We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely weekend in a pigsty”
other travelers have booked this property
Accessible, spacious, detached, private.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Accessible, spacious, detached, private.
All on one level (just two stairs up to the spa bathroom) King-size bedroom and separate dressing area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Accessible, spacious, detached, private.
All on one level (just two stairs up to the spa bathroom)
King-size bedroom and separate dressing area
Bags of room
Couples' spa / jacuzzi bath
Separate lounge with doors opening to private gardens and patio.
Fully equipped with dishwasher and washer /  dryer.
Park right outside.
12 miles to Ross on Wye
3 miles south of Hereford.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hereford, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sandra M
1 review
“Lovely weekend in a pigsty”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

Lovely, peaceful, relaxing break. The owners were very welcoming but didn't bother us at all and provided an excellent information folder (do read it). Large private garden, accommodation well-equipped with everything you need and absolutely spotless. Great location, rural, but only 3 miles from the centre of Hereford - taxi costs less then £10 if you fancy going in town for a meal and a drink. Ideal for self catering as there's a large supermarket close by.
Will definitely be returning, hopefully the weather will be as kind to us next time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2018
Thank you for a super review; I can’t tell you how happy it makes us feel when guests validate our lovely piggy place. So pleased that you had a great time.
Hope to see you again soon. Wishing you both well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janemcara
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We finally made it back........!”
Reviewed April 10, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We stayed here back in 2015 and always wanted to return so we booked the Easter weekend this year. The Piggery was even better than we remembered it and it was just like coming home with every little detail taken care of. Spotlessly clean and beautifully appointed, we simply love this very special piggy place. Highly recommended to all those wanting to get away from it all and enjoy totally privacy and peace in a wonderful rural location but still have amenities close by.
Another wonderful stay. See you again Piggery!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2018
It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you back to The Piggery and we are very grateful for all your super recommendations.
Even though we have just retained our FOUR STAR GOLD Visit England standards award for the 3rd year running it's reassuring to know that your latest experience was every bit as good as the first time you stayed. Thank you both so much and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_bethgrac...
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing place!!”
Reviewed February 23, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We absolutely loved our stay here! We didn't want to leave on our last day! Absolute 5 star experience, would highly recommend staying here.
Luxury isn't in short supply here! The spa bath is amazing, so relaxing! The Piggery isn't short of anything you could think of for your stay, we found DVD's, TV's, there was a radio/CD player and CD's as well as tea and coffee. We really found it a home from home, such a peaceful setting! We watched the sunset from the outdoor hut and enjoyed exploring the grounds!
Definitely would stay here again and would recommend if you're looking for a relaxing stay in luxury!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2018
We are so very grateful for your lovely review of The Piggery. As one of our first guests of this 2018 season, we are thrilled that you found it all in tip-top condition and hope that you left with your batteries fully recharged. 'Jabba the Hut' is a firm favourite with our guests and we're thrilled that you caught sight of a magical sunset. Thank you both so very much for being the perfect Piggery guests! Wishing you well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Start to 2018”
Reviewed January 18, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just arrived home after our round trip seeing family “up north” and stayed in many places on our wonderful trip. Our best stay by far was at The Piggery. We didn’t want to leave your luxury secluded haven. Thank you for spoiling us Kate and making our stay such a wonderful experience. We WILL be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 22, 2018
It was a real pleasure to meet you both and we know just how much you loved The Piggery. Thank you for being the perfect guests! We have already received your return booking for this year so we'll see you later in the summer. Until then, wishing you well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serialrev...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meh...”
Reviewed January 10, 2018 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Outrageous price for what is included. No curtains in bedroom, bedsheets rough to touch. Didn't have a good night's sleep during the time we were there. You will be charged for any minor breakages even though the place costs way to much for what it is. Definitely not worth the £600+ price tag for the week. AVOID. Much better is available in the area at a fraction of the price. Best thing about this place is the garden that was absolute heaven but even then we felt like we had no privacy as Kate's home is right next door!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2018
We are not surprised that you would respond in this juvenile manner, given the fact that we had to issue court proceedings against you for the outrageous catalogue of MAJOR damage sustained to our beautiful property during your stay.
Thankfully, our usual standard of guests are respectful, responsible and reliable who appreciate the finer things in life and know how to behave. We note that you posted and shared many wonderful comments about The Piggery on your social media pages during your stay so we find any negative comments made at this time to be purely a knee-jerk reaction to the legal process that you forced us to pursue in order to recoup the hundreds of pounds worth of costs to put things back to excellent order after you vacated.
There is well over an acre and a half of private grounds for the sole use of our Piggery guests, much of which is totally secluded and very private. We agree with your comment that it is ‘heaven’ – it is such a shame that you couldn’t bring yourself to respect it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaelan...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Accommodation in a Perfect Setting”
Reviewed October 28, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We booked 4 nights Monday to Friday at The Piggery, we were looking for somewhere quiet which was a good base to explore the surrounding area and The Piggery fitted this perfectly. On arrival we were met by Kate who showed us around the property and explained how everything worked. There were some lovely touches such as the Welcome card, fresh flowers and bottle of fizz, we didn’t even have to worry about tea, milk, coffee or sugar as these were supplied along with some other basics to start us off.

The accommodation was of the highest standard, tastefully decorated and very spacious, the living room looked out onto a huge garden that always had lots of wild life activity going on.

We would highly recommend The Piggery for those who are looking for a peaceful place to stay in a property of a superior standard and set in a fantastic location.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2017
Absolutely delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in our little oasis of calm. Thank you so much for this wonderful review. It means so much to us when couples take the time to write about The Piggery; we are ever so grateful for all your kind words. Wishing you all the very best for the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hereford Holiday Haven”
Reviewed August 26, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

"These little piggies went to market". We loved that we could walk on the public footpath starting at the end of the accommodation driveway into Hereford through newly harvested fields and along the Great western way. We were perfectly placed to visit the nearby market towns of Ross-on-Wye and Hay-on-Wye and further afield Ludlow. The property is also conveniently located for a good handful of National Trust places. Abergavenny and Worcester are both within less than an hour's reach.

"These little piggies stayed at home". And why wouldn't we, with spotlessly clean, luxury accommodation as described? We loved the many and varied seating areas, the quality furnishings and colour choices, the spaciousness of the living area and its open aspect onto the private garden. It really felt like home for our two week stay.

"These little piggies had roast beef". The owners, Kate and Sandy, really know their area and gave some spot on recommendations for eating out. Dining in was so easy with Hereford's many supermarkets, the market towns' deli's and the well-equipped kitchen back at home.

"These little piggies had none". Recommendations for improvement, that is. The owners passion for creating a very special experience is all too clear and very much appreciated.

"And these little piggies went "wee, wee, wee", all the way home!" and gave a well-deserved Excellent rating on TripAdvisor. Kate and Sandy are quite simply the most generous hosts - generous with their facilities and provisions, their time and their recommendations.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2017
A superb review and beautifully written too! We couldn't have asked for anything more from such fantastic Piggery guests! An absolute pleasure to have met you both. Wishing you well for all your future plans.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing