We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, just something missing”
Review of Ponte Vecchio

Ponte Vecchio
Ranked #22 of 255 Restaurants in Hereford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $38
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A family run Italian trattoria with a small menu serving traditional and modern Italian meals. We are particularly well known for our ever changing gelato selection.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food, just something missing”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Perhaps the most authentic Italian restaurant in Herefordshire, the choice of food, with the regional variations (Sardinia when we visited) makes it hard to grumble. Equally, we had a very good bottle of Prosecco. But there is just something missing here. It just needs a bit of softening somehow, a few bob spent on carpets and decor - I find it hard to comprehend that Im bothered by this, but the lack of ambience does get to you. But foodies - don't be put off - you will have to travel an hour from Hereford for better authentic Italian cuisine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    50
    20
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fethiye, Turkey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a friendly family run restaurant. The food was good and the wine was very good. My husband's steak with capers and anchovy sauce was tender and tasty. Fish was off the menu because it was a Thursday as our host was unable to source fresh produce locally. I wish more restaurants would do that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Good food and a friendly welcome...but the place lacks ambience...and the loos are about 20 years out of date:-) but clean. I'd not rush back but it was good value.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank FraserSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“So close to being excellent”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

A lovely Italian restaurant with great service, a decent menu and wine list. The only disappointment was my starter of Mozzarella and Tomato Salad was a little bland. Maybe an olive oil better than a supermarket brand served in the bottle it was purchased would have lifted the dish. By contrast, my other half's starter of Mushrooms in a White Wine and Garlic sauce was heaven. Our main courses were White and Black Truffle Risotto and Gorgonzola Gnocchi. Both delicious. Portions were generous and as a result we couldn't manage deserts. The restaurant had good atmosphere and service was nicely paced and not intrusive. Overall a very good evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service, food mediocre”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Went for dinner here with the Mrs whilst staying in Hereford, a recommendation of the hotel.

To start, she chose bruschetta, I chose garlic bruschetta (posh garlic bread it seems). Unfortunately the bruschetta came laden with red onion as well as tomatoes, which the Mrs does not like, so we had to swap. I quite enjoyed it, but the Mrs did not enjoy the garlic thing which was swimming in melted butter, a bit too much.

My main course was ravioli with spinach and ricotta, with some spicy sausage. Unfortunately this was spoiled by way too much cream, making it too rich. The Mrs chose fish wrapped in pancetta (or was it parma ham?). Anyway, the saltiness was overpowering and the thing on the plate she enjoyed the most was the roast potatoes.

Service was impeccable throughout and we did not wait for anything and were made to feel very welcome.

Unfortunately the food was not up to scratch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponte Vecchio also viewed

Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Been to Ponte Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing