We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and great service”

Jalsagor Restaurant
Ranked #64 of 254 Restaurants in Hereford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Craven Arms, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We've eaten at Jalsagor many times and always find superb food and service.
Although we always prebook, there is often a short wait for a table. This is especially so at weekends but it's busy every night. Surely the sign of a great restaurant.
Really good food and good size servings served by courteous and attentive staff assure you of a good meal every time.
I would definately recommend Jalsagor to anyone enjoying Indian cuisine.
Remember that it will be very busy, so if you're looking for a quiet and romantic meal, go very early in the evening or later at night to miss the bulk of the other diners.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank youkillemwechillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    40
    21
    14
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really good Indian”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Wonderful food, great choice and reasonable prices. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Gets busy so be prepared.

Helpful?
1 Thank Allan0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Satisfying food; the place could be run better”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Gastronomically, Hereford seemed like a paradox to us in our recent visit - given the renown of the cattle breed that bears its name, and given its apple cider, we would have expected it to be a foodie town. But we had hard time finding a place for dinner that excited our imagination. Eventually we settled on this Bengali restaurant on the eastern part of the city center.

We ordered two main dishes, including their signature dish; a side of vegetables, rice and naan. All dishes were tasty, portions were ample, and prices were reasonable. Tonight the place was very popular, and as the restaurant filled in, we thought, the staff became less and less able to cope with the crowd. The service, initially polite and pleasant, became harried and inattentive; we had a big time gap between being given a dessert menu and catching a waiter's attention to make an order. (The desserts were generic - we have seen exactly the same menu at another Indian restaurant in quite another town.) Similar for trying to catch someone's attention to pay the bill.

By no means an unpleasant night-out and the place "did" for us; would go back for food, but for an *early* dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WWWandLBOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely food. Excellent service”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The waiter was very knowledgable and spent a fair time going through the menu and helping us to choose something. Food was excellent and good value. Service was outstanding.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“IMHO - THE BEST INDIAN RESTAURANT IN HEREFORD !!!!!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I've been to the Jalsagor many times and have had their excellent food as a take away! The menu is rich and varied and the cooking always excellent. If you order the same dish - it arrives cooked the same as before, tastes the same and is as good as ever. However I usually order a different dish every time I go there.

The waiters are helpful, polite and efficient, the orders are right rather than almost right. The helpings are generous, tasty and hot as described or as hot as you ask for. The extras are spot on, chapattis and naan breads are very good - try the variety of filled naan instead of the plain ones. Rice is right but I usually chose breads.

I can't speak too highly about the Jalsagor - not the cheapest but not expensive - I've tried several of the other Indian restaurants and none come close to the Jalsagor.

I highly recommend the take aways - order by phone and collect if you live near, I do. If you want it delivered it arrives by taxi and usually quite quickly.

Not only do you have the excellent The Barrels opposite but don't forget The Victory just down the road. It has its own brewery and their draft beers are excellent. If you haven't seen the bar at The Victory you're missing a treat.

All this within 100 meters - Hereford is GREAT !

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BoogieBopBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalsagor Restaurant also viewed

Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Been to Jalsagor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing