meal and service

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 137AndrewW137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Dinner on the terrace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

What a very pleasant evening meal! We sat outside on the terrace (unusual for us, as we are more used to Aussie flying things in the outside environment) and really enjoyed it! The food didnt pretend to be haute cuisine but there was a good choice, what arrived at the table was tasty and the portion sizes were generous (so generous that my choice of two starters was perfectly filling). Service was excellent. It was alo nice to see an English wine on the menu! I'd be very happy to go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Backpackinggranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Staff are very friendly and helpful. We recently visited this restaurant for a 50th Birthday family meal. This was a three course carvery. They have a number of selections for starters, the main course - the meat was prepared well, the food was hot and tasty. There was a good selection for desserts and if you are too full, they will put your dessert into a take away box. As the weather was really good, we then went into the garden for coffee and more drinks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WelshLady60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River Bed Wye Leisure also viewed

Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Madley, Hereford
 

Been to The River Bed Wye Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing