We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome hospitality”
Review of Somerville House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Somerville House
Ranked #7 of 36 Hereford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Welcome hospitality”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

After my utter disaster with Fownes Hotel in Worcester the day before I arrived late at night to Somerville House somewhat disgruntled and dishevelled. I was met with a lovely welcome at Somerville House though it was late at night and had the benefit of a cool beer from the minibar and a snug bed before falling into a deep sleep and waking to a delicious organic breakfast in the morning, definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Best to try an book a double as the single was very snug… but then it was last moment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderGG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    37
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
37
117
10
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

This stands as an exemplar of how to run an upper end guest house. The rooms are spacious and contain many little touches which show how much the hosts value the comfort of their guests. From a well stocked tea tray to a good selection of toiletries in the bathroom - these are the little extra points that make a stay at the Somerville memorable. The basics are also a cut above the rest - beds are large and comfortable, rooms and public areas are clean and the breakfast is cooked to order and generous. Recommend that you consider staying at the Somerville if you are visiting Hereford.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 63urszula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We use Somerville as our base when visiting this part of the world, and find it a wonderful place to rest, relax and enjoy some hearty and good quality tasty breakfasts.

Each room has a different character but all are very comfortable and a good nights rest is assured.

Room Tip: Parking can be a wee bit tight sometimes so make sure you check in early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrstevea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights. Very comfortable and welcoming. Room 5 was a good size, clean and the bed comfortable. The view we had looked out onto the Black Mountains with Hereford Cathedral rising up in the middle distance. Shower was not brilliant, but it was functional. Full English breakfast was very good, highlighted by Rosie's excellent home-made whisky marmalade, but I was not impressed by the coffee - it was extremely bitter and too strong. Otherwise no complaints.

Room Tip: Rooms are graded. Ask for a better one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ossiemurdoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Well its a five star B&B in Hereford but believe me you will not find better for your money. Rosie greeted us on arrival and nothing was overlooked, she delivered the greeting exceptionally well and covered all the details making our stay 'home from home'. Breakfast was very nice, even if Bill did forget the order details occasionally (sorry Bill) but this made the stay memorable and Rosie and Bill endearing. All the food is locally sourced and Rosie makes her own preservatives, the Whiskey Marmalade is exceptional, I enjoyed it immensely.
Rooms were very clean and tidy and the bed just ate you up, so warm and cosy. Well stocked mini bar with wine and locally produced Cider.
Would not hesitate to stay here again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in room four which is at the front, it was very quiet and cosy making for a good nights re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieonear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great B&B in Hereford. Beautiful old house with spectacular views and grounds. Stayed in room 9 at the back and large picture windows looked out over the garden. Huge comfortable room with bed, sitting area, and desk. Bathroom very modern. Despite being across the hall from the breakfast room it was very quiet and we were never disturbed. Breakfast was wonderful, lots of choice and local ingredients used. Very friendly staff and room was very clean. Short easy walk from train station. Centre of town within walking distance -- lots of pubs, restaurants and shops. Definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Owners charming friendly and very helpful. Room 11 downstairs very comfortable but no view, upgraded to room 5 which is a large room with a splendid view of the garden and the hills. Home from home. Our only minor moan is there was visible dust and cobwebs in the bathroom and bedroom. Particularly noticeable on the wooden unit in the bedroom. Otherwise A1 and an excellent wholesome tasty locally produced breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gymima999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somervillehouse, Owner at Somerville House, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi Gemima999, Thanks so much for your review! We were shocked to see you had been assailed by cobwebs and dust in your room when you were here! As you will see from other reviews this is most unusual, as we are usually rated sparky clean! I immediately ordered a survey of dust and cobwebs for eradication the day your review came out - there were a few red faces among the housekeeping staff, who are most apologetic. Thank you for being kind enough to say that this did not spoil your enjoyment of other aspects of your stay! I hope if you should come and stay again, you will find the whole stay up to expectations. You could identify yourself to us for a little treat!
Best wishes Rosie and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hereford hotels
0.6 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
450 reviews
1.8 mi away
Three Counties Hotel
Three Counties Hotel
#6 of 12 in Hereford
311 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 12 in Hereford
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aylestone Court Hotel
Aylestone Court Hotel
#4 of 12 in Hereford
282 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Hereford
Travelodge Hereford
#8 of 12 in Hereford
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holly House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerville House

Property: Somerville House
Address: 12 Bodenham Road, Hereford HR1 2TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Somerville House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerville House is a beautiful detached Victorian villa, dating back to 1895, in a tree-lined residential road, offering 'boutique' hotel style Bed and Breakfast accommodation, and blending the luxury and comfort of a good hotel with warm and friendly service. We have 12 en suite rooms, arranged on ground, lower-ground, and first and second floors, with free wifi available in all.The large superior rooms and charming top floor rooms, with interesting beam features, are decorated in a contemporary style, contrasting with and enhancing the many original features - the glorious tesselated entrance hall floor, tiny plaster cupid heads, and the grand marble fireplaces. 5 mins walk railway station, 10 minutes walk city centre, free carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Somerville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing