We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming stay in a stylishly converted Piggery!”
other travelers have booked this property
Accessible, spacious, detached, private.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Accessible, spacious, detached, private.
All on one level (just two stairs up to the spa bathroom) King-size bedroom and separate dressing area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Accessible, spacious, detached, private.
All on one level (just two stairs up to the spa bathroom)
King-size bedroom and separate dressing area
Bags of room
Couples' spa / jacuzzi bath
Separate lounge with doors opening to private gardens and patio.
Fully equipped with dishwasher and washer /  dryer.
Park right outside.
12 miles to Ross on Wye
3 miles south of Hereford.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hereford, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TATravell...
Chelmsford
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Charming stay in a stylishly converted Piggery!”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The website describes this cottage perfectly - stylish, exceptionally comfortable and spacious with a lovely private garden. It is well located for trips around Herefordshire and into the neighbouring Welsh counties. In the countryside, just outside Hereford and with a choice of supermarkets close by including a Waitrose in Hereford itself. Not a single negative apart from the fact that it was so warm and cosy we had no legitimate excuse to use the wood burning stove!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2016
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at The Piggery. Thank you so much for a lovely review. Wishing you both well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hnewc
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A happy little piggy”
Reviewed February 22, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

My boyfriend and I have just returned from the piggery and what a place it was. The attention to detail was incredible with facilities to stay from a night to a fortnight. The Piggery felt like more than just a base to explore from-enjoying a wine in front of the log burner and in the jacuzzi bath both nights! Of course there are lots of places to visit near by-we were lucky enough to fit in some mountain biking along with many mooches around different quaint towns. The owners provided more than enough information on the local areas to suit all tastes. We would highly recommend this quirky little find to anyone of any age as it simply is gorgeous. Our only qualm was that we couldn't connect to the wifi at all which could have been handy (for searching for cycle hire etc.) as we didn't have phone signal either with being in the hills. Again, one of the cosiest relaxing places we have rented and hopefully we'll be returning one day! Thank you for a fantastic stay (Andrew now wants to buy a Piggery of his own!!!)

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2016
Thank you both for a wonderful review - we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. However, we're mortified to learn that you couldn't connect to the Wi-Fi as this has never been an issue before. We can only apologise for this and sincerely hope it didn't ruin your stay; so very sorry for any inconvenience. Thank you for bringing it to our attention as we will now investigate. Huge thanks. Wishing you both well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon E
1 review
“Excellent accommodation in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The Piggery - what a find!
Very comfortable - a real home from home. All the facilities one would require and ideal for people with disabilities as there are only two small steps into the bathroom. The owners, Kate and Sandy, are very kind and helpful, and we were welcomed with a nice bottle of "fizz"! The grounds are beautifully kept.
We would highly recommend The Piggery to any couple.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: The fact that we couldn't stay longer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2015
What a pleasure it was to meet you both. Your comments mean so much to us as we develop our business; thank you. Wishing you both well for the new year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James A
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, great comfort, and fully equipped”
Reviewed October 21, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We loved this find in rural Herefordshire a couple of miles outside Hereford. An extremely well equipped spacious rental set in lovely grounds. Very quiet and beautiful. A lot of thought has gone into this modern conversion retaining character yet inserting many modern features. Lovely and warm with easy lit wood stove. Plenty of space. We stayed 3 nights, but a week would have been great. Loved the area. Lots of walking and visited many nearby towns and villages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great kitchen
Liked least: wi-fi was weak at times.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2015
Thank you for such a terrific review. We are very proud of The Piggery and love to hear about couple's really enjoying it. So pleased you made good use of the wood-burner too and hope it has persuaded you to install one at home. Thanks so much again. Wishing you both well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina...
Norton Canes, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mre”
Reviewed October 18, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed at the piggery for a long weekend 2-5th October, WOW what can I say this place is truly amazing and definitely a retreat, will definitely be returning thanks to Kate for the warm welcome and restoring this truly beautiful building X

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2015
So very pleased that you were able to relax and enjoy the privacy of The Piggery. Hope to see you again. Wishing you both well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
“You won't find anywhere better than this!”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We moved house recently and stayed at the Piggery for a week before our furniture was delivered to our new property. Choosing the Piggery was the best decision we have ever made when looking for a self catering cottage. Not only did the Piggery offer superb accommodation for two (lots of space spread over four separate rooms; spick and span after its recent conversion; comfortable lounge and bedroom furniture; character features; a modern kitchen and bathroom with shower over bath; and all the facilities and equipment you are ever likely to need), but it also had a pleasant countryside setting about four miles from Hereford city centre, and lots of garden space for residents (and rabbits) to enjoy.

But the icing on the cake for us was the helpfulness and pleasantness of our hosts Kate and Sandy, who went out of their way to assist us in all sorts of ways. They were happy to leave us to our own devices for most of the time, but whenever we approached them for advice or assistance they bent over backwards to do all they could to help. They clearly understood the pressures we were under as they had moved house themselves in the recent past, and they did whatever they could to make life easier for us at such a stressful time. We can't thank them enough, and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Piggery to any couple looking for a self catering stay in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely accommodation, and marvellous hosts.
Liked least: Have to mind your head in a couple of places.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2015
Thank you both so much for your lovely comments. We are delighted to have helped you at such a stressful time and so pleased The Piggery offered you some peace and quiet during your time of massive upheaval.
Wishing you many happy times in your new home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Self indulgence in a calm oasis of beauty”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a charming find The Piggery is. A beautifully modernised piggery building which stills retains its main features and character, but is now a modernised, contemporary building for two with plenty of space.

Set in acres of beautiful countryside. With two adjoining paddocks (no horses or pigs of any kind), we were spoiled for quiet enjoyment of our rural surroundings. Do we indulge cooking something local in the kitchen or eat out and return to a log-burning stove and a glass or two of fizz? The spa bath is so relaxing and perfect for a couple's retreat. What a choice!

The piggery is next to a renovated, separate cow shed or barn where our hosts live. Friendly, welcoming we didn't need to ask for anything because no detail has been overlooked.

Top tips - visit Hereford (3 miles) for shops and restaurants, or Hay-on-Wye for books shops, antiques, ice-cream (15 minutes by car) but leave a good half day to explore.

Fabulous, calm, self indulgent luxury. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: For the experience to end
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2015
Thank you both. You certainly picked the perfect weekend with super weather for you to enjoy this beautiful part of the world. Really happy that you enjoyed your stay at The Piggery. See you again in October.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;